Lafayette, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I used frozen pie crust. Added some cinnamon into the mix, about 2tsp. I poured the sugar mixture over the apples then added the top crust and basted it with a little bit of the sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have been using this website for two years. I have never reviewed a recipe. These were OVER THE TOP!!!! I halved the recipe and used a whole clove of garlic. One of the best tasting things I have ever put in my mouth!!! OMG!! You have to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crawfish Fettuccine

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Easy, good and very Cajun. Did add a little more spice but we are from Louisiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McFadden Leger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My son wanted me to make it again the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McFadden Leger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Simply Sensational Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The best ever! There was NOTHING left
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McFadden Leger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Absolutely Delicious. Even my high school students loved this in my FACS (Home Ec.) lab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FACSTeacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is by far the best tasting wet burrito I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this for my husband's birthday. He LOVED it!!! So did I! I saved some and gave to my daughter to try. She loved it, too! Restaurant quality. I did as some readers suggested and made more sauce. Also, used cornstarch mixed in water to thicken a bit. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Family loved this! So easy to make. I did cook my bacon a little before wrapping around chicken so it would be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I don't understand why everyone's trying to change this recipe... if done right, it's good like it is. I made this recipe with the ingredients as written, and it came out great (only I added 3 drops of green food coloring) I used 1/2 c. Nellie and Joe's Key West Lime Juice, 1 can sweetened condensed milk, and 5 egg yolks. For the crust, I used Keebler Shortbread crust instead of graham (I like it better, it tastes like butter cookies). I tempered the eggs, meaning I mixed the juice and condensed milk together in one bowl, beat the egg yolks in a seperate bowl, and gradually mixed the milk mixture, one tbs. at a time, into the egg mixture. I think the custard comes better like this, it comes out a weird texture if you just dump it all into a bowl and mix at once, because the eggs and citric acid in the lime juice don't really jive well. Must be combined slowly. That's the key. I baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Chilled overnight. Came out perfect, smooth and creamy, not eggy at all, bursting with flavor, not too strong, not too tangy, not too sweet, just right.. needs no alterations at all. This ones a keeper. Thank you Dinner2 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
OMG... these are soooo good! I used these to make jalapeno cheese kolaches (which is a glorified hot dog pig in the blanket) they came out big, fat and wonderful. I followed this recipe exactly, only I didn't have rapid rise yeast, only active dry yeast. So, to speed up the rising process, I heated my oven a bit to warm it and turned it off. After I kneaded the dough and let it set the 10 minutes or so, I wrapped my kolaches, placed in a glass baking dish, covered with foil, and set them in the warm oven (turned off) for 10 - 15 minutes to rise. Then I pulled off the foil, cranked up the oven to 375, and baked for 20 minutes until golden brown... My kolaches are the bomb! I had a bit of leftover dough, so I made 2 plain rolls, just to see how they are as just plain rolls, and to me, they taste as good, or better than store bought rolls, could use a bit more salt though.... This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I accidentally added too much hot sauce, so I had to add more chicken broth, ketchup, and a lot more barbecue sauce to compensate. Everyone loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
These turned out great! Made them to snack on around Christmas! Loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Flounder

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was delicious! Very healthy and so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe is great! The dough was gloppy and hard to work with. Next time I will grease my fingers before dropping in the pan. In my opinion, sweetness is good, but they could use a bit more salt. I just used plain shortening (which has no flavor at all) as the recipe called for. To me, they would have had a more buttery flavor if I had used margarine or butter, or butter flavored shortening. They were very light and fluffy, melt in your mouth. I let rise about 30 minutes the first rise, then about 30 minutes the second rise in the cake pan. Next time I will allow to rise a bit longer. I didn't use a muffin pan, just a 9x12 rectangular cake pan, and they spread out a bit, making square shaped pull apart bread, a little smaller than your average hamburger bun. I really think my pan was to big, and they expanded out instead of up. But all in all, I enjoyed the texture and the taste was a little bland, but once I spread some margarine on it, they were great. Next time I will add more salt and use margarine instead of shortening, or maybe a 1/4 t. of butter flavoring to the shortening mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Okay. I just posted about 6 days ago stating I was making this for a potluck at work, which was today. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!!! I got tons of emails praising me for bringing such a wonderful dessert and begging for the recipe. Many requested pecan pies as Christmas gifts and others offered to pay me to bake more. People who didn't even work in my department heard about it and came by to try it. I've made it numerous times for my family who loves it but my coworkers went crazy offer it. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna

Irish Lamb Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Tried this yummy stew recipe today! The video was helpful, in addition to the instructions. This is one of the best lamb stews I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
What a lovely recipe! I made a half batch of these cookies, and they turned out great! I used margarine instead of butter, and I measured everything else out except the cinnamon and salt. Just added a dash of salt and maybe 2 dashes of cinnamon. Also I baked them at 350 degrees since I was using an aluminum cookie sheet and was afraid they would burn, and cooked them for about 12 minutes instead of 8. They came out great! Also make sure the dough stays cold. I left the bowl of remaining dough out on the counter when the first batch was baking. The second batch did not puff up as much as the first, but still came out good. Also baked the second batch a few minutes longer to make them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Really good! I served it with pork tenderloin. The only modification I made was using small red potatoes instead of russet - mainly b/c russets can be mealy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My family loved this soup!! It takes a while to make, but it is very worth it. I am not a big totellini fan, but this is one of my favorite ways that I've had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States