Houma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This corn was amazing! The hubby really loved it. Looking forward to making it again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Strawberry Romaine Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
We loved this!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I give only 4 instead of 5 stars because time was nearly doubled and though we did not use the maple, we found it to be quite bland. I suggest rubbing chicken with salt and pepper prior to laying it in pan, with lightly seasoned potatoes. Next time, we will do so as well as add a teaspoon of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marble Cake I

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the driest heaviest cake I have ever made. Not trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue LeBlanc Primm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written and the pork chops came out so dry and tough to eat. I didn't want my husband to eat this when he came home from work. No way I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Mini Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
So simple and easy to make. I make a batch of these and freeze them as a snack for my daughter at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Corn with Smoked Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong because I followed the recipe as is and it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T and it was delicious. To make it easy, I just mash the eggs with a fork instead of chopping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was so delicious that I made it twice in one week. The only thing I did different was using skinless, boneless chicken breast because that was what I had. Everything else, I kept as is. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Herb Casserole

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
The first time I made it I sauteed zucchini, white onion, mushrooms, and fresh garlic until just barely tender. I hate mushy zucchini. I didn't have fresh tomatoes (not in season yet) but I had some sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil so I threw those in. I added lots of italian seasoning, some red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Added in the rice and an italian cheeses blend and baked it. It was heavenly! Amazing! Could have used more tomatoes though. My daughter wouldn't touch it and my husband wasn't home to eat it and let me tell you, that did not disappoint me at all! It re-heated well the next day for lunch too. The second time I made it I had no sundried tomatoes or fresh tomatoes but I did have a can of those fire roasted tomatoes. So I threw those in while mixing in the rice. Blech! I wish I had just left them out! It turned everything into a mushy mess and this time nobody wanted to touch it. I haven't tired it with any cheese other than italian cheeses and I don't care to. I just think any other cheese, especially cheddar, would over power the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love! So simple and tasty. I like to pound out my chicken breasts a little first. Not super thin but just enough so they stay flat when cooking. If not they plump up and the salsa just falls off. I sprinkle both sides with seasonings, lay them in the bottom of a pyrex, and cover with salsa. Bake at 375 for 45ish minutes adding cheese in the last 10. The key is that you have to use a good salsa! I've tried this with fresh salsa, a good store bought, mango salsa, and a bean and corn salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Shrimp Lo Mein

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was simple to follow and allowed for additions or substitutions- added 1/4 c prepared stir fry sauce, (instead of doubling as others suggested )garlic butter (was out of minced), and crushed walnuts as a topping- didn't have cabbage or snap peas on hand. I also added a dash of worsetshire in place of oyster sauce. Great lo mien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is my go-to recipe when I am sick and want some soup. The only thing I do differently is cook the noodles separately. I don't like how the noodles expand when you don't finish the soup within a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This marinade was missing something to have that zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This turned out so good. I used a 3 1/2 lb. roast, 1 can of mushroom soup, 1/2 a can of water and 1 package of onion soup mix. I didn't bother with browning the meat, it really didn't need it. It was just my husband and I and we had it for dinner 3 days in a row..that was how good it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The flavor was just okay and the pork turned out really dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I don't get why this is called 'Garlic Chicken', I didn't taste any garlic in this. It was still good, but I was expecting a garlic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molly's Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I did not like this whatsoever. I couldn't eat this because of how it tasted! I don't think tomato sauce and soy sauce should go together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The BEST lasagna I have every made! I didn't add any ricotta because I don't like it, but it still came out sooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I did not like this at all! When I cook curry chicken, I NEVER add tomatoes or tomato sauce. I don't know what got into me the day I made this. It just didn't taste right. I am used to the authentic Vietnamese curry so I will stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States