Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
delicious! I did add a 1/2 cup sugar rather than 1/4 to make it a little sweeter but I have no doubt it would have been just as good with the 1/4 cup. Also subbed some greek yogurt for some of the sour cream simply b/c I didn't have enough sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rick's

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My chili has always been awful. I was looking for a recipe that could redeem me and this one is it. My husband asks for this chili when the temp starts dipping. Sometimes I add the full amount of chocolate and sometimes I forget to put it in. Either way he still loves it. I love the ease. One little tip is that I use my kitchen shears to cut the bacon into little strips and then cook it. Start with the bacon just semi frozen. I find it makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Mint Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I was surprised it did not require the use of a double boiler. It was hard to get the temperature right to melt the chocolate and not burn it then it cooled so soft that you could not really pour it. (I'm talking about it literally taking about 10 to 15 seconds to cool enough to not be workable.) The perfectionist in me hated that I could not regulate the temperature enough to actually pour it and get a smooth layer... It looked so sloppy. The flavor was so-so. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My husband and I agree that these are the best cookies. We are definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chess Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was great! Very easy. Didn't change a thing and found it to be very good. I always buy chess cakes in the bakery and they are very proud of them. Now I have my own recipe and can make it for a 1/4 of the cost to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
oh. my. goodness. SO GOOD! Only thing I did differently was to coat the cubed chicken in a little olive oil and curry (enough spice to cover them pretty well) and baked it. Added chicken to simmering sauce after it was baked through and then let it simmer until it was time to eat... sometimes a hour, sometimes just 15 minutes. Always delicious! And I used half cream and half evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Father's Day 2012 marinade - marinated steaks for the dad's and chicken for everyone else. It was delicious on both! Great marinade. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
delicious! Made this for Father's Day 2012 and everyone loved it! I did double the icing recipe though, I believe... not enough otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
perfect french toast. this is our go to. Great flavor, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Korean Beef Tacos

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
ridiculously good. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We like this a lot but I wouldn't say it's the best or anything. Definitely very good thought and a keeper in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Texas Caviar

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I'm not sure where this recipe originally came from but my sister-in-law introduced it to me and since then, it's been passed along to all my friends. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I usually just throw in a palmful or so of white sugar rather than messing with the powdered and it works fine. Added some cinnamon to the mix for our pumpkin pie topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
pancake perfection. no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
used 2 heads of roasted garlic, roasted garlic at 400 degrees for 35-45mins. // I prefer smashed potatoes so I blended the roasted garlic with a little bit of the cooked potatoes with a small food processor then added the mix into the rest of the smashed potatoes. // Added 2-3 TB sour cream, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole - Edit with Reviewer Suggestions

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Thanksgiving 2012 - DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
SO quick and easy! I used frozen chicken breasts and cut them a few hours in. I used real butter, but reduced fat cream cheese and healthy request soup. Served over "No Yolks" egg noodles. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crescent Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Dempsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey, Mustard, and Yogurt Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for. Used non-fat Greek yogurt (to get that thick consistency ) Dijon and agave nectar. Amazingly flavorful, and fat free! (Didn't put any celery seed in it) finally a good vinegrette alternative! (Used on leftover BBQ chicken in a salad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Dempsey

Barbecue Beef Cups

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this for a potluck at work and everyone loved them. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Dempsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States