Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Super Simple Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
The biscuits are good,the kids loved them, but the second time I made them I added a 1/2 teas. baking powder and a little salt, they can out fluffier and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
One of the best Spinach dips I have ever made. I did use the refrigerated Alfredo sauce, a whole package of cream cheese and 2 cups of mozzarella. I roasted garlic but didn't have enough so I added some minched garlic and won't do that again only because I didn't like the pop it gives when eating but this is a keeper and I have already had co-workers asking me to print it up for them so they can also make it. Went into my recipe box! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHARP01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I found this to be too tangy. Maybe I'll reduce the lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is a 5-star as is, but being the adventurer that I am, I made adjustments that suited my family's tastes. I use chicken tenders--no pounding, but I remove the ligament. Flour and Italian Seasoning, salt & pepper in a plastic bag to make both prep and cleanup easier. When the chicken was lightly browned, I removed it to a dish and added 1 heaping Tbl minced garlic to the pan, gave it a quick 30-sec saute, then added 1 cup of chicken broth, then the sherry and Marsala wine. I've made it both with and without mushrooms. Either way, it has a restaurant-quality flavor and it's a hit with family and friends. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Chicken was very juicy! I didn't have pimentos, so I used red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was pretty good. Will definitely make again. Made for dinner for a few friends and almost no leftovers.(always a good sign). This is going to go into my freezer soup collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tossed in olive oil, then added the brown sugar and cajun seasoning mix. Came out great, be careful with the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Very tasty! I followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I make my own alfredo sauce with heavy whipping cream and shredded parmesan instead of using the dry alfredo mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Seared Lemon Tilapia with Parmesan Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I always read the reviews before I try it or save it and although this was not a five star it sounded good to me. Have an abundance of Tilapia so always looking for new ways to cook it always. The first time I did it I did not have lemon juice but key lime juice was in hand and did not have elbow mac but did have bow tie (small) and I did double the spice mixture for both the fish and the Mac. and fallowed the recipe for cooking I have printed this recipe for 10 days now and it is so good I have cooked it 4 times all with different pasta bow tie, angle hair and penne . the last time I did it with elbow pasta kind of disappointed bow tie was the best and it adds the class look to the dish this recipe deserves all in all pretty good don't over cook the fish and you cant go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric George
Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb and Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
It was better when I used uncooked rice as opposed to already cooked rice but amazing every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Did not like this. Like some people said... peaches with biscuits on top. It is not a peach cobbler. I think that it might have been better with canned peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sicilian Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This sauce has an amazing flavor! The only thing I did differently was I omitted the canned tomatoes and used two and half large fresh tomatoes instead. This yielded a thicker yet fresher taste. This is a definite keeper, thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcinque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi with Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made it exactly as directed, and I found it far too lemony for my liking. I prefer scampi with more of a butter-garlic taste, like my old recipe has. My daughter forced herself to eat it, I think because of the effort I put into it, but it's not something I would recommend, nor will I make it again. Sorry, but it's nowhere near a 5-star flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
The flavor of this dish was fantastic, but am I the only one who found it way too salty?? It's quick and easy to prepare, elegant enough for company, inexpensive and simple enough for a weeknight family meal... but the saltiness made it nearly inedible. It's a good thing I didn't add the liquids from the artichoke hearts and the capers, or it would have been a total loss. I will make it again, but with a number of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aussie Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
It was very flavorful. Didn't use the corn syrup but I did saute the mushrooms and the chicken in the bacon drippings. Next time I'll use regular mustard instead of the Dijon that the second most helpful reviewer stated. That gave the chicken a wasabi affect, causing some bites to flare hotness through my nostrils. Don't know WHAT that was about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

(Applebee’s) Asian Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Everyone likes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Dempsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cheesecake French Toast

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I hollowed out bakery hamburger buns and stuffed them with the filling and topped them with the strawberries. I did add cinnamon to the eggs. My family LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Cookies III

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I made these last night and after reading the reviews I decided to add more flavorings,(vanilla, lemon juice and lemon zest ) and I added a bit more sugar but it still wasn't enough. It is a nice snack when you're in a pinch but it won't be my "go to" until I " tweak it" a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcinque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Easy Rocky Road Fudge

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
5 stars for ease, 3 stars for WAY too many marshmallows! I used 2 cups and felt that was even borderline. I used 1/2 milk 1/2 dark and honey roasted peanuts as someone else suggested. I'd call it a winner when you are in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States