Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this last night for dinner. Flavor was really good, only needs some minor tweaks. I used low sodium soy sauce to avoid the "too salty" problem. I think for my tastes (and my friend's) will have to add more chili flakes. The heat was there, but just barely. Also, mixed in some steamed peas and that was pretty good. Will try with either broccoli or green beans next time. Also, there wasn't a lot of orange flavor in the sauce, so next time will follow others' advise and add some orange zest. All in all though, a really good dish. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bold Vegan Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out pretty good. I couldn't tell the difference between the soy crumbles and real meat. It was very very strange eating chili that had no tomato in it, and I had a hard time getting used to that, but with some cheese and sour cream on top of each bowl, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vicki's Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This was the first hushpuppy recipe I've tried and there is no reason to look for another. They turned out perfect! I grated my onion and it added just the right amount of liquid to keep the batter from being too dry. I also added a tsp or so of garlic powder for a little extra flavor. These disappeared quickly at our family fish fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I deboned a rotisserie chicken and used that for the chicken, so that was easy and flavorful. I will also say, I am a Louisiana girl, and this was almost too spicy for me! A spoonful of sour cream calmed it down, though, and it was very delicious. I also added cheese and some saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Maybe I chopped my veggies too big, but at 6 hours on low my veggies were no where near ready, so I had to do it another 2 hours on high. Also, I put about a tablespoon and a half of salt. Besides that, I followed the recipe exactly. It's not bad, but it's pretty bland. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The BEST, the BEST, the BEST! Don't change a thing. I did like the idea of using the drippings with flour or cornstarch to make a gravy. I make this at least twice a month and there's always something you can do with leftovers if the whole family doesn't devour it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBC4KAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was a hit. I made a few changes, but then again, I always do. I used tip sirloin instead of chuck. I used yellow onion instead of green onion. My family is not big into mushrooms, so at the end I added Worcestershire Sauce, Cream of Mushroom, and the sour cream. I didn't get a chance to try the garlic cloves yet. And I intended on forming my own super small meatballs, but didn't get around to it. I will definitely toss those in next time. I will be cooking this again as per my family's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBC4KAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angie's Perfect Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Oh my goodness!!! These were so delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I halved it (I wasn't sure I had enough flour. When they were done, they were so soft and yummy that I felt I could have eaten the whole batch. When I halved it, it made 12 nice size balls of yumminess :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by BakeItTiluMakeIt

Broccoli Cornbread with Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I omitted the cheese on top the second time around, but either way you do it the finished product is great. My husband never ate broccoli until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakeItTiluMakeIt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chalupas

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was so easy and made a TON of food! I ended up cooking it on low for 10 hours and the beans were not total mush, but a good texture. I like salty food, so it was not too salty for me. I did have to scoop out a lot of extra water, but that was not a problem. I served mine in tortillas with cheese, sour cream and mango salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Food Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for Baby Food Cake 3 Recipe! Its one I remember from my childhood: I received the recipe from a good friend; her father used to make it. It is SO MOIST!!! Nothing quite like it! I'm so glad to have found the recipe AGAIN - thanks to allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara L. Nichols

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernBelle

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
So yummy! I've been wanting to try butternut squash, but I get scared of baked squashes because they get too mushy and the flavor that I'm not a huge fan of comes out. This way, they taste more like bites of potatoes and I love, love the garlic flavor! Will definitely make this again! (I added extra garlic, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times now. It is definitely my go-to cornbread recipe. I love that it's all mixed up in a pan before baking. Makes for a super easy, quick, and delicious add-on for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Horseradish New Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Great tasting recipe, simple to make, everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Such a simple but delicious recipe! Easy to make and bake :) I did use all-purpose flour for the whole recipe since I didn't have any bread flour, and they still came out fine. I found they were even better the next day because they softened just a bit... YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe! I made NO changes when I made this, and they had a wonderful flavor. They are very moist and rise beautifully. Be sure not to overknead the dough. Besides becoming very brown on the bottom (which is very likely due to my pan), I definitely plan on making them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Vodka Blueberry Liqueur

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was a big hit mixed with club soda or Sprite. A nice addition to a holiday gift basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pork Tenderloin - Low Carb

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My preference was 1/4 teaspoon of 5 Spice powder instead of the cinnamon, but this was an awesome recipe. The changes I made (omitting onion and adding minced garlic instead of garlic powder) were not because it wasn't delicious as written, but simply because my family likes these things. It earned a full 5 stars just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Man Loaf (Variation of the Meatloaf)

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This artery-clogger is worth the time, effort, and adverse effects on your health. A far departure from the drab, traditional meatloaf, the manloaf has everything a man, or my teenage daughter, would love in a meal, with none of the fussy extras. I love the added kick of jalapenos, but in fact the recipe needs no improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very delicious muffins! The only thing I changed was the coffee and the margarine. I doubled the coffee and used Country Crock tub because I didn't have any margarine in the house. But needless to say, they were yummy! Even my husband who does NOT eat sweets, loved these. I liked them because it was a very light sweetness to them (not super sugary). The recipe worked really well with mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. My co-workers have definitely NOT complained about me bringing these goodies in 2 day in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States