Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this now 8 times in the last 3 months and I make a big bowel of them I have bumped it up to where it makes about 28 meat balls. Make them and put them in the fridge and use them on Meatball sandwich, spaghetti, nachos, put BBQ sauce over them heat them up. I want to try 1/2 ground meat and 1/2 ground pork for the recipe but never do it when I make them. I bet it would be very good I will have to do it next time lol maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric George
Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I've finally found a bread recipe that works for me!!! Thank you Chef John I'm just discovering your videos and food blog! These buns were so easy and incredibly delicious! I made your classic sloppy joes, but my husband couldn't wait he ate a bun alone lol. I can't thank you enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Like others I added a few things; chopped espresso infused chocolate ,a bit of vanilla, a little cardamom and roasted cinnamon and left the bananas a bit chunky. The bread was wonderfully moist and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugar520

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernBelle

Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Quick and easy dinner. Yummy. I used bacon instead of prosciutto and put it on the top rack so it would crisp the bacon a bit, which caused a shell of sorts that trapped in heat and moisture. :) I think this would also be yummy with a nice meltable cheese inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Chicken Enchiladas V

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
As-is, I give this recipe a 3. It lacked serious seasoning, but was a great base. I made it per the instructions, then after it was done, added a few things. Here's what I added: one packet McCormick brown gravy mix, extra kosher salt (to taste), a few dashes of Tony Chachere's seasoning. I'll make it again, but next time I'll add a can of sweet peas (I think they're important in beef stew) and extra carrots. It's yummy with the additions, though. Also, I didn't have red wine (the only part I initially didn't do per recipe), but I deglazed the pan with the same amount if water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did not change anything and it was great! I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam and had no problems. I layered exactly how the recipe says. Used "tomato, onion, and garlic" flavored sauce. it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison1287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Next time I'll use a lot let cheese. Don't get it twisted.........they were excellent. But I wanted them to taste like meatballs, not Romano cheese balls. I wasn't able to fully appreciate the taste of the combination of the 3 different meats. Will still make again. You do want to bake them instead of frying 'em. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Cauliflower Soup II

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this soup as a first course for a gathering and it was awesome. Everyone there asked me for the recipe. The only thing I changed was subbing veggie stock for the chicken so it would be vegetarian friendly. Only complaint was that there wasn't enough (will have to double recipe next time). Great with a garnish of rustic croutons and parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic kale quinoa

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The garlic and kale add great flavor to the quinoa. You can also substitute other veggies for the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious! I used toll house cocoa and followed another users advice and only mixed the ingredients with a spoon, to avoid them being cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Kale

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Used Braggs instead of soy. Make sure you chop that garlic up small. Left out additional salt as soy/braggs has plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made as is. This was the best corn casserole I've ever had. Only thing I'm do differently next time just to see what it tastes like is adding a small amount of sugar simply because I like sweet cornbread however this recipe is awesome just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
very good! I only used 1/4 cup honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We didn't care for these. They are more like a chocolate chip sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Overall pretty good. Needs a little something, some heat maybe. Next time will probably add a small pinch of cayanne. Served over brown rice. Even my friend's picky teenage sister liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used a little less butter and included some chicken legs. I broiled the chicken for the last 2 minutes to crisp the skin a little. VERY good! Served with lemon basmati rice (recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made it exactly as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made it exactly as specified and OMG in my list forever. NOTE: Please stop rating recipes that you guys have altered. It is not fair to the author nor the other reviewers. Thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was very quick to throw together, great taste. I used only 1 can of black beans; served with cheese and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States