Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was super easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and both my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. The only thing we both agreed it needed was a little more salt, but you can always add that at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delicious! I used skinless thighs, cutting off any additional fat. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup and felt that was plenty. I used fresh rosemary (worth it as others have said), dried oregano, and minced 5 small pieces of garlic (fresh garlic is a must!). The whole family loved it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Tagine

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was pretty good. I threw everything in a crockpot and cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours. Definitely gets stars for being healthy! The sodium is pretty high, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This soup was awesome! I used one can of refried pinto beans and one can on refried black beans and followed the recipe exactly, besides that. I used frozen chicken breast, and I think I would prefer to use fresh, next time. I also think it would be better if the chicken is seasoned as it is sautéed. I also would have preferred a little more spice to the soup. With those few tweaks, this soup will be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Patties I

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
MAN, these were excellent!!! I followed the advice of the most helpful review and used 2 tablespoons of sour cream and Louisiana hot sauce. Used Italian flavored bread crumbs. I also seasoned the canned salmon with onion powder, garlic powder and Tony Chachere's to taste. Next time, I'll also add a little Old Bay and Chef Prudhomme's salmon seasoning to see if that enhances the flavor even more. Best salmon patties I've EVER made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. I loved using the bacon bits, because it still gave the soup that yummy bacon flavor without having to fuss with cooking bacon. My main problem with the soup is that it is too thick for my liking. I also put some up to freeze, and it doesn't reheat very well. There is water and the potato that doesn't mix as well when you reheat...kind of a potato slush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock-Pot® Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Can't get any easier than this!!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I agree with the review "it's just not fudge-like." It is so easy to make, but not that creamy, melting-sugar-in-your-mouth feeling of fudge. It tastes more like eating chocolate. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Oreo® Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Too sweet?! Say what? IT IS FUDGE. :) I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups, and used a healthy 1 cup crushed chocolate cream Oreos IN it and probably 3/4 cup chocolate cream Oreos on top. I find the perfect fudge temperature is 238 degrees F (it boiled about 4 minutes for me). If you don't have a thermometer, it is so worth it. I used to deal with the "soft ball" stage thing, now I just stir and stir until it hits 238 and voila! This is my new favorite fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First of all, this recipe looks nothing like the chili in the main photo, but that's ok, because it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with 1 tsp of pepper and 2 tsp of salt. I will definitely make this one again, and next time I will double the recipe so I can freeze some. It only served about 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The only thing I did differently with this recipe was added seasonings. Based on other reviews, I figured some extra seasoning wouldn't hurt. I added extra garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, and a bay leaf. This recipe isn't anything that would knock your socks off, but it is very filling, and tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was so different and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't really need any changes. I usually top my chili with sour cream and cheese, but this one tasted weird with the sour cream, so I just top it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very very simple. I followed the recipe exactly, and it wasn't bad. It got really thick, and I like my chicken and dumplings soupier than that, but I still enjoyed eating it. If I make this again, I will consider deviating from the recipe and trying some of the things other people have suggested to jazz this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Ultimate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This chili wasn't bad, but it was pretty meh. I couldn't find Mexican style stewed tomatoes, so I just used regular stewed tomatoes and added 2 little cans of diced green chills. I think the stewed tomatoes were a mistake. This chili tasted sweet and bland, which big chunks of tomato. It would be better with Rotel style diced tomatoes, and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Chicken Chile Spaghetti

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was so delicious! I got two rotisserie chickens and pulled the meat from them. I sautéed the onion, bell pepper, and celery with about 4 tbsp of butter and then added it to the rest in my crock pot. I cooked it on low for two hours. I then cooked the pasta, al dente, and added it in for the last hour. The flavor in this dish is amazing. I topped it with mozzarella cheese. This stuff is pure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
My great grandmother used to make these pies. My mom had the recipe and somehow I never got a copy. This pie is exactly like hers. It was delicious. It is sweet and rich so go easy on the size of the slices. I left out the nutmeg just because I don't like it but other than that I cooked it about 10 minutes longer. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbooth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Wonderful and full of flavor and easy to make. Modified it for my son who can not have any form of dairy and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Nowell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Salad with Curry Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I loved the smell of the curry roasting. I was worried the curry was going go overwhelm the salad, but it was just right! Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and just cooked turkey bacon in the microwave and just crumbled that in. Added chick peas (so good!) and tomatoes. Served to grandparents and children, everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this last night for dinner. Flavor was really good, only needs some minor tweaks. I used low sodium soy sauce to avoid the "too salty" problem. I think for my tastes (and my friend's) will have to add more chili flakes. The heat was there, but just barely. Also, mixed in some steamed peas and that was pretty good. Will try with either broccoli or green beans next time. Also, there wasn't a lot of orange flavor in the sauce, so next time will follow others' advise and add some orange zest. All in all though, a really good dish. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bold Vegan Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out pretty good. I couldn't tell the difference between the soy crumbles and real meat. It was very very strange eating chili that had no tomato in it, and I had a hard time getting used to that, but with some cheese and sour cream on top of each bowl, this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States