Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

PJ's Sweet Potato Mash

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I found this recipe accidentally when I was trying to use up sweet potatoes and horseradish I had in the house.....had no idea it was going to be this good!!!! Delicious, wouldn't change a thing (although I made it dairy free with coconut cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Bourbon Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Recipe is perfect as is, my husband raves about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Very tasty! I added cajun seasoning to the chicken before putting it in the marinade. I used boneless thighs and only marinated for about 2.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love this recipe! It is so easy and delicious. My pawpaw used to make a vegetable beef soup that tasted almost exactly like this one, and he would make a pot of it especially for me when I would visit. I never found out his recipe before he died, so finding this one makes me so happy! Not only is it delicious, but it brings back great memories! It is also very quick and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban-Style Pork and Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very unique flavors.The pork was tender and the potatoes were soft, but not total mush. I served this over yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Look no further for an authentic tasting Shepherd's pie! I lived in Ireland for a year. Although Shepherd's pie is not regularly served in restaurants, it is more of a "family" dish (think American meatloaf or tuna casserole). Made this today with half lamb half beef. Left out the rosemary (glad I did), and subbed cut green beans (pre-cooked to soften) instead of peas because my husband doesn't like peas. Otherwise pretty much followed exactly. The cinnamon is key! The entire family loved it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Beef Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I loved this! I used a bag of shredded lettuce from the salad section, so that made the prep really easy. I also used one can of dark red and one can of light red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This was good. I served it over rice, and was able to put several servings away to freeze, and it freezes well, also. I would add more apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins II

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Very quick and easy to make. I added a splash of vanilla and swapped a little of the butter for applesauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ginger Glazed Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. One thing I'll probably do next time is marinate in a freezer bag to save on dishes, but don't have to change the recipe itself. Served with couscous and green beans. A great meal for a busy weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Modenese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Used fresh rosemary and served with quinoa. Very easy and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This icing was exactly what I was looking for to decorate cookies for a wedding shower. Worked perfectly. I did have to thin it out with a little more milk than called for, but that wasn't an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this recipe twice. The first time I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was very good but needed more tuna as tuna cans now contain only 4oz drained weight where it used to be 6oz drained weight. The second time I tweaked it with a second can of tuna and used cream of mushroom soup. I also used half the amount of pasta and added half of a large head of cooked and finely chopped cauliflower to cut down on the carb grams and a cup of frozen peas because I like peas in a tuna casserole. It was delicious both ways and NO ONE noticed that there was cauliflower in it!! I also agree with Chicagogirl about reviewing with tweaks instead of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This soup was absolutely delicious! I used 2 russets and 2 sweet potatoes (there was not enough room in my crockpot for 5 potatoes!). I would probably add a little more bacon next time, but the flavor was perfect. Everyone at the party I brought it too asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I couldn't find any beef gravy mix, so I just used regular brown gravy mix instead. Also, I used potatoes instead of onions and about a cup of water instead of half a cup. Besides that, I followed the recipe. I had to cook it for almost 7 hours on high to get the meat as tender as I like it, and the flavor of the gravy just doesn't do it for me. Maybe it was the Italian dressing mix, but it just seemed too herby. And it definitely needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZ, this was ridiculously good! Only things I did differently were add a little more season to the outside of the chicken before cooking it, quartered a small onion and put the pieces in the cavity of each chicken. The sauce is so flavorful but if you do prefer your sauces a little thicker, whisk in some flour when you're transferring the juices. I usually do this in a big measuring cup/glass before putting it into a saucepan. Makes it easier to mix it all together so you don't end up with little flour chunks floating around. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These pancakes are delicious! Definitely have become a Saturday morning tradition when my grandson comes to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAS2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops a la Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I cooked this recipe exactly as it is written. It wasn't anything sensational, but it was quick and easy to prepare, and tasted pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I followed the recipe very closely. I used 4.5 lbs of roast and added some potatoes and carrots. I also cooked it on high for about 7 hours. It was very tender. The gravy was really thin, and we had to add a lot of salt, but overall it tasted pretty decent. It was very easy to make, and that was also a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We only used about two and a half cups of milk and we just had the regular flavor sausage, but this gravy was on point. Next time we may season it with a little cayenne or Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States