Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I couldn't find any beef gravy mix, so I just used regular brown gravy mix instead. Also, I used potatoes instead of onions and about a cup of water instead of half a cup. Besides that, I followed the recipe. I had to cook it for almost 7 hours on high to get the meat as tender as I like it, and the flavor of the gravy just doesn't do it for me. Maybe it was the Italian dressing mix, but it just seemed too herby. And it definitely needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZ, this was ridiculously good! Only things I did differently were add a little more season to the outside of the chicken before cooking it, quartered a small onion and put the pieces in the cavity of each chicken. The sauce is so flavorful but if you do prefer your sauces a little thicker, whisk in some flour when you're transferring the juices. I usually do this in a big measuring cup/glass before putting it into a saucepan. Makes it easier to mix it all together so you don't end up with little flour chunks floating around. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These pancakes are delicious! Definitely have become a Saturday morning tradition when my grandson comes to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAS2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops a la Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I cooked this recipe exactly as it is written. It wasn't anything sensational, but it was quick and easy to prepare, and tasted pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I followed the recipe very closely. I used 4.5 lbs of roast and added some potatoes and carrots. I also cooked it on high for about 7 hours. It was very tender. The gravy was really thin, and we had to add a lot of salt, but overall it tasted pretty decent. It was very easy to make, and that was also a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We only used about two and a half cups of milk and we just had the regular flavor sausage, but this gravy was on point. Next time we may season it with a little cayenne or Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was super easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly, and both my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. The only thing we both agreed it needed was a little more salt, but you can always add that at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Delicious! I used skinless thighs, cutting off any additional fat. I cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup and felt that was plenty. I used fresh rosemary (worth it as others have said), dried oregano, and minced 5 small pieces of garlic (fresh garlic is a must!). The whole family loved it. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Tagine

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was pretty good. I threw everything in a crockpot and cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours. Definitely gets stars for being healthy! The sodium is pretty high, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This soup was awesome! I used one can of refried pinto beans and one can on refried black beans and followed the recipe exactly, besides that. I used frozen chicken breast, and I think I would prefer to use fresh, next time. I also think it would be better if the chicken is seasoned as it is sautéed. I also would have preferred a little more spice to the soup. With those few tweaks, this soup will be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Patties I

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
MAN, these were excellent!!! I followed the advice of the most helpful review and used 2 tablespoons of sour cream and Louisiana hot sauce. Used Italian flavored bread crumbs. I also seasoned the canned salmon with onion powder, garlic powder and Tony Chachere's to taste. Next time, I'll also add a little Old Bay and Chef Prudhomme's salmon seasoning to see if that enhances the flavor even more. Best salmon patties I've EVER made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. I loved using the bacon bits, because it still gave the soup that yummy bacon flavor without having to fuss with cooking bacon. My main problem with the soup is that it is too thick for my liking. I also put some up to freeze, and it doesn't reheat very well. There is water and the potato that doesn't mix as well when you reheat...kind of a potato slush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock-Pot® Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Can't get any easier than this!!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I agree with the review "it's just not fudge-like." It is so easy to make, but not that creamy, melting-sugar-in-your-mouth feeling of fudge. It tastes more like eating chocolate. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Oreo® Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Too sweet?! Say what? IT IS FUDGE. :) I reduced the sugar to 2 1/2 cups, and used a healthy 1 cup crushed chocolate cream Oreos IN it and probably 3/4 cup chocolate cream Oreos on top. I find the perfect fudge temperature is 238 degrees F (it boiled about 4 minutes for me). If you don't have a thermometer, it is so worth it. I used to deal with the "soft ball" stage thing, now I just stir and stir until it hits 238 and voila! This is my new favorite fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First of all, this recipe looks nothing like the chili in the main photo, but that's ok, because it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with 1 tsp of pepper and 2 tsp of salt. I will definitely make this one again, and next time I will double the recipe so I can freeze some. It only served about 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The only thing I did differently with this recipe was added seasonings. Based on other reviews, I figured some extra seasoning wouldn't hurt. I added extra garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, and a bay leaf. This recipe isn't anything that would knock your socks off, but it is very filling, and tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was so different and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't really need any changes. I usually top my chili with sour cream and cheese, but this one tasted weird with the sour cream, so I just top it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Very very simple. I followed the recipe exactly, and it wasn't bad. It got really thick, and I like my chicken and dumplings soupier than that, but I still enjoyed eating it. If I make this again, I will consider deviating from the recipe and trying some of the things other people have suggested to jazz this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Ultimate Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This chili wasn't bad, but it was pretty meh. I couldn't find Mexican style stewed tomatoes, so I just used regular stewed tomatoes and added 2 little cans of diced green chills. I think the stewed tomatoes were a mistake. This chili tasted sweet and bland, which big chunks of tomato. It would be better with Rotel style diced tomatoes, and a lot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States