Baton Rouge - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baby Food Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Love this recipe for Baby Food Cake 3 Recipe! Its one I remember from my childhood: I received the recipe from a good friend; her father used to make it. It is SO MOIST!!! Nothing quite like it! I'm so glad to have found the recipe AGAIN - thanks to allrecipes.com!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara L. Nichols

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernBelle

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
So yummy! I've been wanting to try butternut squash, but I get scared of baked squashes because they get too mushy and the flavor that I'm not a huge fan of comes out. This way, they taste more like bites of potatoes and I love, love the garlic flavor! Will definitely make this again! (I added extra garlic, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times now. It is definitely my go-to cornbread recipe. I love that it's all mixed up in a pan before baking. Makes for a super easy, quick, and delicious add-on for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsValentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Horseradish New Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Great tasting recipe, simple to make, everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Such a simple but delicious recipe! Easy to make and bake :) I did use all-purpose flour for the whole recipe since I didn't have any bread flour, and they still came out fine. I found they were even better the next day because they softened just a bit... YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe! I made NO changes when I made this, and they had a wonderful flavor. They are very moist and rise beautifully. Be sure not to overknead the dough. Besides becoming very brown on the bottom (which is very likely due to my pan), I definitely plan on making them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Vodka Blueberry Liqueur

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was a big hit mixed with club soda or Sprite. A nice addition to a holiday gift basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Pork Tenderloin - Low Carb

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My preference was 1/4 teaspoon of 5 Spice powder instead of the cinnamon, but this was an awesome recipe. The changes I made (omitting onion and adding minced garlic instead of garlic powder) were not because it wasn't delicious as written, but simply because my family likes these things. It earned a full 5 stars just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Man Loaf (Variation of the Meatloaf)

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This artery-clogger is worth the time, effort, and adverse effects on your health. A far departure from the drab, traditional meatloaf, the manloaf has everything a man, or my teenage daughter, would love in a meal, with none of the fussy extras. I love the added kick of jalapenos, but in fact the recipe needs no improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very delicious muffins! The only thing I changed was the coffee and the margarine. I doubled the coffee and used Country Crock tub because I didn't have any margarine in the house. But needless to say, they were yummy! Even my husband who does NOT eat sweets, loved these. I liked them because it was a very light sweetness to them (not super sugary). The recipe worked really well with mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. My co-workers have definitely NOT complained about me bringing these goodies in 2 day in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is my " go to" pizza now. Thank you for such an easy and tasty pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcinque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this now 8 times in the last 3 months and I make a big bowel of them I have bumped it up to where it makes about 28 meat balls. Make them and put them in the fridge and use them on Meatball sandwich, spaghetti, nachos, put BBQ sauce over them heat them up. I want to try 1/2 ground meat and 1/2 ground pork for the recipe but never do it when I make them. I bet it would be very good I will have to do it next time lol maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric George
Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I've finally found a bread recipe that works for me!!! Thank you Chef John I'm just discovering your videos and food blog! These buns were so easy and incredibly delicious! I made your classic sloppy joes, but my husband couldn't wait he ate a bun alone lol. I can't thank you enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great comfort food! I used green onions instead of cilantro, still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Like others I added a few things; chopped espresso infused chocolate ,a bit of vanilla, a little cardamom and roasted cinnamon and left the bananas a bit chunky. The bread was wonderfully moist and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugar520

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernBelle

Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Quick and easy dinner. Yummy. I used bacon instead of prosciutto and put it on the top rack so it would crisp the bacon a bit, which caused a shell of sorts that trapped in heat and moisture. :) I think this would also be yummy with a nice meltable cheese inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Chicken Enchiladas V

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
As-is, I give this recipe a 3. It lacked serious seasoning, but was a great base. I made it per the instructions, then after it was done, added a few things. Here's what I added: one packet McCormick brown gravy mix, extra kosher salt (to taste), a few dashes of Tony Chachere's seasoning. I'll make it again, but next time I'll add a can of sweet peas (I think they're important in beef stew) and extra carrots. It's yummy with the additions, though. Also, I didn't have red wine (the only part I initially didn't do per recipe), but I deglazed the pan with the same amount if water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did not change anything and it was great! I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam and had no problems. I layered exactly how the recipe says. Used "tomato, onion, and garlic" flavored sauce. it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison1287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Next time I'll use a lot let cheese. Don't get it twisted.........they were excellent. But I wanted them to taste like meatballs, not Romano cheese balls. I wasn't able to fully appreciate the taste of the combination of the 3 different meats. Will still make again. You do want to bake them instead of frying 'em. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Cauliflower Soup II

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this soup as a first course for a gathering and it was awesome. Everyone there asked me for the recipe. The only thing I changed was subbing veggie stock for the chicken so it would be vegetarian friendly. Only complaint was that there wasn't enough (will have to double recipe next time). Great with a garnish of rustic croutons and parm cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States