Alexandria, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by sweeteelme

Grandmother's Pound Cake II

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
First time making this pound cake. Excellent. Will definitely recommend it. I read the reviews and did some variation. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream in place of milk. I added one teaspoon each of pure vanilla, lemon and almond extract . Baked at 325 for 10 inch tube pound cake for 50 minutes and the loaf for about 25-30 minutes. It was enough batter for both. It was so easy to make. As they recommended room temperature on your eggs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Tasted as good as any restaurant alfredo. Gave it four stars not five because I did not like how the parmesan cheese melted- kinda of clumpy would be the best way to describe it. I followed all the suggestions-not canned shredded parm, watched my heat, constant stirring. adding parsley hid the "clumpy" so no one knew but me- My son said its Olive Garden at home. Now that's a true compliment from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Hash With Apples & Sage

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Used mild italian sausage. Poultry seasoning, instead of sage or thyme, because that's what I had on hand. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I did not change anything and it was great! I sprayed a glass baking dish with Pam and had no problems. I layered exactly how the recipe says. Used "tomato, onion, and garlic" flavored sauce. it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison1287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This is by far the best homemade honey mustard sauce that I have made. This time I didn't have enough mayo so I used some Miracle Whip as well. It still was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Hash Brown Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I did not have french onion dip, so I used 1 cup ranch dressing mixed with i dry packet of onion soup mix. Also, I cooked onions and bell peppers with the sausage! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Excellent soup. Made as written- delicious. Then started with the "suggested changes" also totally excellent. My (+) and (-) I have done: No cellery, with celery salt. + or - Bouillion, like it both ways. Always add extra onion (one whole) chopped fresh baby carrots, fresh or dried parsley. I am from Louisiana so i always add creole/cajun seasoning. Have not tried corn yet but I will! It is totally excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Twinkies®

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I plan on getting the canoe style muffin or cupcake pans. Then instead of cream cheese I will use a pudding recipe that I use for "Pistachio Cake" icing. Any flavor pudding will work I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sara's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Its a good pie. Easy to make. I in no way felt that it was too spicy in any way. In fact it could be more for me and my family. Followed recipe exactly and no chamges needed for a good pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sparkling Punch

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I really loved this punch. It was different than what is normally served at showers etc. I Did mine with two cans limeade, thawed, two 2Liter gingerales and a gallon of apple cidar. cut up various fruits for a pretty presentation. It was good to go. I did not add any extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken Hot Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The only thing I did differently was, I diced a small can of water chestnuts and added to it!! Delicious either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Famous Parmesan and Peppercorn Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Followed recpe closely. Added more seasoning and parmesan cheese as suggested by other reviewers. First day it tasted like the yougurt with seasoning and green onion. I did not lose faith! Second day OMG it ws the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious! Didn't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Skillet Fried Corn

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I do not like store bought frozen corn, but I bought some in the past because it was on sale. This recipe was DELICIOUS! My 13 year old son who does not like corn at all ate seconds!! Thank you, I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Cakes

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious just the way it is!! Wonderful dipped in Remoulade Sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Carrots

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Neither I or my family liked this at all. Followed recipe exactly. Not sure why mine did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Eggplant with Shrimp and Basil

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Excellent flavor. To dry and crumbly, could not taste the shrimp and tasted too much of olive oil. My next, I will use 1/2 plain bread crumbs, 1/2 oil, 2x shrimp. saute onion, bell Pepper & celery. Will also add cajun seafood seasoning inlieu of salt&pepper..I will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I just tried this recipe and it was great. I used some rotisserie chicken I had and used the hot rotel tomatoes and it was very tasty. I did not drain the tomatoes, the juice added the perfect amount of spice for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutely great recipe. The only thing we changed was, we used pecans instead of walnuts; it's a Southern thing, you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul-Louisiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobw

Cajun Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I to enjoy the cajun flavor. This is the first time I cooked this and I used Louisiana "Bayou Blend" cajun seasoning in lieu of Italian seasoning and "Old Bay" seasoning in equal amounts. I also used a little Louisiana Hot Sauce. This gave it the required Cajun Flair....All my family loved it. See Photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 69) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States