Springdale, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a very delicious cornbread! Super moist and easy to make. For the record, I am a southern and this cornbread rock! I hate tasteless dry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is sooo good! I have made this multiple times and I never change anything in the recipe. Always comes out delicious and mine is never dry. My daughter requests this often. It is her favorite meal and if there are leftovers they are gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I love this recipe! I've tried several versions of homemade turkey sausage over the years and this one is by FAR my favorite. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ann's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The main dish in our traditionally non traditional xmas dinner 2012. I was to cook this one, but the husband took over and that was fine as I was making rolls, mushrooms, and a chocolate cake. He's an awesome cook, so there was no doubt he would do a supreme job ;) This is a keeper for sure! We've been to New Orlean's and have had a cajun cook make a meal for us at home as well......I think this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made these for our traditionally non traditional xmas meal 2012 and they were the hit of the meal! I did not have the mushrooms it calls for, so I used regular button mushrooms and it worked out just fine. Other changes I made, due to materials and taste were: I do not buy bread crumbs, I use croutons crushed. This time they were a garlic cheese flavor. I skipped the hot sauce due to taste of guests not being as hot as our family's taste, but have no doubt it would be great with it in as well. I chopped up the mushroom stems and added them to the filling. Last, I cooked them for an additional 5 minuets under the broiler. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! Don't half the recipe because what is left over (and there will be leftover) makes the most awesome dip ever. I put it out as an appetizer with ritz style crackers and green onions. It was eaten before, during, and after the meal by people who were already "stuffed" but just couldn't help themselves. This stuff is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
OPPPS... rated wrong recipe. Won't let me just delete so I am giving 4 stars as to not hurt the actual rating by those who have tried it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We've done this several times now with several different fish fillets. Salmon, Tilapia, Cod.....adjust the spices for different versions, but the basic ideas here are a GREAT start to many wonderful meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Didn't expect this to be as good as it was. Husband is the cook most days in our house so many of my reviews start this way....Husband cooked this and the same is true for this one. We were both surprised at how much we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Tomato Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Husband made this and we are adding it to the rotation for sure! He even uses the topping for other meals now (with slight changes here and there to accommodate the meal). Stuffed shells, manicotti, pork steaks, it's good for so many things! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I'm writing a "Pre-Review" because I changed things up a bit due to on hand ingredients and review suggestions I warped into my own version. I will edit this after dinner tonight :) I had a 15oz Peppercorn Tenderloin so I scaled the recipe to 5 servings (but it looks more like 6-7 to me)and cubed the meat into small pieces. I used 3/4 of a red onion, 3/4 of a yellow bell pepper, 1 can of black beans, 4 small chicken bullion cubes, 2 cups plus one can (bean can) of water, 1 1/2 cups medium salsa, 1/2 cup salsa verde, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1 1/4 tsp chili powder. I am cooking this on high for 4 hours and will transfer to stove-top if not done at that time. With fewer ingredients and higher temps I don't foresee a problem as this has worked for me with many slow cooker recipes over the years. Looking forward to updating tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Mango

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Tried this one for our Mexican food Thanksgiving this year. I was able to save it by draining the liquid and adding quite a bit of brown sugar, but even then it didn't deserve a great rating. WAY too much lemon juice made this so mouth puckering that no one wanted more than the first taste they took. Sorry, but this one just didn't make it into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Butt Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'm only giving this 4 stars due to the change I made. Only one change, but it was significant. As suggested by another reviewer I substituted salsa for the ketchup. We are eating healthier and the substitution made the calorie and fat counts fit into our diet much better. It was fantastic! Moist, spicy, and very tasty. I served this dish with brown rice and a steamed vegetable medley which worked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaBell

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent! We loved this recipe and will try again. Used beer and it turned out great. I've cooked with beer many times and it's not a taste issue at all once it's cooked, it's about the ingredients of the beer working in the recipe. PERFECT for the cooler night ahead as we go into winter time. UPDATE 12/7/2013 : This has been a cold night soup, a Thanksgiving soup, and a company's coming tonight soup. SOOOOOOOO easy, sooooooo good, this is a must in our recipe book. To keep down the calories (it's already pretty healthy) use a low fat sour cream, less cheese, and white corn tortilla instead of chips as the sides/toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Buns

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made these three times now and will many times again. No kids in our house, he's grown and on his own, but we adults LOVE these! We have done them in hot dog buns and without the olives as I do not like them at all. We have tried different cheese as toppers and trust me when I say EXPERIMENT with the cheese! Thank you so much for this recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Hubby and I made this w/leftover ham he had made in the slow cooker last week. Made to recipe EXCEPT SALT. There is NO need to add salt to this. The bullion and ham have enough salt to make it perfect. Otherwise do as written and you will be pleased. We will be re-heating the leftovers soon. I sealed them up in an a food saver container which will keep them fresh for a week or more in the fridge. I do NOT suggest freezing anything with cooked potatoes.....they get gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Overnight Berry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Delicious! I did make a few changes, using whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, adding 1/3 cup ground flaxseed, coconut oil instead of butter, and sour cream instead of buttermilk (needed to use it up). I used frozen raspberries. My family just loved this cake, it made a terrific Valentine's Day breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortilla Beef Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
GREAT Recipe! I went with a couple suggestions, but overall changed little. I added taco seasoning and chopped onions to the beef as I cooked it, a layer of chopped onions between the beef and cheese, and substituted a can of rotell for the salsa just for personal taste. As crazy as it sounds, the cream of chicken soup works great. i do suggest the chips at the bottom. Crumble them and it makes a nice bottom to your casserole. This will be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
If cooked according to the recipe, the chicken coating burns. No, I didn't have my heat too high, in fact I had it on medium rather than medium-high and my stove does not cook hot. I did use suggestions such as coating and refrigerating which DID keep the coating on. I will try this with other recipes now and appreciate this. I've generally been very happy with recipes rated so high by so many, but this time I just can not agree. It was OK at best and will not be kept in our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker Ham

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used this exact recipe,and it was good, but to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My family LOVED it!. I changed up a few things. I had Sweet Potato Gnocchi so I used it and regular gnocchi. It added a very distinct flavor that complemented the carrots and spinach. I also used greek yogurt because I was out of 1/2 & 1/2. We topped with shreaded cheese and it was awesome. NO LEFT overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States