Springdale, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Love this recipe! I make the homemade Turkey Breakfast Sausage from this site and make it into this gravy - and serve over homemade cream biscuits. One of my family's favorite breakfasts for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
My boyfriend and I are from the south and he kept talking about chocolate gravy so I found this recipe and made it about half an hour ago and he was less than impressed with it. I have never even heard of chocolate gravy before a month ago (the whole south sighs in shock as one of their own has turned their back on them) so I don't know what it tastes or looks like to compare it to anything. He said it was too sweet and thick and looked like I just globbed chocolate cake frosting on top of some biscuits. I even took the other southerner's suggestions and added another 1/4 cup of cocoa and 1/4 tsp of salt. 2 stars since I modified it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster de Jonghe

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
We cut the recipe to 2 servings and made in small soup mugs as we did not have ramekins of any size. It was a side dish to our traditionally non-traditional Thanksgiving meal this year. I can only rate this 4 stars because we did not use real lobster but imitation instead (due to no availability of lump meat locally) and the fact that we cut the butter in half. I think it would have put us over the edge with delight had it been real because even imitation meat in this one was AWESOME! As many reviews suggested the butter would have been overwhelming to us had we not cut it in half. Well worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Bake for Two

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
There are not sufficient words to describe how wonderful this was but I will try. This was the main dish for my husband and my Non-Traditional Thanksgiving meal this year. My husband prepared this exactly as the recipe called for and it was FABULOUS! Be sure to spend a little more on FRESH seafood. Frozen scallops are generally rubbery and although Tilapia would also taste good, the Halibut is just so good it wouldn't be the same if substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potunas

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We really enjoy this for a change up of the ordinary. Lots of options: Crumble bacon on top, add green onions, different spices to add a twist (italian, seafood, etc.) and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made these for supper last night and they were really good. Now keep in mind that I have never had them but my husband was born and raised in Texas and knew them well as a child. He said "You nailed it Baby!" I only gave 4 stars because I did adjust the recipe after reading many reviews, for our taste and health and for the amount we were making as well. I used 1/2 the flour called for, used egg whites instead of whole eggs, used crushed croutons instead of bread crumbs or panko, and added cajun seasoning to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a very delicious cornbread! Super moist and easy to make. For the record, I am a southern and this cornbread rock! I hate tasteless dry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This is sooo good! I have made this multiple times and I never change anything in the recipe. Always comes out delicious and mine is never dry. My daughter requests this often. It is her favorite meal and if there are leftovers they are gone by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I love this recipe! I've tried several versions of homemade turkey sausage over the years and this one is by FAR my favorite. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ann's Shrimp Etouffee

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The main dish in our traditionally non traditional xmas dinner 2012. I was to cook this one, but the husband took over and that was fine as I was making rolls, mushrooms, and a chocolate cake. He's an awesome cook, so there was no doubt he would do a supreme job ;) This is a keeper for sure! We've been to New Orlean's and have had a cajun cook make a meal for us at home as well......I think this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made these for our traditionally non traditional xmas meal 2012 and they were the hit of the meal! I did not have the mushrooms it calls for, so I used regular button mushrooms and it worked out just fine. Other changes I made, due to materials and taste were: I do not buy bread crumbs, I use croutons crushed. This time they were a garlic cheese flavor. I skipped the hot sauce due to taste of guests not being as hot as our family's taste, but have no doubt it would be great with it in as well. I chopped up the mushroom stems and added them to the filling. Last, I cooked them for an additional 5 minuets under the broiler. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! Don't half the recipe because what is left over (and there will be leftover) makes the most awesome dip ever. I put it out as an appetizer with ritz style crackers and green onions. It was eaten before, during, and after the meal by people who were already "stuffed" but just couldn't help themselves. This stuff is GREAT! UPDATE: For our traditionally non-traditional Thanksgiving meal 2014 I made these again and they were still just awesome! This time I used PANKO and have fallen in love with the stuff. Great to use anytime bread crumbs are called for. baby bella mushrooms were even better than the buttons too! I doubt real crab meat would improve this as it is a stuffing, but I always use imitation for this sort of thing. I would have given this 5 stars had I not made the small changes I did for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Seafood Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
OPPPS... rated wrong recipe. Won't let me just delete so I am giving 4 stars as to not hurt the actual rating by those who have tried it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
We've done this several times now with several different fish fillets. Salmon, Tilapia, Cod.....adjust the spices for different versions, but the basic ideas here are a GREAT start to many wonderful meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Didn't expect this to be as good as it was. Husband is the cook most days in our house so many of my reviews start this way....Husband cooked this and the same is true for this one. We were both surprised at how much we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Tomato Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Husband made this and we are adding it to the rotation for sure! He even uses the topping for other meals now (with slight changes here and there to accommodate the meal). Stuffed shells, manicotti, pork steaks, it's good for so many things! Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I'm writing a "Pre-Review" because I changed things up a bit due to on hand ingredients and review suggestions I warped into my own version. I will edit this after dinner tonight :) I had a 15oz Peppercorn Tenderloin so I scaled the recipe to 5 servings (but it looks more like 6-7 to me)and cubed the meat into small pieces. I used 3/4 of a red onion, 3/4 of a yellow bell pepper, 1 can of black beans, 4 small chicken bullion cubes, 2 cups plus one can (bean can) of water, 1 1/2 cups medium salsa, 1/2 cup salsa verde, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1 1/4 tsp chili powder. I am cooking this on high for 4 hours and will transfer to stove-top if not done at that time. With fewer ingredients and higher temps I don't foresee a problem as this has worked for me with many slow cooker recipes over the years. Looking forward to updating tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Mango

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Tried this one for our Mexican food Thanksgiving this year. I was able to save it by draining the liquid and adding quite a bit of brown sugar, but even then it didn't deserve a great rating. WAY too much lemon juice made this so mouth puckering that no one wanted more than the first taste they took. Sorry, but this one just didn't make it into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Butt Steaks

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'm only giving this 4 stars due to the change I made. Only one change, but it was significant. As suggested by another reviewer I substituted salsa for the ketchup. We are eating healthier and the substitution made the calorie and fat counts fit into our diet much better. It was fantastic! Moist, spicy, and very tasty. I served this dish with brown rice and a steamed vegetable medley which worked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaBell

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent! We loved this recipe and will try again. Used beer and it turned out great. I've cooked with beer many times and it's not a taste issue at all once it's cooked, it's about the ingredients of the beer working in the recipe. PERFECT for the cooler night ahead as we go into winter time. UPDATE 12/7/2013 : This has been a cold night soup, a Thanksgiving soup, and a company's coming tonight soup. SOOOOOOOO easy, sooooooo good, this is a must in our recipe book. To keep down the calories (it's already pretty healthy) use a low fat sour cream, less cheese, and white corn tortilla instead of chips as the sides/toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Buns

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We have made these three times now and will many times again. No kids in our house, he's grown and on his own, but we adults LOVE these! We have done them in hot dog buns and without the olives as I do not like them at all. We have tried different cheese as toppers and trust me when I say EXPERIMENT with the cheese! Thank you so much for this recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States