Little Rock - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Mexican Pork Burritos

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
It's so yummy! I made it in the crock pot and put in the refrigerator overnight to allow the fat to solidify so I could skim it off. I reheated it the next day on the stovetop. I heated the burritos in my panini press. My entire family loved it! Served with homemade salsa and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! I change bacon amount based on what I have or how healthy I'm trying to be. It works great with all kinds of greens! I especially love Swiss Chard cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I love this recipe! I like to double the recipe then roll out a rectangle And top it like a pizza, but roll it And cut it like cinnamon rolls. After I bake them I freeze most of them so my kids can have pizza rolls as snacks sometimes. The crust is perfect. I tried to create my own for years And it always turned out bad. This one is so easy, And even easier if you have a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonton Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I give this recipe 4 stars as it is written; however, after following some of the suggestions of the reviewers, I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could! As per the reviews, we added soy sauce, grated fresh ginger, and just a drop of sesame oil to further flavor the broth. Per the reviews, we also boiled the wontons first and then added them to the broth to avoid murkiness. Now that we have made this often, we have tried other ground meats - such as ground turkey or ground chicken and have often omitted the shrimp if we do not have any on hand. We cannot honestly state that we notice a large taste difference without the shrimp. This recipe is amazing and just so versatile! We freeze a big bag of these and either use them in broth, sear them in a pan and then finish off steaming them in the same pan to enjoy the wontons as pot stickers (sear on high for one minute - flipping wontons over to brown each side and then add enough water to just cover the bottom of the pan, cover, and reduce heat for 6-7 minutes), or we encourage our teenager to just make her own broth (usually hot water and a Ramen seasoning packet) and just drop a few frozen wontons in as her own meal. Don't let making homemade wontons intimidate you; we conquered this recipe the first time and just watched a simple video on YouTube for folding techniques. Love love love that my family can now make and customize these and freeze them to use them so many different ways. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy R. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real N'awlins Muffuletta

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Big hit!!! Served at a luncheon for a large group of people, so used Kings Hawaiian bread - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamibc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
So good! Worth all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Marinated Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was a great change-up on our usual steak seasoning. The only thing I did different was use regular powdered cumin, because it was all I had. I plan to add cumin seeds to my spice cabinet so that I can try them next time. The citrus brought a great freshness to the steak. Next time I also want to try putting onions in with the steak to marinate and then cooking them up to serve with it. I used ribeye, but I want to try skirt steak as the citrus should tenderize the meat nicely for a good steak sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steak House Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is a good base recipe - now I just need to get the seasoning right. I used an 8 x 10 casserole dish and sliced four medium-large russet baking potatoes. I had three layers of potatoes with fresh broccoli florets in between. I ended up adding 1 1/2 cups half n half, 1/2 cup heavy cream, and four tablespoons flour, and the consistency of the sauce was perfect. I seasoned the potato layers as another suggested, but it was still a bit bland. Next time I will also add salt and pepper to the sauce mixture. I also added some onion powder and next time I think I will add a little heat, maybe some chipotle powder. I didn't want the cheese to stick to the foil, so once the potatoes were soft, I removed the foil, added the cheese, and baked until the cheese was bubbly. And of course we used sharp cheddar - I never buy anything less than sharp. I would love to try this with some other cheeses as well, maybe add some Manchego. This could easily be customized to pair with the seasonings in your main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chocolate Mint Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe yields a rich, dense, chocolatey pan of brownies! I only used 1 cup sugar, and used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder. I baked them in a half-sheet pan greased with coconut oil for about 20 minutes. Instead of the mint icing, I sprinkled the top with a chocolate mint baking chip and it was delicious. This is very similar to a recipe my husband used when he was pastry chef at a restaurant, except these have less sugar, which is to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Mix Spice Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Super easy to make, these cookies turned out with a nice, slightly crispy outside and soft inside. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonburnt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hidden Cheeseburger

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was so good! I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground venison and an egg in place of the ground beef. I also used the canned french bread dough. The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzybcook
Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. You can do a lot with it. I hate chocolate cake. So, in place of the cocoa, I ended up using vanilla sugar and adding cinnamon, and making cupcakes. It ended up tasting like this pumpkin pie spice bread a store I know makes (I added NO pumpkin). It is a little too dense to call it a cake, but it is a wonderful quick bread! I did add salt as well because others said it is better that way. You really can do anything with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Shrimp & Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Perfect blend of seasonings, meats & pasta.... a favorite for this Louisiana family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamibc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
i've used this recipe several times and have always been happy with the results. last night, i had half of the butter needed and half of the chips. made it anyway, using half butter and half vegetable oil. the light amount of chips was fine, but i definitely dont recommend this recipe with vegetable oil. the cookies came out flat, just huge and flat. so have all of the ingredients or you'll be wasting your time and your resources. i still stand behind the recipe. minus the walnuts, just not a fan of nuts or berries in my food. everything else is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakomos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Seed Brittle

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We took this to a church gathering and it was a huge hit! I used the parchment paper on the bottom and top. It stuck to the top, so I will try spraying the candy on top with oil next time. The baking soda does cause it to bubble up quite a bit, so a big pot is better! I found my candy thermometer to be very helpful, especially because I had the burner up too high so it the sugar mixture was done in five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossibly Easy Cheeseburger Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight and it was surprisingly easy and good - after reading all the reviews and tweaking it in all the assorted ways mentioned. I cut the egg down to 1 and used 3/4 cup of Bisquick. It was like a deconstructed cheeseburger. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Green
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I did modify this slightly, but mostly stuck to the original recipe. Part of the modifications were due to what I had on hand. I made this using whiting from a recent fishing trip. I increased the almond/parmesan mixture by an extra half a cup for each. I also added the garlic powder and pepper in there, along with dried parsley. I chose to bake the fish on a half bakers sheet with a rack so I wouldn't have to turn them. I just heaped the parmesan mixture on the filets prior to baking. I baked them on 325 for 30 mins, and broiled them for the last two minutes (didn't move the sheet, had it on the middle rack) to brown the topping. Very tender, perfectly cooked, and even my daughter who doesn't like fish asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Easy & yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamibc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My New Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I followed this recipe *almost* exactly to the letter. The only difference was that I cooked the potatoes with the roast. I used 1 lb. carrots, 2 parsnips, 1 purple potato, 1 sweet potato, and four medium/small Idaho potatoes along with the onions for my veggies. Other than that I did everything the same. There were some different cooking instructions that I had doubts about, but I did it as written. I usually use way less liquid, don't boil the vegetables first in the liquid, and cook my roast longer at a lower temp. All that said, this recipe as written really does work, and all of those directions assisted in reducing the cooking time without compromising the roast. Very yummy recipe and I recommend following it as written. You can cook the potatoes with it as I did if that is your preference. 1.5 hours in the oven on 350 makes a very tender roast, as long as you sear it and boil the veggies for a little bit first as stated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This recipe was really very yummy! I bought too many peppers on a special at my grocer, and this was a great way to use some of them up! I made as written. I did follow suggestions by other reviewers and only made half of the stuffing mixture. I used homemade marinara instead of the tomato sauce, and didn't add parmesan simply due to preference. Great recipe, and these reheat very well! Hubby had some of the leftovers for breakfast this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States