Conway, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe! I have been making this for a year now and its still a hit. Leftovers are great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this for dinner last night and it was so good. I followed some reviewers suggestions, only using one can of refried beans and one can of black beans. I cooked the black beans with the meat mixture, but reserved the refried and spread them on the bottoms of the tortillas while I was layering. Since it's just 2 of us, I split this into two pans, and froze one for later. I also ended up adding some taco seasoning and enchilada sauce because I felt like the meat was missing something. Overall, really good dinner, and probably something we will make again. We liked it with some shredded lettuce and sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Awesome cake! It was gone in one day! However, I would definitely cut the rum back in the glaze to 1/4 cup. I love the rum flavor but it was a bit much to share with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Cranberry Chutney

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Ok, this was wonderful! I cut back on the sugar by about 1/4 cup, used 2 small red apples, and added a dash of cayenne and a little more water. My only complaint is that there's a little too much cinnamon. However, I will definitely make this again. It was so yummy with crackers and cream cheese as well as on the thanksgiving table as cranberry sauce, and it made enough for both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Cheese Ball I

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was a huge hit at thanksgiving. we had a small group, so I cut the recipe in half and it made one nice sized ball. I only used about 1 1/2 cups extra sharp cheddar shredded really small. I also added some diced green onions and worchestershire, and I made it 2 days ahead of time. It was perfect and I will surely be making it for christmas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is amazing! I will never make turkey gravy any other way. It takes extra planning and time a few days ahead, but was so worth it not to be making gravy at the last second. I used 3 large turkey legs because thats what the store had. I seasoned them a little before roasting, and drizzled with olive oil. I added celery to the pot when boiling as well. I followed other reviews, and took the broth after cooking, allowed to set up in the fridge, and then removed the fat from the top. I used the fat as well as a little butter to create a roux with the flour and then slowly added the broth to it. I was afraid it wouldn't reheat well 2 days later, but it was perfect! My husband suggested next time I add the meat from the turkey legs to the gravy as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Green Bean Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving instead of the usual "back of the can" green bean casserole. My husband honestly didn't know the difference. There may not be a place in my pantry for cream of mushroom soup any longer. Here are my changes: I used chopped onions and mushrooms as well. Omitted the sugar, used canned beans (cause thats what we like), used velveeta instead of cheddar, and used the crunchy onions instead of stuffing. I love the way it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, except I had to do it all by hand instead of a bread machine. I was a little disappointed. These tasted wonderful, but the texture wasnt very nice. I might try them again sometime, but for all the effort, they weren't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really quick and easy recipe that saved me and my wife from getting grumpy from hunger! Makes great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daviskr

Grilled Mustard Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
FANTABULOUS! - the exact word my husband used to describe these potatoes! even my 12 year old loved them. the only thing i did differently was to use olive oil instead of canola oil because it's what i had on hand. and i broiled instead of grilled. thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LBURDICK

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Awesome!! Cured a summertime craving for a hearty winter treat. Due to diabetic restrictions, I used 1/2 C. Splenda and 1/2 C. Sugar. I also subbed 1 Tbsp of vinegar to the 1 C. of milk because I never have buttermilk. Doubled the recipe, baked in a 9"x13" aluminum cake pan for 40 minutes excatly and it is perfect! Thank for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squash Casserole

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
i love this recipe - so easy! i diced the squash instead of shredding, also chopped an onion, and sauted the veggies until they started to soften, then added to the mixture. this allowed me to cook it for only 20 minutes just to heat it thru. even my picky kid ate two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I added peanuts and some peanut butter to a few of mine and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Breaded Flounder Fillets

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Sorry for the poor rating... but this was just not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly (other than cutting everything in half. I did use frozen flounder but properly thawed it before cooking. The fish came out mushy and the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Pecan Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Malone Naysmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caraway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Apricot Squares

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Delicious with strawberry preserves! I heated the preserves just a bit to make them pourable. Can't wait to try it again with a different flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pollyhuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Granny's Corn Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were good, but not quite what I had hoped. This may have been something I did wrong but for some reason these turned out very stiff after letting them achieve the slightest browning. If I pulled them off the pan before they turned stiff you could taste that they were not done. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent (with a few minor adjustments). In place of the crushed red pepper I used 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. Also added 1 tbs corn starch (as per some other recipes used for holding the mix onto the meat). Use ~2.5 tbs per 1 pound of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Excellent (with a few minor adjustments). In place of the crushed red pepper I used 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. Also added 1 tbs corn starch (as per some other recipes used for holding the mix onto the meat). Use ~2.5 tbs per 1 pound of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Tomato Brie Bow Tie Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good, quick dish! I did agree with previous reviewers that it was a bit sweet by itself. However, paring it with a spinach salad and a glass of shiraz made it quite balanced overall. I disagree with other reviewers who say to increase the Brie or decrease the pasta. There is a distinct taste of Brie in the dish and I believe more would be too much. The amount of pasta is also just right. Cutting the pasta in half as one reviewer recommended would result in pasta floating in a sauce. I made this dish in February. However, I think it would be best as a light dish during a cool summer evening. (A good option for those going for Meatless Mondays too.) Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States