Conway, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe exact, and while the cake tasted very very good, for some reason, my cupcakes rose up and over the tops of the pan, then spread out thin and flat. It was a mess to clean up, and I ended up throwing them in the trash. I only filled the cups about half-way, so I have no idea what went wrong. Might be worth trying again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe, but other than that followed it exact. I loved the texture of this cake, however, the flavor was lacking. I was surprised that it wasn't sweeter since it had 1/2 cup more sugar than other white cake recipes. I may try this again, but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
All I have to say is yum. This icing piped perfectly, and made my cupcakes look better than the store version. Wonderful recipe. I may try half butter half shortening next time, but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

White Almond Wedding Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I just finished making these and they are delish. I combined this recipe with another by the same name. The only things I did different were to use milk instead of water, and 3 whole eggs rather than 4 whites and the oil. I also added a packet of vanilla pudding mix. I think these will be the cupcakes I make for an upcoming wedding. Wonderful with just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Sweet Vanilla Cupcakes

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I've been trying to find the perfect vanilla cupcake recipe, and this one was pretty close. I may have over cooked them just a tad because they were slightly dry, but still very flavorful and just the right amount of sweetness. I followed the recipe exact, and everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I doubled the marinade to be sure I had enough to cover the chicken, then let the chicken simmer in the marinate. Fantastic! The onions and peppers were restaurant quality and made a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Jimmy IV

Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I thought this was just ok. I did not expect a New Orleans dish but I did hope for something closer than this turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Baked Halibut Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I added mushrooms to my vegetable mixture, and seasoned my halibut with a bit of dill weed. It was hard to stop eating...very yummy! Everything was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terripostlewate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana and Peanut Butter Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These were very delicious!! I only had about 3/4 cup of flour so i used 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour and they turned out fantastic. I'm going to try them again using just the wheat flour. I also added another half of a banana and used the other half as a garnish. As the inscription says, they are so yummy, you do not need syrup. Thanks for this recipes!!! KUDOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forgiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked German Short Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Meat tasted fine, but it was very greasy and fatty. This one was a bit disappointing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaddiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely fabulous! The taste was great even when in a hurry when I couldn't let the salmon marinate for the complete time alloted in the recipe! Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyDigitize

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Spicy Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My spice and sweet separated somehow so some were spicy but most were not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is a good curry dish. I found the butter unnecessary. As other reviewers suggested, I added 2 cups of broth to skillet after the spices and before the potatoes and cauliflower. Let it come to a boil, then add vegetables. Fantastic over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Manicotti Alla Romana

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This manicotti could be so much better. If making again I would omit the spinach. The flavor is too overpowering in this dish. I would omit the white sauce, too much work for no taste. I would stuff the shells with the meat mixture and cover in lots of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Favorite Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong but I followed the recipe exactly (although i did use fresh green beans). However, my casserole did not taste like any I had before or have the proper texture. For the most part the mixture just fell to the bottom instead of remaining on the green beans and the beans did not get as soft as they typically are in a casserole. Tasted more like green beans with some soup in the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Texas Glazed Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was good. However, i did not think it was so much a glaze finish. The final product was more like spiced pecans with a crystallized sugar coating. Still trying to find a good glazed pecan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Oh So Tender Brisket

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of not using flour (it really isn't necessary.) and I increased everything since I had a larger piece of meat. My brisket was 10 lbs. The only thing I do not understand is why the cook time (as written for a 3lb brisket) is so long. I figured my brisket would take several more hours just based on the size. I checked it at 6 hours just to see how it was coming along and the temp was already 210F! It was fall apart tender and tasted great. I just had to scramble to get the rest of dinner ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Christmas Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a fine standard cheese ball recipe. Nothing special but everyone liked it. I did add very thin sliced and chopped corned beef; adds an additional touch of color and helps the taste a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Spiced Pecans

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Just okay... I thought it just tasted like sugar with a bit of pecan flavor. The other spices did not seem to come through. I guess it would be good for someone who really likes pure sugar. I won't be making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Crust for Veggie Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States