Conway, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Basil Chicken over Angel Hair

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I prepared as instructed (with the exception of using campellini pasta since I had it on hand, and using cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce). I thought the final product somewhat lacked flavor and was too pasta heavy. I will make again and hopefully correct these shortcomings by using: 1.25 to 1.5 times the chicken called for, 3 cloves garlic, 1 cup onion, and 4 cups finely diced roma tomatoes, and adding 1 teaspoon dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Cheesy Bacon and Potatoes Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent dish. I followed the recipe as provided with the exception of using frozen spinach and it worked out fine. Next time I will add some lump crab meat to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mike's Homemade Pizza

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Sauce mix was very good. I did use 1 cup whole wheat flour and two cups white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Fiesta Pinwheels

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Tasty. I thought it had a good amount of spice. However, as something that is not only supposed to be good to eat but have an appealing look, this doesn't quite cut it. The brown color from the taco seasoning make these not great for presentation. Try this for a good presentation: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/party-pinwheels/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Chicken Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great recipe. Thick and hearty filling. I used the entire can of cream of celery soup and the ready made pie crusts in the dairy section. It's a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Tomato Tart (Pie)

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe as is with changes as per the AR Magazine. I also used Roma tomatoes, so as to have less liquid in the pie. I think this helped greatly, since the pie was still just a touch on the too moist side. Also, instead of fresh herbs I used dry. That way they could be added into the pie mix and baked in without being burned. I layered the generously sliced tomatoes half-stacked on one another so that there was basically two layers, to help give the tart some depth. Finally, I had plenty of pie crust left over (home made) so I cut strips and laid criss-cross over the top. Taste: not as "tangy" as the recipe name would indicate. Not sure how to do it, but if the "tangy" factor could be raised would really be a great dish. However, was quite a nice dish. Even as a leftover it was good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Will use as a basic pie crust recipe. Changes: Use vinegar instead of water. Chill everything (except flour, but it could be chilled as well), including bowl. Instead of shortening I used margarine for a savory crust. Use butter or shortening for a sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Broccoli Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe with the minor changes from the AR Magazine. First of all, the photo of the dish was very different. The finished product was an unpleasing grayish color. No way to get it to look like that without doing the following extra steps: after finishing as per recipe cover with layer of cheese, layer of broccoli, layer of mushrooms, and layer of onions. Now for the taste.... I was disappointed. It wasn't bad, but wasn't very good. Just kind of bland. Basically, not something you would want to eat, but if made your not going to go hungry. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Teriyaki Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe. It was a very good homemade teriyaki sauce. However, it was very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Grandma's Raspberry Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. I think I will make a few changes next time I make it, though. I hope that some of the mistakes I made were simply from elevation difference (in Denver) so I will adjust the temperature and time. There was also quite a bit of crumble for me as well and I think I used too many oats. Excellent recipe otherwise--I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This rub is outstanding! This would be good on any kind of pork and probably other kinds of meat, as well. Our roast was 3.5 pounds and it took a little over an hour to get to the recommended temperature. Meat was juicy and flavorful, just perfect. Leftovers won't last long, I'm sure. Definitely is on our list to make again, next time to share with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaddiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Kickin' Jamaican Wings, Mon

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
First of all the presentation was not so good. The wings were a very odd and unappealing green color. Beyond that the flavor was bland and in no way "Kickin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is great stuff. I don't do as much salt, but once I forgot to modify it and it was still great. I have made it about six times now and every time its a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
perfect. instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is just like IHOP. I used a 1/2 cup measuring cup to make them about the size of IHOP. Take the advice of another commenter and don't stir the batter once it puffs up in the bowl. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
this recipe + a cookie scoop = the most perfect chocolate chip cookie EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Perfect as is, did not change a thing. We will be eating this once a week. It's the perfect blend of corn bready and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States