Conway, Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Whole Wheat Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very good. I used "Honey Brown" for the beer and added about two tablespoons honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Whole Wheat Beer Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good. I used "Honey Brown" for the beer and added about two tablespoons honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Holiday Hot Spinach Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Possibly the best spinach dip I have ever had. I did add more cream than was called for to get a better dip consistency. Have made this on several occasions with positive feedback from everyone who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Good basic meatless stuffed peppers (especially for a Friday during Lent). I left out the feta (forgot about it) but didn't miss it during dinner. I also used red, orange, green, and yellow bell peppers. The colors were very nice for presentation. (Leftovers were good as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Lemon Sauce II

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The orange flavor does overpower the lemon, but the lemon is still present. Overall a nice simple topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Irish Apple Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I thought this was just OK. Cooked for five minutes longer than suggested and the "dough" was still a bit underdone. that being said this is not at all a cake consistency. It really is a dough rather than a batter. The taste was alright but not very flavorful. The lemon sauce is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is my favorite bread recipe I've found on this site so far. I am a huge fan of sunflower seeds so i may be a tad bias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeletronis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Ranch Cheeseball

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was super easy to make. Would suggest either using 1/2 the amt of ranch or adding extra block of cream cheese. I put real bacon in it instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe is great. I used all beef because I didn't have any pork on hand and also used crushed crackers instead of breadcrumbs and it still turned out fantastic. I used a cookie scoop for uniformity(don't know the number, around the size of a melon baller) and got 70 meatballs out of this recipe. thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daviskr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basil Chicken over Angel Hair

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I prepared as instructed (with the exception of using campellini pasta since I had it on hand, and using cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce). I thought the final product somewhat lacked flavor and was too pasta heavy. I will make again and hopefully correct these shortcomings by using: 1.25 to 1.5 times the chicken called for, 3 cloves garlic, 1 cup onion, and 4 cups finely diced roma tomatoes, and adding 1 teaspoon dried oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent dish. I followed the recipe as provided with the exception of using frozen spinach and it worked out fine. Next time I will add some lump crab meat to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Mike's Homemade Pizza

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Sauce mix was very good. I did use 1 cup whole wheat flour and two cups white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Fiesta Pinwheels

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Tasty. I thought it had a good amount of spice. However, as something that is not only supposed to be good to eat but have an appealing look, this doesn't quite cut it. The brown color from the taco seasoning make these not great for presentation. Try this for a good presentation: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/party-pinwheels/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Tangy Tomato Tart (Pie)

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe as is with changes as per the AR Magazine. I also used Roma tomatoes, so as to have less liquid in the pie. I think this helped greatly, since the pie was still just a touch on the too moist side. Also, instead of fresh herbs I used dry. That way they could be added into the pie mix and baked in without being burned. I layered the generously sliced tomatoes half-stacked on one another so that there was basically two layers, to help give the tart some depth. Finally, I had plenty of pie crust left over (home made) so I cut strips and laid criss-cross over the top. Taste: not as "tangy" as the recipe name would indicate. Not sure how to do it, but if the "tangy" factor could be raised would really be a great dish. However, was quite a nice dish. Even as a leftover it was good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Will use as a basic pie crust recipe. Changes: Use vinegar instead of water. Chill everything (except flour, but it could be chilled as well), including bowl. Instead of shortening I used margarine for a savory crust. Use butter or shortening for a sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Broccoli Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe with the minor changes from the AR Magazine. First of all, the photo of the dish was very different. The finished product was an unpleasing grayish color. No way to get it to look like that without doing the following extra steps: after finishing as per recipe cover with layer of cheese, layer of broccoli, layer of mushrooms, and layer of onions. Now for the taste.... I was disappointed. It wasn't bad, but wasn't very good. Just kind of bland. Basically, not something you would want to eat, but if made your not going to go hungry. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Teriyaki Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I liked this recipe. It was a very good homemade teriyaki sauce. However, it was very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Grandma's Raspberry Bars

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. I think I will make a few changes next time I make it, though. I hope that some of the mistakes I made were simply from elevation difference (in Denver) so I will adjust the temperature and time. There was also quite a bit of crumble for me as well and I think I used too many oats. Excellent recipe otherwise--I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bergman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Rubbed and Grilled Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This rub is outstanding! This would be good on any kind of pork and probably other kinds of meat, as well. Our roast was 3.5 pounds and it took a little over an hour to get to the recommended temperature. Meat was juicy and flavorful, just perfect. Leftovers won't last long, I'm sure. Definitely is on our list to make again, next time to share with company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaddiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Kickin' Jamaican Wings, Mon

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
First of all the presentation was not so good. The wings were a very odd and unappealing green color. Beyond that the flavor was bland and in no way "Kickin"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States