Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Mushrooms (Low-Carb)

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
These are excellent as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Slow Cooker Black-Eyed Pea and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I hate to give such a low rating but I made exactly as written and this lacked flavor. I thought for sure that the 5 bouillon cubes and pound of sausage would make this extremely salty but if fact it was quite the opposite. I make a lot of soup and I never could put my finger on what this was lacking. Adding herbs would be a must if I ever attempted this again and I think using chicken broth in place of the cubes and water might have helped too. This was super simple and I think it has potential but it definitely needs some tweaking in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I too substituted stew meat for the chuck roast and sour cream for the creme fraiche. The meat was melt in your mouth tender and the only issues I had is that the sauce didn't thicken enough but that was an easy fix. As written this was delicious but I added a generous sprinkle of Hungarian paprika and that put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Pie had an excellent flavor although I did not do the glaze on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Saw this when I opened up Allrecipes today. Thought it would be a quick and easy supper. And boy was it! This is a GREAT dish for a quick, semi-homemade meal! Served it with a salad and garlic toast. I will be using this during the week when I don't have a lot of time to cook so I can spend more time helping the kids with their homework! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra L Fischer

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stuttgart, Arkansas, USA

Herbed Cheese Spread

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This spread is really yummy on crackers! I enjoyed having a homemade version of such an expensive cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Kentucky Hot Brown

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I converted this recipe into a casserole/baked dish like several others. The cheese sauce in this dish is phenomenal. Would be great in macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
i've used this recipe several times and have always been happy with the results. last night, i had half of the butter needed and half of the chips. made it anyway, using half butter and half vegetable oil. the light amount of chips was fine, but i definitely dont recommend this recipe with vegetable oil. the cookies came out flat, just huge and flat. so have all of the ingredients or you'll be wasting your time and your resources. i still stand behind the recipe. minus the walnuts, just not a fan of nuts or berries in my food. everything else is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakomos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Starr's Savory Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made small ones for meatball sliders. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Seed Brittle

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
We took this to a church gathering and it was a huge hit! I used the parchment paper on the bottom and top. It stuck to the top, so I will try spraying the candy on top with oil next time. The baking soda does cause it to bubble up quite a bit, so a big pot is better! I found my candy thermometer to be very helpful, especially because I had the burner up too high so it the sugar mixture was done in five minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Truly wonderful!!!Made without jalapenos and yogurt instead of sour cream. My 3 & 4 year old's loved it as well as my husband. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Burkert Wisley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Awesome will make over and over loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Bunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Slow Cooker White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My husband really enjoyed this chili recipe. It is so easy to make and has great flavor. Spraying Pam on the crockpot insert does help keep the ingredients from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Queso (Cheese) Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made exactly as written (substituted half and half for the heavy whipping cream as recipe submitter mentioned) and this turned out better than any cheese dip I have ever made with Velveeta. The roasted peppers is what sets this one apart from other cheese dips so I recommend not skipping this step. I think any combo of hot peppers you prefer or had on hand would work just fine. This one is a keeper and one I will make often during football season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Potato, Ham, Broccoli and Cheese Soup with Baby Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This turned out great! Very forgiving. I had few plain potatoes so I used a bagged stew vegetable mix of potatoes, pearl onions, celery, and carrots. I also had only about 1.5 to 2 cups of cheese, so I lessened the milk to 3 cups. In addition I added a splash of ground mustard. Everything else was roughly as stated in the recipe. Even with these changes it was great! My toddler and husband both devoured it. Huge success! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Arkansas Fried Veggie Skillet

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
When I saw the recipe title I knew I had to be the first to rate and photo this recipe. While I am not originally from Arkansas, this is where I have spent the past 20 years. With the exception of the potatoes and onions, all other veggies came from my homegrown Arkansas garden. I served this with Arkansas caught trout but it would have gone nicely with any protein. The only thing that didn't work for me is that it took a lot more than 2 tablespoons of bacon grease to fry all of the ingredients in a skillet. I keep bacon grease on hand so it was not a problem for me but if you don't you might want to plan accordingly. The bacon grease gives the entire dish a nice smokiness and each ingredient absorbs it in its own special way as not to overpower. Not the healthiest side dish but it was a nice treat and one I will make often in the summer when my garden is in full bloom. I'm thinking fresh green beans and banana peppers in the mix would work great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Butternut Squash Bisque

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I tweaked this recipe a bit to enter it in an six ingredients or less cooking contest. I won a second place ribbon! Which is a big deal at our state fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used this recipe for a cooking contest and won a second place ribbon! So yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Martha's Hot Almond Spread

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This dip is so flavorful and easy to make! I used a mix of swiss and gruyere cheese. I'm a huge fan of the green onion in this recipe. I served it with Club crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Orange Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This frosting is delicious. Love the fresh orange juice and the zest. My friends adored this on chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States