Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

My Mom's Raised Doughnuts

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe was just OK. It tasted like fried dinner rolls to me, not the melt in your mouth kind of donuts from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Turkey Cuban Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
So yummy! I didn't want to roast a turkey breast so I used store bought lunch meat. I also left off the honey mustard since we're not big fans. Fantastic and filling sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by SharleneE

Carob Cake And Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Awesome! Made this cake for my mother's 80 birthday. Followed the recipe as directed (minus the walnuts) in a 10" round aluminum cake pan. It was exceptionally moist with just the right amount of sweetness. It really didn't need any frosting, so just did a light dusting of powder. This recipe is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharleneE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piggott, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Very good soup - healthy, inexpensive, easy, and flexible recipe. My husband asked me to save this recipe (where I could find it again!) and make it often. As did many others, I made minor changes based on what I had on hand - used leftover rotisserie chicken, spinach instead of lettuce. Also I used soft ramen noodles (healthier) and added a bit of chopped roasted red pepper for color. Everything else was made as the recipe was written, including the celery which we enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enkimoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Can Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Good starter recipe. I made these changes after making it as written... I replaced the chicken with canned crab. I replaced the cream of chicken with cream of shrimp (but my husband and I agreed that cream of celery or cream of onion would be good also). Instead of the noodles, I prepared some stove top stuffing and placed it on the bottom of the dish (sprayed with Pam first). I added some minced garlic and finely diced onion (sautéed in butter until translucent). I added some shredded zucchini (but we thought peas, broccoli, cauliflower, eggplant, parsnip or turnip would be great too {we like to "hide" veggies in dishes like this because my father-in-law and kids are "veggie-phobic"}). I'm from New England, so I also added a few TBL of Old Bay and I added 4 oz cream cheese, diced, into the soup and crab mixture. It was really good. I also topped it with some French's Fried Onions and fresh chives for a pop of freshness at the end. Thank you! It was yummy and we'll make it again, adjusting until it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker New England Boiled Dinner

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
To clear up some questions- I'm from Boston, MA (originally) and we ate this often. layered flavors," comfort food, kind of dishes. I use Turkey Ham because the pork ham leaves the dish a little greasy for me and the turkey ham seems to become a little more fall-apart tender to me. I put the garlic cloves in whole. They become sweet and tender without over-powering the dish. I always serve with a pat of butter. Sorry that I forgot that. I've begun adding caraway seeds from time to time which is a yummy addition and will top with some sour cream next time that I do. Great idea! Thanks! I like my cabbage super soft, but for the people who find the flavor too strong or the person who found the cabbage flavor "off," adding it at the end is a great idea! I also love the polish kielbasa idea. We'll have to try it. I'll bet it adds another wonderful layer of flavor! The beauty of these Old-World dishes is that you get to alter them in very small ways to make them your own. We even substitute parsnips, turnips and/or cauliflower for the potatoes sometimes and its super yummy! I hope that cleared some things up for you all and I hope it's continued to be enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was a good base. I don't eat meat (I'm okay with meat by-products and meat flavor though), so I left out the chicken and added turnips, parsnips, and cauliflower (all cut into decent sized wedges {what I would call "rustic chunks"}). I had to add a little extra broth, cream, and seasonings to cook the veggies well and keep a good chili flavor. I boiled until the veggies were nice and soft and I served it with the sour cream, guacamole and shredded cheese. The family loved it, didn't miss the meat at all (the rest of the family are meat eaters and hate when I go vegetarian (or flexetarian in this case). It was enjoyed all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ye'abesha Gomen (Ethiopian Collard Greens)

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Awesome with spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Easy Garlic Escargots

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
A really nice alternative to traditional escargot. I prepare escargot at least once a month and typically as part of our entrée. Adding the mushrooms really adds volume and it was just a bit too much, for us. The flavor and presentation is really good. I think if I prepare it again I will serve it as an appetizer planning 3 per person. My only "adds" were a light dusting of bread crumbs before baking ...... and I broiled the last 3 minutes of the bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This is a very delicious cornbread! Super moist and easy to make. For the record, I am a southern and this cornbread rock! I hate tasteless dry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
GOOD COOKIES, ONLY ADDED RAISINS, ALSO ADDED CINNAMON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Glazed Pea Pods and Carrots

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Citrus Salmon in Parchment

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Excellent and easy recipe! Loved the summery citrus and the dill together. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
REALLY good recipe -- a KEEPER!! My wife has never liked ribs - or at least has never praised mine! I've got numerous recipes and a REALLY nice smoker but they never got an "attaboy". This recipe WORKED! I read numerous reviews and used the beer instead of water, cooked on high for 4 hours, and used the 20 min / 350F oven + 7 min on broil cook. They were beautiful, tender, and tasty. Got that "attaboy" I needed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Not Thousand Island Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Love me some Reuben's but have always disliked Thousand Island dressing due to the sweet relish. I whipped this up while my corned beef was slow cooking and you talk about an awesome Reuben! Hats off to you Mike Harvey. This sauce would be good on many different sandwiches and one I will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love freshly made salsa and this recipe is a good one that can easily be adjusted to one's taste. I chopped up a couple of large garlic cloves and a large seeded jalapeno. (To keep the spice off your hands, wear latex or vinyl gloves while seeding hot peppers.) I also used roma tomatoes - they're meatier and less watery than the regular variety. Put everything in the food processor and had fresh salsa in 5 minutes from start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSuzyQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Gnocchi

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Such a wonderful and quick way to make fresh gnocchi! We loved it and will make it again. Well written recipe with a delicious final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Summer Berry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Add a splash of almond extract. Awesome with marionberries and nectarines. GF flour mix does ok but has a weird texture by day 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Knowing our taste, added some carrots, celery and mushrooms. I can't say this was my favorite. However, I do think it would make the good filling for a pot pie, but as a casserole I wasn't thrilled. Just left some of my tastebuds unfulfilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altheimer, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Such an easy recipe that is a huge crowd pleaser! Smell fabulous while baking and tastes incredible! Like a quick Hawaiian vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States