Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

McDonald's® Tartar Sauce Copycat

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I HATE sweet relish and so I usually shy away from tartar sauce because of that reason so this one appealed to me in a big way. I like capers and typically have them on hand but was certain that Mickey D's would NOT use capers and this would not taste anything like their sauce. WRONG! Spot on! No, BETTER! The recipe submitter mentioned it turning out a little too runny and my solution to that was really smashing the relish against the jar before adding it to the recipe to eliminate some of the excess liquid. Hands down this is the best tartar sauce EVER and I am thrilled to be the first reviewer. I will make this often with my catfish. Thanks duboo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
WOW!! I've been using a different recipe for potato soup for years and decided to try a new one ..... GLAD I DID!! This was exceptional. I made it without changes ...... and don't expect to make any changes going forward. I used smoked ham and it was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Totchos Libre

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Instead of baking the tots in the oven I cooked them in my waffle iron which made a fun presentation and also sped up cooking time. I did put them under the broiler as directed for the finishing touch. My avocado had gone bad on me and I didn't know it until it was too late but next time I will be sure to have one. This was fun and a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729

NO YOLKS® Beef Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
We enjoyed this on a cold night. It's a little too tomato-y so I would adjust if I made it again. I would add some onion and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729

Healthy Chocolate Mug Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This seemed like a lot of liquid, not enough flour and too much baking soda when I was mixing it. I was right. It overflowed the mug and went all over the plate I put under it. It was too soft to eat as it did not cook. I've never had luck with this sort of recipe. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chinese Ham Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Use the water you soak your mushrooms in for additional flavor. I didn't have anywhere near 5 pounds of pork leg so I added 1/2 pound of ground pork that needed used up. I also had some shaved carrots that needed used and I added them in the last 20 minutes of cooking. This turned out a lot better than I expected and is something I would make again. I had the leftover today and added a generous squirt of Sriracha and that added a nice touch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Artichoke Frittata

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Jo, the flavors were perfectly paired! We absolutely loved it's! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Phelps Babcock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gassville, Arkansas, USA

Swedish Cream with Summer Berries

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made this for snacking and dessert this week. It's so creamy, smooth and delicious! It's like a Romanoff sauce for strawberries but a 1000 times better. It's a new favorite in our home and will be made frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I actually tried increasing the chocolate; it was a mistake IMO. This is a good recipe as stands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMama71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real N'awlins Muffuletta

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Big hit!!! Served at a luncheon for a large group of people, so used Kings Hawaiian bread - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamibc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Cake in a Bread Machine

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Best King Cake dough I've ever made. I used a cinnamon and cream cheese filling. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Hyatt McAfee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My kiddos loved this!! I used dried medium egg noodles instead of frozen; I just put them in about 10 minutes before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Proper English Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this recipe almost as directed. My onion was huge so I only used half, I added two small celery stalks, and about a cup of green peas (right at the end). Flour and cinnamon was eyeballed, and butter was supplemented with olive oil as I only had 3Tbsp of butter left in the stick. Also, I had no fresh parsley so subbed approx. 1 Tbsp dried parsley. Took someone else's advice and just used ketchup in place of the tomato paste. I questioned the cinnamon a bit last night as it wasn't a bad flavor, but was certainly obvious. BUT. The flavors had a chance to meld overnight and the leftovers taste fantastic. AND. My extremely picky son ate every. single. bite. of this, even though he accused me of withholding information regarding the amount of vegetables in the dish (picky, picky...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
So good! Worth all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Chicken, Sausage and Peppers

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Tasted great, but I agree with some of the others that there was too much meat. Next time I am going to try just 4 chicken thighs, and 1/2 pound of chorizo. We couldn't find linguica sausage, but the chorizo worked well. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Thornell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Oak, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Mousse Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I used this recipe for chocolate frosting and used chocolate pudding. It was the perfect texture although I used only 2 cups of cool whip. It needed a bit more of a chocolate flavor. I may try adding some cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzgnewton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I lightly coat the fries with EVOO and bake them on parchment paper lined sheet or on a silicone liner for the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I had some left over roast chicken from Wal-Mart deli and Feta that needed to be used. Used the search feature and this came up. My wife and I really loved it. Served with leaf lettuce for an informal build it yourself lettuce wrap.Definitely a keeper.I made no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States