Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I love this recipe! I like to double the recipe then roll out a rectangle And top it like a pizza, but roll it And cut it like cinnamon rolls. After I bake them I freeze most of them so my kids can have pizza rolls as snacks sometimes. The crust is perfect. I tried to create my own for years And it always turned out bad. This one is so easy, And even easier if you have a bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambershahin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bubba's Jambalaya

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Fabulous! I did take other's advice to cook the rice separately. I did have to tweak it a little bit based on the ingredients I had on hand, but not much, and it didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Irish Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow! What a great flavor! The only change I made is that I used ground beef instead of lamb. I was a little apprehensive about the different seasonings coming together, but it was definitely a flavor I wouldn't change! I would also suggest using Dubliner® cheese and not an American cheddar...it really does make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Dairy Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
First of all...if you like pound cake, this is the ultimate recipe. It is extremely dense and buttery. It has just the right amount of sweetness and doesn't need a frosting, although I used a buttercream to top it off. I made no changes other than I baked it in a 10" spring form pan, since I don't have a Bundt® pan. Baked at 300 for an hour and 10 minutes. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christal Lyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonton Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I give this recipe 4 stars as it is written; however, after following some of the suggestions of the reviewers, I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could! As per the reviews, we added soy sauce, grated fresh ginger, and just a drop of sesame oil to further flavor the broth. Per the reviews, we also boiled the wontons first and then added them to the broth to avoid murkiness. Now that we have made this often, we have tried other ground meats - such as ground turkey or ground chicken and have often omitted the shrimp if we do not have any on hand. We cannot honestly state that we notice a large taste difference without the shrimp. This recipe is amazing and just so versatile! We freeze a big bag of these and either use them in broth, sear them in a pan and then finish off steaming them in the same pan to enjoy the wontons as pot stickers (sear on high for one minute - flipping wontons over to brown each side and then add enough water to just cover the bottom of the pan, cover, and reduce heat for 6-7 minutes), or we encourage our teenager to just make her own broth (usually hot water and a Ramen seasoning packet) and just drop a few frozen wontons in as her own meal. Don't let making homemade wontons intimidate you; we conquered this recipe the first time and just watched a simple video on YouTube for folding techniques. Love love love that my family can now make and customize these and freeze them to use them so many different ways. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy R. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Absolutely the best short ribs I've ever made. I made this over two evenings, one to brown the ribs and make the sauce and the second one to cook in the oven. They were so tender and delicious my husband asked my why I have never made them for him before. I used the leftover ribs and sauce to make beef and noodles the next night. Thank you chef John for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apricot Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Fantastic and easy recipe. I used olive oil instead of butter because it was faster. Beautifully browned and tender piece of pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Apple Slab Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe and it's easier to slice and serve than a round pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Crawfish-Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I must have got a batch of extra hot jalapenos because the heat overpowered everything else which was disappointing. I will definitely use smaller peppers next time and might even try doing this with pablano's for more of a chile rellenos type stuffed pepper. These are time consuming so plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Triple Mushroom and Carrot Medley

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was excellent and any combo of mushrooms would work nicely. Next time I make it I might add some water chestnuts to the mix for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Quick Ginger Pork Stir Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made as written and although I would have preferred fresh veggies over the frozen, it was perfect for a night in which I was pressed for time. The pork stayed SUPER tender and even after being reheated the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Mixed Beans and More

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I'm a little torn on how to rate this recipe. It pulled up under the soup search and bean soup is what I was wanting. If I would have paid closer attention before rushing to the store I would have realized there was not enough liquid to be a soup. That is no fault to the recipe submitter since they are not trying to pass it off as a soup. That being said, I made as written to start out with only one substitution which was celery in place of the bell peppers because I like celery in my bean "soup". I left out the optional corn and used our preferred bean blend. This would make for a very good pork and beans type dinner. It was a little too sweet for my liking but then again I don't care for the traditional pork and beans/barbeque beans. I think this would be an excellent dish to take to a potluck and probably the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chicken Katsu

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Winner winner chicken dinner! Made as written except that I used chicken breast tenderloins so that I didn't have to do any pounding. These turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Caramelized Frog Legs

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made as written and this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I loved it! I made 3 cups of rice, and 2 1/2 cups of water, 1 each of the soups, and I used whole chicken instead of chunk. But, I had to fry the chicken to get it done, had to cook the rice uncovered, and had to double the cook time. But in the end, the taste was fabulous, hence, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMCGEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Paris, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Butter Noodles

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Wonderful noodles, exactly what I was looking for. I made them exactly as written and they do roll out beautifully. I haven't made noodles for years so had forgotten what went in them. The butter was a brilliant idea. My husband doesn't much care for noodles and he loved these! Thanks for sharing your Mother-in-law's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Healthier Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and this was delish! I made another batch but used a different "heat" source and it was delicious too. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Andouille, Shrimp, and Chicken Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and my only complaint was that this was just a tad too spicy and salty. I think the Tony's should be cut back to one tablespoon and that would solve both issues. Other than that, this was perfect. Cooking the rice in broth makes all the difference in the world when it comes to flavor. Thanks for sharing Mandybelcanto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chinese Pork Dumplings

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made as written and these turned out perfect! The dish is not complete without the dipping sauce so don't skip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Pan Fried Daikon Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I must not have drained my radishes enough because my mixture ended up being too wet to form into patties. I added a little more breadcrumbs and then pressed the mix into small rectangular dishes and stuck them in the freezer for an hour before trying to fry. These turned out very good. I think I will try adding diced shrimp next time for added flavor but good as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States