Arkansas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I lightly coat the fries with EVOO and bake them on parchment paper lined sheet or on a silicone liner for the sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flippin, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Feta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I had some left over roast chicken from Wal-Mart deli and Feta that needed to be used. Used the search feature and this came up. My wife and I really loved it. Served with leaf lettuce for an informal build it yourself lettuce wrap.Definitely a keeper.I made no changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Lyn's Chill Chaser Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I have a couple of suggestions for this recipe that I think will be helpful. First of all I was extremely impressed with how much flavor came out of something I put so little effort into. To make things more simple, there is no need to dirty up 3 pots and it can all be done in one. Brown your sausage in your soup pot and then add all other ingredients except the pasta and the parm. Add your pasta to the pot in the last 10-15 minutes cooking time and there you go. One thing I highly recommend is to skip the butter altogether. The sausage and pepperoni yield plenty of grease (almost too much) and the butter is simply not needed. While this is SO simple and effortless for all of the flavor it packs, I think adding some fresh herb such as parsley, basil, oregano, etc. would step the flavor up even that much more. If you were so inclined to chop up some green bell pepper I think that would work nicely too. I used Ditalini pasta because that is what I had but imagine any dry pasta would work just fine. If you like pizza and you like soup that appears you have fussed over it for hours, give this one a try. Thanks for sharing FISHINLYN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Char Siu (Chinese BBQ Pork)

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Added garlic. Baked whole at 350 for 1.5 hours. Basted halfway through cooking time. Let set 5 minutes and sliced thin diagonally. Served with hot mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Hot Shrimp Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I wish I would have read the reviews before making this one. I squeezed out as much water out of my shrimp as I could both before chopping and after I chopped it and my finished dip was still watery. It looked pretty when I pulled it out of the oven but as soon as you got past the top layer of cheese it was sitting in water and oil. Adding cream cheese would have been a quick fix but I didn't have any so I stirred it around until the top layer of cheese melted into the dip and then just kept adding cheese and sticking it into the micro until it was thick enough to spoon onto toast. Because of all the added cheese to thicken, this didn't have a dominant shrimp flavor as it should have. This dip has potential but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Chipotle Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've made these many times throughout the years and I love them. I recommend using only one chipotle pepper though unless you like things super spicy. I went ahead and used two this go around and I will be going back to one. Also if you only use one, you can replace pepperjack cheese for the white cheddar which is nice variety too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

NO YOLKS® Noodles Romanoff

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
We enjoyed this recipe! Great side dish. The creaminess and warmth are lovely on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

BLOTCHE aka Widow maker

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Made as written except that I only had plain white bread and I also chose to only butter one side of the bread and leave the bacon grease out of it. LOVED the flavor the green onions made melted with the cheese. The one problem I did have was getting my cheese to melt but that might have been fault to my cheap bread which browned so quick. This is one you wouldn't want to eat on a weekly basis but it sure makes for a nice treat once in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Leek and Onion Vegetable Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This was super simple and tasted ten times better than any pre-made onion soup dip. I really liked the deep onion flavor the leek soup mix gave it. The one thing I thought this recipe was missing was some color. I think a teaspoon of chopped fresh herbs would really make this dip pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cajun Potato Wedges

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Not sure what makes these Cajun but these are all of the ingredients I use when I fry potatoes in a skillet for breakfast so I thought why not? Mine got a little too done however I cut them in hearts for Valentines Day instead of wedges as the recipe calls for so mine were much thinner and it was my own fault for not checking on them more frequently. Great basic recipe for roasted potatoes in the oven. Get creative and add some herbs if you dare...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Egg in a Boat

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
These were super fun. I used a heart for Valentines. I suggest adding the egg as soon as you flip the bread or else the bread will burn in the time it takes for the egg to set. Another hint is to crack your egg ahead of time and place it in a shallow bowl. That way it is ready go and also it will slide out of the bowl easily and fill the hole more uniformly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

NO YOLKS® Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I eat a lot of soup and chicken noodle is one i feel should be kept simple and straight forward and that is exactly what this one is. What impressed me even more was the NO YOLKS noodles. Unless you are feeding a large number of people, you're always going to have leftovers when you make a big pot of soup and leftover soups with noodles can be challenging. Not with these noodles! They stopped absorbing the broth as soon as the soup was cool and my leftovers were just as good as when it first came off of the stove. I will never use any other noodle again when making soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Panko Crusted Halibut with White Serrano and Cilantro Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made one substitution which was fresh catfish caught from my pond in place of the halibut. This was tasty but I do think there is room for improvement. I only coated one side of the fish with panko and I think coating both sides is a must and there is plenty of egg/panko to do it. I had problems with the sauce. I am not sure what I did wrong but it never did thicken. I went ahead and served it as is instead of taking the time to manually thicken it and it tasted fine but was not visually appealing. I loved the crunch the fish had and I will make this recipe again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I always add Ro Tel & throw some kielbasa in it. YUMmmm.. It's a party in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
We loved these meatballs. Recipe is spot on for flavors. I enjoyed them more the second day after sitting in marinara all night. I used two pounds of beef and a #40 portioner/scoop and it made about 40 meatballs. Such a hit and my first time making homemade meatballs. Thank you LTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

NO YOLKS® Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I have never been a big fan of stroganoff due to the overwhelming sour cream taste the ones I've tried in the past have had. This recipe changed that for me. I'm not sure if it was the actual cooking method or the addition of tomato paste but the flavors were deep and the sour cream did not overpower. This was delicious! I was even more impressed with how well the NO Yolks noodles held their shape. This is comfort food at its finest and a recipe I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Kristin's Creamy Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is so good u wonder why u never made it before. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Phelps Babcock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gassville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Better Than Ice Cream Baked Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made a couple of changes based on personal preference. Baked beans are a little too sweet for our liking and with the addition of brown sugar and ketchup we wouldn't have cared for them at all. I swapped out some of the baked beans for pinto's and then cut the brown sugar and ketchup in half. Because I cut some of the called for liquid out, I did not drain my chili beans or one can of my pinto's. 45 minutes uncovered at 350 degrees gets these pretty thick but the bacon flavor comes through nicely. This is one you can play around with until you get the perfect combo that suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Tongue and Mustard Sandwiches

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I could only find rye already sliced so I just made a regular sandwich. I agree that the tongue needed a little more seasoning than what the recipe calls for. Add a little of whatever you like and use when making a beef roast and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Pistachio-Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have a little bit of a mixed review here so I am going with 4 star. Pistachio's are $10 a pound here and then you have the hassle of getting the shell off before chopping. I could taste them yes but were they worth it in the end? To me, no. I would have been just as content by adding more cheddar and calling it good. Hubby on the other hand enjoyed the pistachio addition very much. Maybe I just don't care for my nuts to be be warm and softened? Give them a try and you decide for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States