Wheeling, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar)

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is by far one of the tastiest versions I've had of swedish meatballs. I wouldn't change a thing! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlinscarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I'm speechless. Literally. This dressing is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlinscarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Make it for my family they think it is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love It
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Savory Italian Sausage Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Love it! I halved the cooking time, since I was using it for a lasagna, so it was going to cook another 40 minutes in the oven anyway. The sausage I chose was fresh sweet Italian. I used fresh basil and oregano, rather than dried. Overall: a savory, sweet and complex result! I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The first time I made this, I made it just as the recipe stated (with the tiny exception of switching the walnuts for pecans.) It turned out perfect! Moist, with a delicious sweetness (definitely not too sweet), dark golden brown in color. The second time I made it, I skipped the nuts, per the request of a family member who doesn't like them and added mini chocolate chips. That loaf turned out perfect as well- the mini chocolate chips melt into the bread and make it even more moist with all the delicious little pockets of chocolate. The next go around I did pecans and mini chocolate chips- best loaf yet. This is my new go to recipe for zucchini bread. Side note- do not drain the zucchini. That is where the moisture comes from. Before you add the zucchini, the dough will resemble cookie dough in constistency- the second you start to stir in the zucchini it thins out and you can pour the batter into the pans. And you can really pack in the zucchini when measuring. The more the better. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I left them alone until they had browned well before trying to turn them so they wouldn't fall apart. I gave this recipe just 4 stars because I added about half a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to mine for that flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
wow,,, great soup,,, will fix it again,, hubby and I enjoyed while watching super bowl,,,also had some hummus & garlic tortillas,,, yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vidalia Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
WOW,,,This is awesome,,,My Family loves it ,,,I will make this alot more....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I love this ,,so did the family,,great way for some veggies to be added into lil ones lives,,I have made this twice,,and did a lil tweak,, I like ricotta and I also diced small amount of celery and sprinkled in a layer,, also used some can chicken shredded up in sauce,, each time Family loves it,,, Thanks I will make it many more times in the future,,,oh also travels well,,,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Corn Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I was looking for a copycat recipe for the sweet corn cake you get at El Torito Mexican restaurants and I found it with this! I absolutely love this side dish. The flavor is phenomenal. Usually I make a creamed corn casserole for Thanksgiving, but I am skipping it this year and I am going to have to make this instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7

Honey-Mustard Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I love making this the healthy way, using whole wheat noodles. I use fat free mayo, skim milk, and don't use the egg yolks. I also up the veggies (and sometimes add diced carrots and/or apples) and up the honey mustard to 1/2 a cup when I make it low-fat, to give it a little extra zing. Using fat free mayo does change the flavor, which is why I up the honey mustard. People don't even know it's low fat when I make it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7

Nina's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
The original recipe for this called for 3 cucumbers. Because my grandparents had their own garden, they always used homegrown vegetables, which were grown without pesticides and picked before the deer and animals could get them. This means that they were smaller than the cucumbers you often find in the grocery store today. Because of this, you may need to increase the sour cream in this recipe, depending on how much cucumber you have. When I mnade this using 3 large cucumbers from the grocery store, I ended up putting a cup of sour cream. Adjust accordingly and also to your personal preferences. The best way to make this is to add what you like! More dill, less onion, greek yogurt... This is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7

Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles)

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This recipe does not have to be made with egg noodles. Rigatoni, shells, even wagon wheel noodles are all equally delicious with it. I use whatever I have on hand. This dish is also yummy leftover, but some of the cottage cheese will soak or melt into the noodles so I like to add an additional scoop of cottage cheese in when I reheat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandilynn7

Peanut Butter Potato Candy

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe from grandma (I think it came from a cookbook from the 1960's) but honestly my family does not measure the peanut butter- we just spread a nice, thick layer on it (more than the recipe calls for). You definitely want to sprinkle a generous amount of powdered sugar out on the cutting board or waxed paper when rolling out the dough. The dough can be sticky, but adding more powdered suar will fix this- do not add additional milk or vanilla and use thick, homemade mashed potaoes for the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandilynn7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Made these potatoes for dinner last night using fresh rosemary and it was wonderful. Served with beef tenderloin and roasted brussell sprouts, also from this site. Wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Love this salad dressing! I made it as written, without the optional pinch of sugar, and it was delicious. Great in a tossed salad, wraps and as a basting sauce. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious!!! I took the advice of another reviewer and sweat the eggplant and baked at 450F. But other than that, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Such a great recipe! I took the advice of some other reviewers and sauteed onion, carrot and celery in the pot before adding the broth, water and chicken. I also used whole milk in place of cream, and cut back on the butter a bit. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Instead of ground beef, I used Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Beef -- which uses chuck roast. It was amazing. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States