Morgantown, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Stuffed Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I've made these several times for Jason and myself as a light lunch or dinner. I've made them by Anita's original recipe, and I've also made the following changes: I've added shredded swiss cheese and chopped onions and red and yellow peppers as well as green. I've added a chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper to the mix. I've substituted cubed cooked ham and also cubes of kielbasa instead of bacon. And I've replaced the Parmesan with Ricotta for a richer filling. I'm convinced that there is no way to mess this recipe up-it turns out perfect every time. Thanks Anita-your recipe is great as is, but serves VERY well as a foundation for changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

Dandelion Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
When I was in my late teens, I remember my mother used to take a green plastic colander out into the back yard and come back with it full of the dandelion greens. And, with the simple addition of some tomato, cucumber, and onion, she made a top grade salad. She made her own sweet and sour type dressing for it and it was delicious. And so I have tried this recipe. And it is also delicious, and brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

Impossible Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
For just around the house as something sweet to have available for me and my housemates, the 9" pie is great. However, doing a little experimentation, I doubled the recipe and baked it in one of those foil cake pans for a covered dish dinner. It went before any of the other desserts that were brought. Many asked what it was, and most had never heard of buttermilk pie before. I was asked many times for the recipe that evening. Now, when I need to bake something for a covered dish or progressive dinner, or any social event, this is my go-to just by increasing the amount I bake, or whenever I don't have ingredients for something really impressive on hand and I'm pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

Peanut Butter Easter Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe is very much like my peanut butter ball recipe. Everyone's pictures were so cute. I just wanted to leave a tip. Use your slow cooker to melt your chocolate. It prevents worrying about the hot water. An extra plus, you can work at a better space than your stove. We always use Hershey bars with a small piece of canning wax to coat our candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bolyard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cocoa Ice Cream

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
First time making this recipe. It's my favorite chocolate ice cream so far. The texture and sweetness is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Chocolate Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
While this is very nice, it certainly isn't "Very Chocolate." I think I'll try it again, with substantially more cocoa and boil it in a little coffee before adding the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is my first time making these cookies, as I love no-bake peanut butter cookies. I watched the video to be on the safe side and followed the 2 minute boiling directions. The cookies turned out great! I may leave out or reduce the coco to get more peanut butter flavor next time. I used skim milk and real butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was my first time making this recipe and they were good. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I was first introduced to these bars at a cookie exchange. Since I love pecan pie these were a hit. A hint when ever making a crumbly crust and or sticky, gooey filling: I use nonstick aluminum foil. This is the best invention since post-it-notes. It causes the crust to come together. The gooey part releases after browning. The added bonus is lifting the whole thing out of the pan using the foil. It is so much easier to cut into bars and there is no damage to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was much too sweet even with reducing the sugar to 3/4 cup, and the topping about double what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izzymae30

Six Egg Pound Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This cake is fabulous. I made the recipe as written and used a 10" tube pan. I did substitute Watkins Hazelnut Flavoring for the vanilla. I ate the last piece after a week and it was still delicious. Thank you so much for this recipe. I look forward to using it for strawberry shortcake. Update: This cake freezes beautifully. The taste and texture loses nothing and is still wonderful and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Drop Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These were wonderful. Great texture and buttery flavor. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Bars I

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made these 4 or 5 times. Flavor is great! I chose this recipe because it uses the highest pumpkin to flour/sugar ratio of any recipe. I've had equally good results with 1.5 t of soda and powder, and a little less chemical tasting. I'd like to try it with 1 less egg, just to see if it ends up slightly less cake-like, although it hasn't bothered me so far! I frost these with the Cream cheese frosting II recipe, on this site. We've made these for recitals, baby/wedding showers, and just to enjoy on a slow weekend. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This isn't exactly what I was looking for, but it's close and it'll do and it tastes good. Next time, I'll use fresh onion & an extra teaspoon of honey, and mix with the mini food processor or immersion blender, with oil drizzled in to make a nicer emulsion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Quick Chicken and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Easy enough but don't like multiple pans/bowls prepping the food! Would be great if you had leftover chicken, already cooked. Used 1 box of stuffing and one bag of broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe for many years. My sons love it. In the early years I always had most of the crumbs left in the pan when cutting. I then discovered non-stick aluminum foil. This is the most necessary ingredient. Line your pan and bake. When cool using the foil lift out and you can cut into squares with no damage to the pan and the crumbs stick together perfectly. These bars are so delicious and are so pretty on a cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very Tasty...Made it for a Pasta Bar and received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
K. These were good. But... I could kind of taste the pudding flavor, which isn't my favorite flavor in a chocolate chip cookie. Also, This is more of a cake-like cookie. I tend to prefer the big chewy choco chip cookie recipe, because I like crispy edges with chewy insides more than cake-like cookies. Just a preference thing I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boiled Raisin Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe is saving my sanity. Having been snowed in for 2 weeks and still snowing, I was looking for something to bake. I had made this before and really liked it. I have no eggs so it is perfect. I follow the recipe exactly and it is quick, easy and most importantly, delicious. Thank you Marcie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States