Charleston, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hungarian Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
If I could rate this 100 stars, I would. This soup was the most amazing I've ever tasted. I didn't deviate from the recipe at all and ended up eating 2 bowls myself while my husband ate the rest. Superb! Amazing! Get over the fact that it isn't the color of most soups and enjoy! Will definitely be making this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Baked Ziti

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Great recipe! The only change I would make is to saute the onion and garlic in with the sausage as it is being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good recipe, but not exceptional. It was well-received at a pot luck. I substituted 1/4 c. Kahlua for the instant coffee and added caramel ice cream topping between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake has great flavor and texture. Very moist and delicious. However, a cream cheese frosting would, in my opinion, be too overwhelming. Instead, I used a simple caramel glaze (1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. light brown sugar, 1 tbsp. milk or cream; bring to boil over medium heat then glaze cake). Everyone loved this cake with the caramel glaze. In the future, since I omitted the pecan cream cheese frosting, I would add more walnuts to the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Harvest Pound Cake with Caramel Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The glaze is phenomenal and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gooey Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Fabulous! The most eaten cookie at my work cookie party. I gave the recipe out at least 15 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sinfully Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is to die for, and is versatile enough you can use spaghetti sauce instead of Alfredo! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crock Pot Mac n Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is my favorite Mac an cheese recipe! I also add dried mustard powder and Cayenne pepper. I double and triple it for holidays, and never seem to come home with any! Its never dry, and is always so yummy! 1 tip is to add a little extra milk after the noodles are in the dish, so it just covers them.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was a pretty fair recipe. The cookies turned out nice and soft. I exchanged 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the same amount of white sugar. I did think they could have used a little something. Next batch I will add some cinnamon or maybe some cloves. Over all these cookies were pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Other than the bit of instructions that are not quite specific about cook time, this turned out perfectly. I made sure to start timing when a rolling boil was reached and used a candy thermometer as well. 7 minutes was perfect time. Remember do not stir at all while it is in the rolling boil stage. I mixed in the marshmallow creme first, then the peanut butter and vanilla. This all must be done quickly and poured out fast, so have everything ready. Very sweet, exactly how we love our fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pretzel Rings

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
It doesn't get any easier than this! Festive, fast & yummy too! I didn't grease the pan, just used parchment paper. The hardest part is unwrapping the Hershey kisses! Thank you Kim Scurio for sharing your recipe and I plan to pay it forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is like WHOA good. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone. I've made it the original way and I've used it as a base to make various other chocolate chip cookies. They are ALWAYS good. ALWAYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELBOBWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Apple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I cooked the apples first with extra brown sugar, cinnamon and sherry and added a bit of nutmeg. When the apples were pretty soft, I put them in the bottom of the pan. Then seared the pork chops, added onto the apples and baked for an hour. But the flavors are so amazing. The whole entire pan was eaten. Even my 5 year old ate the chops AND the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had 3 over-ripe bananas and no brown sugar so I searched and found this recipe. I made a 12-serving size, one loaf and it was delicious. This is the best banana recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBGREY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannelton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this using light sour cream and light cream cheese, they were delicious and a huge hit at potluck Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fabulous and easy recipe. My husband rated this one "a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K. Farley Barton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Shrimp and Grits

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Followed recipe pretty closely after readng reviews. Minor changes, used what I had,red onions, more garlic, a little less cheese (jack and cheddar) some andouillee. i drained rotel tomatoes into measring cup and added chicken reduced sodium broth to make 3 1/2 c. liquid to cook grits. only cooked grits a few minutes, stirring constantly cause i used instant grits. added small amount of cajn creole seasonng to grits with the cheese and then poured skillet mixture on top and mixed lightly and baked about 20 min. husband loved it. it'sgood and really easy and i had everything on hand. thanks for good football watching food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Macaroni Salad II

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was an awsome recipe! The texture of the fruit and the pasta was very pleasing and the taste was quite a lovely fruity flavor. Husband and I both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I am going to try it with eggplant next time. It was so yummy. I had some of the mix left over and put it in croissants. they are great for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pas19693

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I used mango nectur in stead of the orange juice and the flavor was wonderful! This is is keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States