Charleston, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salsafied Chicken and Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This couldn't be any quicker to make. Added paprika & cumin as others did to the browning chicken (used Tyson diced frozen chicken -- so easy!) Followed remainder of recipe as is and found it a little bland. Could be due to the mild salsa I used. So I added 2 tsp diced jalapeno, 1 tbsp Cilantro and 10 drops Tobasco. Now we're talkin'. Decided I would throw in a can of diced tomatoes in the juice and a can of rinsed corn as others did. It is now delicious and with just enough of a kick -- not too spicy. Going to serve corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vicki's Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
i THINK A PROBLEM SOME PEOPLE ARE USING UNSWEETENED OFF-BRAND, I USED JIFFY CORN MUFFIN MIX AND THE RECOMMENDED SUGAR AMOUNT. THEY TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. MY FIANCE SAID IT WAS THE BEST THING THAT THEY EVER TASTED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punes9091

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar 'n' Spice Nuts

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is the best recipe for spiced nuts! I added 1/4-1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and it was perfect. Forgot the orange peel and don't miss it, I may add that in when I make it next time for comparison. My husband loves these. I baked the nuts about 25-30 minutes and the nuts in the middle of the sheet pan were more gooey (I did stir them at 10 minute intervals). I think I would turn the oven off and let them sit in the oven for about 5 minutes. I used non-stick Reynolds foil and it worked great. Easy to get off even after the nuts had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent and very tasty! We are a family of 4 so I halved the recipe which worked very well. There was plenty of marinade to cover 4 medium-sized steaks. We will be using this marinade again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This did not thicken hardly at all for me. I cook a lot and the directions are straightforward, so I don't know what the deal is. I heated my butter until it was bubbling and poured it in a thin stream while blending as directed, but it was very thin when finished. I enjoyed the flavor, but might cut back just a touch on the lemon juice next time. Oh, and I'll use the old-fashioned double boiler method to get the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Well, I must say this is an okay starter recipe, but definitely not a 5-star as is. I had to add more soup to have enough sauce. I used fresh mushrooms rather than canned and thought that was a dramatic improvement. I also added some garlic powder for seasoning. The beef was still quite tough after an hour of baking. The whole thing had a bit of a Hamburger Helper feel to me. I appreciate the easiness of the recipe, but I was looking for something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are great! I accidentally put 1 1/2 tbsp. instead of tsp. of sugar and doubled the blueberries. I didn't add the butter to the batter, but they turned out great anyway. A very forgiving recipe. I recommend doubling the blueberries and using fresh instead of frozen. These were a great Valentine's Day treat for my boyfriend. He loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Salad Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I now have to make this for my husband at least twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scandinavian Sweetheart Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe turned out delicious! I am not one for thick belgian waffles, and these thinner Scandinavian waffles are a better, healthier alternative. I did not have any vanilla sugar, so I simply substituted vanilla extract. Definitely keeping this one in mind for future breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunniebuns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Cakes III

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is a good recipe. I always drain the salmon though. You also can use a handful of finely crushed saltine crackers instead of bread in a pinch. Like several other reviewers, I fry these in olive oil as I prefer the flavor. Lastly, I splash them with cider vinegar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soy Sauce Substitute

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was the closest I could get to regular soy sauce (my wife is allergic to soy, so this was a god-send). I eliminated the bouillon and water, used home made chicken stock instead, and added salt to compensate. Next time I make it, though, I'll probably let it reduce down more to concentrate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a fine pancake mix, but nothing exceptional. The flavor is a little lacking, and I found the batter a little too thick for me. Adding a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple of tablespoons of milk helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breaded Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used to made this year's ago but I'd forgotten about it and how good it is. I did change it up a little...used Panko bread crumbs (didn't have corn flakes on hand). It was really tasty! Thanks -- will keep it in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Dish Jambalaya

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I understand the idea is to try and make a quick version of a slow cooked dish, but I didn't care for this. There was no spice or kick to it, and the flavor profile was way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

123 Mocha 2 Go

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe and so nice to have it on hand for when company stops by. I too opt to leave the cinnamon out of the mix, but rather add a bit of whip cream on top of each mug and finish with a sprinkle of cinnamon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The oven step is unnecessary if you are using babybacks, which is always my preferred variety. (less waste so they actually end up as cheap or cheaper than spare ribs) The sauce......to each his own but as other reviews have said...tastes too much like just catsup..Stick with your own recipe or use a premium store bought sauce. (IMHO).....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Definitely do yourself a favor and make a quick homemade alfredo sauce instead of using the jarred stuff. There are a couple of great recipes on here for homemade alfredo. They only take a few extra minutes, but the results are well worth it. I, like several others, used a rotisserie chicken with great results. Nice recipe. It was well received by all who tried it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Style Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This cornbread is very tasty. My friends all loved it. However, I had to bake it around 50 minutes and it was still pretty mushy in the center, so allow a little extra time or make it in a larger dish than an 8" square. Also, I'm not a big fan of the cheese on top. Next time, I'll just mix it all together. Also, maybe a little less onion might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I liked it, my husband was just okay with and wished it had a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
It was pretty good. Sauce was a little to strong compared to the taste of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States