Charleston, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Good taste, but really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it has a texture my family just doesn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Amazing, it even tasted good with the $5 fillets in a package from Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummingbird Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Everybody at my home loves this cake. It's a bit of my "go to" cake since it's so easy to put together, and I generally have all the ingredients on hand. I do tweak it a bit with two small changes. First, I use vegetable oil instead of the canola and cut the oil back to 1 cup. We just like the flavor the vegetable oil gives verses the canola. Secondly, I use a 20 oz can of crused pineapple UNDRAINED. This makes a fairly dense cake, but super moist. Comes out beautifully every time. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I left them alone until they had browned well before trying to turn them so they wouldn't fall apart. I gave this recipe just 4 stars because I added about half a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to mine for that flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have never tasted a banana bread recipe that I like as good as I like this one. I've made mini-loaves to give away during Christmas. It is excellent. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Rider

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good base but I added some celery and pickles along with a pinch of Dill Weed, Parsley and pepper. Turned out Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Tomato Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Just finished eating this dish and it was good. I had to substitute with what I had but loved it! I seasoned the boneless chicken breasts with lemon pepper, tony chachere's season salt, basil, italian season and a little balsamic vinegar. sliced onions and celery stalk and saute until caramelized, Remove from pan and deglaze pan with about 2 tbsp I can't believe it's not butter (no olive oil). Brown chicken breasts then added can of diced tomatoes. Topped with caramelized onions and celery. A little brown sugar to control acidity of tomatoes, chopped broccoli florets. Spoon sauce over broccoli and add chopped fresh garlic. Cover and let steam. Ready in about 20 minutes. Serve over egg noodles!! Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Tardy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have to give this an A+ for quickness, but its not a grilled cheese sandwich. Its more like a toasted cheese sandwich. Good, quick but its no grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Home Made Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I just finished making this. I had to make a change to it due to lack of lemon juice. I doubled the recipe and used 2 T. of apple cider vinegar. It was not as thick as other recipes I have used which was good. It has a good taste and I plan on using it to make some deviled eggs for dinner. Over all I think this is a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am not really rating this recipe, as I haven't tried it, but I plan to and will honestly rate it then. It looks delicious! I am, however, a bit disturbed about the video, which depicts using tongs to place the raw chicken into the skillet, and what appears to be the same tongs to turn the chicken and then take the cooked chicken out of the skillet and place it on the platter, thus allowing for the possibility of contamination. Personally, I never use the same utensils to handle raw chicken and cooked chicken without a thorough cleaning/sanitizing step in between. I'm not trying to be a pain...just trying to protect the health of my fellow allrecipes members. I'll leave 5 stars here now just so I can post this, as I do not want to ruin Behr's ratings, as Behr is not responsible for the video. I would normally have a glass filled with a water/bleach solution handy in order to sanitize the tongs between contacts with the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The best chicken pot pie I've tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bratwurst Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Excellent recipe, this has now been added to our recipe rotation! I added Yukon Gold potatoes to the mix, no celery, and only one can of beans. I used crushed rosemary and cayenne over thyme and basil to really bring out the flavor and the bratwurst were cooked just beforehand in a skillet, beer flavored. I cooked this longer than the recipe calls for, gives the flavors a lot more time to mix together and softens the carrots and potatoes nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is a keeper! I only made a couple changes to it. I mixed the flour in a little at a time. I stopped when the dough started to feel stiff enough. I had little less than 1/4 cup flour left over. Instead of using the full amount of white sugar I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract instead of one. Also I didn't find that these cookies spread much. I only put 6 cookies on each cookie sheet I put in the oven. I do think that I could have squeezed 8 in without any trouble at all. I'm sure my husband will be grinning from ear to ear when he gets home this evening...:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Steelhead Trout

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Easy, different and delicious! Fixing it this week when friends come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montverde, Florida, USA

Puppy Chow I

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I used a 14 oz. box of Corn Chex, but next time, I would decrease the amount of cereal to 12 oz. to ensure more coating for the individual pieces. I also always add vanilla extract to enhance the flavor. Overall, this is a great, easy dessert snack with a simple recipe. It's nice to have on hand during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this cobbler today for my husband and in-laws. I followed the recipe exactly. The breading part had a nice and tasty consistency but 2 cups of fresh blackberries did not make this dessert fruity enough for me. I served it warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream, but there was too much cake to counter the fruit in my opinion. The recipe is quite simple and I will use it again, but next time I will at least double the fruit portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Tartar Sauce I

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I am so happy to have found this recipe! I've been making my own tartar sauce for years, and while it was good, it wasn't what I found in excellent seafood restaurants. However, this tartar sauce is exactly what I've been looking for! It is the addition of the onion that really puts it over the top for me. I grate mine finely. I do not use the full amount of lemon juice, but I do use a squirt, and I always add a little Old Bay for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States