Charleston, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cream Cheese Pickles

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I have made a version of this for a few years now. My only tip is make sure that both your pickles and meat are as dry as possible. It will all stick together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whoopie Pies II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These little cakes are really good. They are very cakes, have a lot of chocolate flavor and are the perfect texture for whoopie pies. This recipe does make a lot, but that was fine for me. I used a small ice cream-like scoop, probably a tablespoon size and they were the perfect size for my needs. I baked them for 9 minutes and that was perfect, soft and cakey. I took them to a Super Bowl party this past weekend and they were a hit. I did not fill them with the filling from this recipe, instead used a filling from the Martha Stewart website, it was more marshmallow-like, which I liked. I will try the filling from this recipe next time because I had to make two batches of the other filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I had no fresh apples so instead I used a 21 ounce can of apple pie filling. Put down first layer. Used a knife in the can to dice up the apple slices, then poured entire can over first layer. Sprinkled it with some cinnamon sugar I keep mixed in the spice cabinet, then put top layer on. Hit the spot! Wish I had a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snowball Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Absolutely love this cake!! The only addition I made was 3/4 cup of chipped walnuts. My family are nut freaks!! It was a great cake to have as an alternative for the non chocolate lovers, since we were also serving the over-the-top rich Candy Bar Cake. I know, right--I didn't know there were actually people who don't like chocolate;). But, honestly it was truly a lite and refreshing cake, and as others have mentioned, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very Very Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
You can freeze this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
It is the same every time no matter what the humidity! It can also be done completely in the microwave if you are in a hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this as a part of a larger breakfast of maple syrup brushed baked bacon, fried potatoes with onions, and scrambled eggs. Made only 1/2 a recipe in a 8x8 casserole and it was more then enough for a group of six to have a serving with two servings remaining. Everyone raved and thought it was delicious!! However, the cream cheese didn't melt through out the casserole as well as I would have hoped. While my sister-in-law said she liked not getting a bite of cream cheesd in each bite, I think I like the suggestion of whipping the cream cheese with some powdered sugar and spreading it on. I believe it may give the dish a more consistent flavor. We were on vacation in a rental condo while making this recipe and I didn't think to buy powdered sugar, but will try that suggestion the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Good taste, but really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it has a texture my family just doesn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Amazing, it even tasted good with the $5 fillets in a package from Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummingbird Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Everybody at my home loves this cake. It's a bit of my "go to" cake since it's so easy to put together, and I generally have all the ingredients on hand. I do tweak it a bit with two small changes. First, I use vegetable oil instead of the canola and cut the oil back to 1 cup. We just like the flavor the vegetable oil gives verses the canola. Secondly, I use a 20 oz can of crused pineapple UNDRAINED. This makes a fairly dense cake, but super moist. Comes out beautifully every time. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I left them alone until they had browned well before trying to turn them so they wouldn't fall apart. I gave this recipe just 4 stars because I added about half a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to mine for that flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have never tasted a banana bread recipe that I like as good as I like this one. I've made mini-loaves to give away during Christmas. It is excellent. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Rider

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good base but I added some celery and pickles along with a pinch of Dill Weed, Parsley and pepper. Turned out Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have to give this an A+ for quickness, but its not a grilled cheese sandwich. Its more like a toasted cheese sandwich. Good, quick but its no grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Home Made Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I just finished making this. I had to make a change to it due to lack of lemon juice. I doubled the recipe and used 2 T. of apple cider vinegar. It was not as thick as other recipes I have used which was good. It has a good taste and I plan on using it to make some deviled eggs for dinner. Over all I think this is a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am not really rating this recipe, as I haven't tried it, but I plan to and will honestly rate it then. It looks delicious! I am, however, a bit disturbed about the video, which depicts using tongs to place the raw chicken into the skillet, and what appears to be the same tongs to turn the chicken and then take the cooked chicken out of the skillet and place it on the platter, thus allowing for the possibility of contamination. Personally, I never use the same utensils to handle raw chicken and cooked chicken without a thorough cleaning/sanitizing step in between. I'm not trying to be a pain...just trying to protect the health of my fellow allrecipes members. I'll leave 5 stars here now just so I can post this, as I do not want to ruin Behr's ratings, as Behr is not responsible for the video. I would normally have a glass filled with a water/bleach solution handy in order to sanitize the tongs between contacts with the food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States