Charleston, West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blue Cheese and Pear Tartlets

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
So many negative reviews was interesting. I have not made these, but I think they need something else, according to the reviews. I am going to mix the chopped pears with some pear preserves to give it the sweetness some reviewers say is missing, plus it adds concentrated pear flavor. It is such an easy app, I will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is NOT supposed to be "Hungarian" Goulash! It is an Americanized version as plainly stated in the recipe description.It is also the way I make mine, and it is very good! There are plenty of recipes on here for Hungarian Goulash if that is what you want. Sue...please don't review a recipe unless you have made it and tried it. If you have not done so, then your review is meaningless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprtsracer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

Simple Strawberry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Needed something quick and easy and this seemed to work almost instantly. I used Ideal sugar substitute instead of sugar and the strawberries and sauce were perfect over a slice of pound cake with a bit of whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pickles

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I have made a version of this for a few years now. My only tip is make sure that both your pickles and meat are as dry as possible. It will all stick together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whoopie Pies II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These little cakes are really good. They are very cakes, have a lot of chocolate flavor and are the perfect texture for whoopie pies. This recipe does make a lot, but that was fine for me. I used a small ice cream-like scoop, probably a tablespoon size and they were the perfect size for my needs. I baked them for 9 minutes and that was perfect, soft and cakey. I took them to a Super Bowl party this past weekend and they were a hit. I did not fill them with the filling from this recipe, instead used a filling from the Martha Stewart website, it was more marshmallow-like, which I liked. I will try the filling from this recipe next time because I had to make two batches of the other filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I had no fresh apples so instead I used a 21 ounce can of apple pie filling. Put down first layer. Used a knife in the can to dice up the apple slices, then poured entire can over first layer. Sprinkled it with some cinnamon sugar I keep mixed in the spice cabinet, then put top layer on. Hit the spot! Wish I had a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snowball Cake I

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Absolutely love this cake!! The only addition I made was 3/4 cup of chipped walnuts. My family are nut freaks!! It was a great cake to have as an alternative for the non chocolate lovers, since we were also serving the over-the-top rich Candy Bar Cake. I know, right--I didn't know there were actually people who don't like chocolate;). But, honestly it was truly a lite and refreshing cake, and as others have mentioned, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very Very Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
You can freeze this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K. Farley Barton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
It is the same every time no matter what the humidity! It can also be done completely in the microwave if you are in a hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K. Farley Barton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this as a part of a larger breakfast of maple syrup brushed baked bacon, fried potatoes with onions, and scrambled eggs. Made only 1/2 a recipe in a 8x8 casserole and it was more then enough for a group of six to have a serving with two servings remaining. Everyone raved and thought it was delicious!! However, the cream cheese didn't melt through out the casserole as well as I would have hoped. While my sister-in-law said she liked not getting a bite of cream cheesd in each bite, I think I like the suggestion of whipping the cream cheese with some powdered sugar and spreading it on. I believe it may give the dish a more consistent flavor. We were on vacation in a rental condo while making this recipe and I didn't think to buy powdered sugar, but will try that suggestion the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Chimi in the Oven

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Good taste, but really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it has a texture my family just doesn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Amazing, it even tasted good with the $5 fillets in a package from Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummingbird Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Everybody at my home loves this cake. It's a bit of my "go to" cake since it's so easy to put together, and I generally have all the ingredients on hand. I do tweak it a bit with two small changes. First, I use vegetable oil instead of the canola and cut the oil back to 1 cup. We just like the flavor the vegetable oil gives verses the canola. Secondly, I use a 20 oz can of crused pineapple UNDRAINED. This makes a fairly dense cake, but super moist. Comes out beautifully every time. Happy Baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I left them alone until they had browned well before trying to turn them so they wouldn't fall apart. I gave this recipe just 4 stars because I added about half a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to mine for that flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have never tasted a banana bread recipe that I like as good as I like this one. I've made mini-loaves to give away during Christmas. It is excellent. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Rider

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very good base but I added some celery and pickles along with a pinch of Dill Weed, Parsley and pepper. Turned out Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
These were Fantastic--I made them for my Church Easter Sunrise Breakfast---The First thing to go on the Food Table----No Leftovers and Folks were asking for more---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyb55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States