West Virginia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fried Cornmeal Mush

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This was delicious but did not set up very well. Not sure if I didn't cook it long enough or if it needs less water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Quick Chicken and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Easy enough but don't like multiple pans/bowls prepping the food! Would be great if you had leftover chicken, already cooked. Used 1 box of stuffing and one bag of broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
First off I made this recipe (as written) so many times last summer as a way to make use of our massive eggplant harvest. It is delicious and simple just the way it is. However, my husband and I live 40 minutes from town and sometimes I was out of one thing or another so I've made many substitutions that work just as well as the original. In place of the red wine vinegar I've had to use rice and white. Both tasted just as good as using the red. Apple cider vinegar didn't cut it though. It might be a food sin but in a pinch I've used bottled hot sauce for the fresh green chile pepper. I've left out the salt completely and mixed in just a drop of sesame oil for additional flavor. You can also halve the sugar. I've also added just a splash of water to thin the sauce itself and make it go farther. And heck over the winter with eggplant out of season, I've made the sauce and tossed it with cooked black soybeans to serve alongside fried rice (or even over spaghetti). The original recipe is AMAZING in addition to being adaptable and forgiving of tweaking. Sometimes I just make it as written. The point is don't be afraid to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is the best creamy tomato basil soup we have ever had! It is a favorite of the whole family, especially my children, who request it often. The original recipe is the best, but if you don't have heavy whipping cream on hand, milk (any fat content) can be substituted. while the flavor remains the same, just know that the thickness will decrease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Amazingly simple and delicious! An incredibly easy recipe for someone who appreciates a gourmet taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow...I couldn't stop eating this with the crispy onions, which I fried in coconut oil. I added garam masala and vegetable bouillon with the lentils while they cooked. The only other change was that I cooked the rice separately so that I could spoon the lentils over it. The only complaint I have is that I ate too much and now I'm stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I've never cared much for the guacamole that I've tried at various Mexican places I've been to but I've made this recipe twice now. The first time was just "ok", I didn't have fresh lime or cilantro. I made it again today with all fresh ingredients, including fresh lime & cilantro and it is so good! We did opt out on the tomatoes since neither me nor my daughter like them but the flavor (and difference the fresh ingredients make) was amazing. We'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crazy Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I can't believe some of the reviews. This cake is by far the best I have ever made. I use it for everything.. I up the coco to 1 cup but other than that I think the other bakers must have missed something.. Thank you for sharing.. Now I am off to make cake #2 :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate1118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MichelleQ

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person)

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I brushed the egg rolls with olive oil and baked them in a 425* oven for 15 minutes. I didn't use bamboo or mushrooms, used what I had. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe was a huge hit at my house. I used one large glass casserole dish for it instead of a bunch of little pans. I did have to cook it almost 30 mins longer though. I also added 16 oz strawberry banana yogurt instead of sour cream. It turned out more cake like, but we loved it. The whole thing was gone in 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I was able to cut the calories a bit by using light sour cream and 2 packages of neufchatel (reduced fat) cream cheese, along with a package of regular cream cheese. Served with a dollop of green tinted whipped cream for St. Patrick's Day! I prevented cracking by keeping the cake in the turned-off oven for about an hour after baking, then propping the door open for another hour. I might try a wee bit more Irish Cream the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Colcannon

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful side dish!!! I followed some of the previous suggestions and added extra salt and a longer bake time. It was amazing and my kids lived it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKARAVANIC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe for many years. My sons love it. In the early years I always had most of the crumbs left in the pan when cutting. I then discovered non-stick aluminum foil. This is the most necessary ingredient. Line your pan and bake. When cool using the foil lift out and you can cut into squares with no damage to the pan and the crumbs stick together perfectly. These bars are so delicious and are so pretty on a cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These were good and tasted perfect. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
YUMMY! It was so good and tasty! My family loved it a lot. I shredded my chicken instead of cubed, other than that I followed exactly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash Saute

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Not bad for the first time trying this squash. I'm trying to get more veggies in my family's diet, so new things are needed here. It is pretty tasty, but too much garlic for me. I will put less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
A little too tangy for me but not bad. I will need to tone down the balsamic next time. Did mine in the oven on rack with pan to catch drippings. Mushrooms were done in the right amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Okra

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Perfect! I will only use this recipe for my okra. Also it works so well on fried green beans! Light and just enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Chicken and Biscuits!

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I used left over roasted chicken, homemade cream of chicken and added peas. Canned biscuits. I thought my husband would give me an it's OK, but he really liked it. Super easy and a new comfort food here. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Cakes

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great Easy recipe! The tops were not that hard on mine and they were perfect in the center! I also so made them mini cupcakes and they still required 18 mins. baking time, which is not a big deal. I used only 1 tsp. of vanilla and the flavor was lovely. You could do 2 if you wanted. I did how ever add a splash more milk after mixing it all together, batter was a little thick, but still turned out great! You can make a cake or cupcakes or mini cupcakes. This will be my go to for yellow cake of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States