Nashville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cabbage-Carrot Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I added a package of diced ham to this and it was good. I am also looking for a bit more flavor, but can't think of what to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Madison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake Mix Butter Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I use white cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1 stick of butter melted, mix it all up, roll in little balls, then take a fork and press down making a checkered pattern on each cookie, sprinkle with sugar, then bake as directed. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Creamy Cabbage with Noodles

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I'm in love with this recipe! I used veggie broth in place of chicken and added a bit of cheese towards the end. I also added in some vegetarian hotdogs before I baked it to make a vegetarian main dish. My husband loved it hot and took it cold for leftovers the next day which is something I'm always looking for in a recipe. I sprinkled it with some paprika once it was done to make it pretty, too - ha. It was easy and comforting on a cold day and since I have the other half of my cabbage left, I might just be making again in the near future. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher

Golden Apple Raisin Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This turned out beautifully! I used a Fuji apple because that's what I always have around the house and regular raisins and plain Mott's applesauce (again, what I had.) This turned out moist and delicious, plus it made my house smell heavenly. It would be good with some nuts in it, too and I might try that next time. My only issue was that I should have doubled it because we ate most of it while watching Sunday night football! This recipe rocks - I almost always have the ingredients in the house and it's super simple. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Pear Bread II

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I never liked pears, but my man kept bringing them home. This bread is excellent and made me decide I really DO like pears. Halved the recipe and made a few changes, and the result was really good (NEAR perfect). Used 4 smashed or cut into small chunks d'anjou pears. Drained some of the liquid out of them, as they were very juicy. Used self-rising flour (have no plain) and baking soda but left out the baking powder and all but a couple of shakes of salt. Used Splenda brown sugar subs for half the white sugar and unsweetened applesauce for half the oil. Used one large egg instead of one and a half. The bread was very moist and almost cake-like. I had used just a small amt of salted butter to grease the pan, and part of it stuck to the bottom of the glass pan. I didn't care, as we were eating it, but for guests it would have been unsightly. This pear bread was great, right amt of spice for me, still had that slightly gritty pear texture, just complex enough to be really good. The nutmeg really is great with the pear, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJBOULANGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Absolutely perfect; exactly what I was looking for. I have been making chicken with canned biscuit dumplings for years, and it was time to up my game. I made these as written, using Butter Flavor Crisco and a tiny amount of onion powder and garlic powder. They turned out very similar to the chicken and dumplings at a certain restaurant & country store. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Cowboy Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My husband loves the canned beans with hot dogs, so I used this recipe as a basis for a more homemade meal-worthy version. I used cut up turkey dogs in place of the ground beef, browning in a skillet with the onions. After the dogs had a nice crisp on the edges, I added the beans and BBQ sauce, then I actually baked it with the biscuits on top. He loved the finished product, and informed me I was going to be making more of it for dish-to-pass events at his workplace. I guess that's a vote of confidence if he wants to share it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made a cookie platter for work today: chocolate chip, peanut butter, and these. In past experience, the other two flavors are always the first to go. I decided to try these, just to add some variety, and they were by far the most complimented. Men were tracking me down to say things like, "I've eaten a lot of cookies, and these were the best I've ever had". If I keep making things like this, I will be a popular girl in the office, that's for sure! Thank you so much for sharing this one - it's a keeper! The only thing I changed was to use all Butter Flavored Crisco...it's my secret ingredient in a lot of baked goods. It keeps the cookies soft and they don't fall flat when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Easy Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My first banana bread, and I don't believe I will be looking any further. I have actually been reluctant to try banana bread after being told that it never bakes in the center. This turned out beautifully. I used Butter Flavored Crisco, which is one of my 'secret ingredients', but I made the recipe exactly as written. Once cooled, I put the loaves in gallon size plastic bags overnight, and that softens the crust perfectly. This was moist and beautiful......even in the center. This might be the Christmas gift for the co-workers this season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
For some reason mine turned out to be dense and soggy, heavy almost to the point of being pound cake; even denser than banana or pumpkin bread. I didn't change the recipe, and I baked it longer than called for, because at the prescribed time the center was still liquid! People say that it tastes good, but I wasn't satisfied with the texture. I may try again and revise my review after another taste-testing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make vegetarian! While we did make some changes, I believe the recipe would be great even if we had not. We did not add the bacon and used roasted tomatoes, added a red jalapeño and 4 cloves of galic. We used a potato masher on the beans when done too. This would be so good on a veggie hotdog! This went very well with 'Sweet Corn Bread' also from this site...sweet with the spicy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bartlett Pear Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
As usual, I lacked some of the ingredients. Only had about 2/3 of the white sugar, so substituted Splenda brown sugar for the rest of the white as well as the brown sugar. Found a recipe for allspice- 1/3 each of nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon. Used salted butter- no unsalted. Greased the bottom of a 9x9 inch pan, because I had no crust. The result was good, but separated a little, which may have been from the Splenda or the lack of a crust. Tasted like it was missing something, but served over frozen waffles the next morning (drizzled with honey), this pear dish was absolutely delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJBOULANGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
The taste was good, but the texture was off-putting for some reason, probably a mistake I made in preparation somehow. One comment I got was "Is this cinnamon cornbread?" I was so excited to make these because of all the positive reviews, so I am disappointed at my failure. Perhaps I will try again to see if they turn out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Quiche with Kale, Tomato, and Leek

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this for dinner, and my one year olds loved it! So did my husband and I, but I was thrilled that my kids ate it. I upped it a little for a 9" pie plate and used swiss chard instead of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cold Rice Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Love this recipe! We have leftover rice quite a bit and this is a great way to use it and leftover veggies in the fridge for weekday lunches. I fried my eggs and chopped them into the salad and accidentally used more vinegar (misread and added a TBSP instead of a tsp…whoops!) and it was delicious. I could see using water chestnuts in this, also, for crunch. My co-workers were all jealous when I told them what it was and were surprised it wasn't takeout. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher

Slow Cooker Apples with Cinnamon and Brown Sugar

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I took a cue from another reviewer and sliced up my apples and layered them on the bottom. Other than that change, I stuck to the recipe. My house totally smells delicious and the vanilla ice cream pairs so well with it! Easy dessert and anything in the slow cooker makes my day…especially when I don't have to CLEAN said slow cooker. Great fall dish - will make again, possibly with dried cranberries next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Southern Butter Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Every year our family Thanksgiving dinner is complimented by a big bag of rolls from a warehouse club. This has got to stop, but I thought I was powerless to help, since it's out of state for us and there's no kitchen space available at our destination. On a whim I made a batch of these and hid a few in a Ziploc bag. Of course my husband loved them when they were fresh, but I just fed him one that was about 36 hours old....and he still loved it! In my ideal world I would be serving rolls fresh from the oven to impress the family at Thanksgiving, but since that is impossible, I believe I am going to bake these at home and bring them along. Friends don't let friends eat dry hard bread with a holiday meal, right? The only slight change I made was to use warm water for my yeast instead of cool water. And I use Butter Flavored Crisco shortening. That's my 'secret ingredient' for a lot of my baking. Thanks for a simple and fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Ham and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Judy's Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Reintroduced myself to this recipe after abandoning it for no reason what so ever. It is as always a solid recipe and turns out well every time. Consistency is key. This cornbread is superb. I added a little sugar because I wasn't adding honey to the top like I normally do. Also added a touch more canola oil...because I loathe dry cornbread. Give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misss_e

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States