Nashville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These are great - I tasted them at the 45 minute mark and they weren't done enough for my taste, but after 2-3 hours they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies IV

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Oh My Goooooodness. I made these with 2 1/2 cups of Rice Krispies. I didn't eat any the first day I made them. I was baking different kinds of cookies and banana bread and wasn't really wanting to eat a lot of cookies. I refrigerated them and the next day I decided to have 1 which turned into a lot more! (I won't say how many) These cookies are amazing. Kinda reminds me of the Reese wafer sticks with coconut. These are 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Now Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LibertyBelle78

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Ah-MAY-zing! This is the first cake I have successfully made from scratch! I, like many people, read lots of reviews, and I did make a few tiny adjustments (more vanilla, more cinnamon, a hint of nutmeg, and half brown sugar), but I made no major changes to the recipe. I even used the amount of oil called for....and it was perfect. Moist, spicy, flavorful, and the frosting was fabulous! I used the exact amounts called for and whipped the fool out of it in the stand mixer. I have avoided cake making for a long time, because I had never been able to make a good one from scratch....that is, until today. Thank you so much for the recipe and the confidence. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Southern Grits Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I made this for my husband to take to a work breakfast. He takes treats to work all the time, so people look forward to trying what he brings. These set our reputation back a few steps. Greasy, salty, heavy.....Nobody ate it, and I don't like when food goes to waste. I had to almost triple the grits to balance out the saltiness of the original recipe. Most people reviewed this as being bland, but our experience was the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and it turned out terrific. Like some others, I added 1/2 of a can of cream-style corn to the listed ingredients and made it in a cast iron skillet. Twenty-five minutes in the oven and it was moist and delicious. Now this transplant northern girl can please my southern husband with a knock-out cornbread recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78

German Chocolate Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were a fun idea for a friend who loves German Chocolate. The cake layer on top and bottom was too hard, and I did add coconut to the caramel, or it wouldn't have been German Chocolate. I think next time I will apply this general concept to a from-scratch brownie, because the downer in this recipe was the boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LibertyBelle78

Alabama Fire Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were great; even better than expected. I made them as an inexpensive side to carry to a party, and they turned out to be the most talked about dish! I did use zesty Italian dressing mix instead of Ranch, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This was much better received than the version with oyster crackers, and will be a go-to party recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I think the name of this dish describes it perfectly! I made this as a quick and easy side dish for a meal that contained some pretty labor intensive dishes....and of course this was the most popular dish, ha ha! I didn't make any changes, and it was perfect. Someone did suggest cheese on top next time, but in my opinion it doesn't need it. I think this is going to show up often at our family dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LibertyBelle78

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was beautiful and the family loved it. A nice change from the routine pumpkin pie at the holidays, and a pretty one at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LibertyBelle78

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was my first time to make a real cheesecake, springform pan and all. (The ol' crescent roll bars don't count, do they?) I followed the recipe exactly, and read most of the reviews for helpful hints. I did do a water bath, wrapping my pan in three layers of foil to keep it dry. I baked the cake for an hour and turned the oven off for another hour before I opened the door...and there were no cracks! I am so addicted to parchment paper that my family will probably bury me in it.....anyway, I cut a circle for the bottom of the pan, and put a strip around the side of the pan too. After I removed the cake from the oven, I just had to lightly run a butter knife around the edges of the cake and the strip of parchment paper pulled right away. The end result was great! Everyone loved it, and declared it to be my best dessert yet. I will admit to using melted seedless preserves in place of the homemade sauce. The melted white chocolate seemed to make my batter thinner than I expected, but it all worked out in the end. Thanks for the great recipe, and big thanks to all of you who submitted reviews with helpful cooking tips. I am still shocked that my cake didn't crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Crabmeat Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My family DEVOURED this quiche! I made it exactly as written, and to be honest, it was simply to use up two cans of canned crabmeat I had for some odd reason. It was simple, but elegant enough that I may make it as mini-quiches to serve at an upcoming tea party. Just the kind of recipe I need when cooking for a crowd. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Spaghetti Sauce II

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a catastrophe....I will NEVER get away with using sauce from a jar again! I cooked this for eight hours in the Crock Pot, and it was absolute perfection. Thick, flavorful, and as one person put it...."you can tell this is homemade; in a good way!" I doubled the recipe and it was the perfect amount to make Baked Ziti I from this site, which has been a family favorite for a while. Using this sauce and some good imported Italian noodles made it a completely different dish. I never thought I would make homemade spaghetti sauce; I can't wait to surprise the family with it at our big holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher

Farfalle with Roasted Winter Vegetables & Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I didn't have any squash so I went with kale, Brussels sprouts and onions - delicious!! I used a little veggie broth for the liquid and this was great. I could see adding walnuts like another reviewer suggested (or even mushrooms!) This is gonna be great for lunch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
So beautiful and so easy to make! Thank you to everyone who suggested 8 minutes as the perfect baking time. That turned out picture-perfect cookies for me. My husband doesn't like snickerdoodles, but he loved these! If people enjoy eating something they wouldn't normally touch, that's a great recipe! This is going in my keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It was probably my technique, but this was a total failure. The coating burnt and fell off the chicken, then the chicken itself didn't cook. I was careful about the temperature and followed the recipe exactly. Guess I need to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wow! These were the star of the Thanksgiving meal! I have always added cream cheese and butter to mashed potatoes, so I didn't expect these would be much different. I was wrong. Boiling the potatoes with bouillon and garlic made a huge difference in the end product. As we cleaned up after the meal, most of the sides had 2/3 of the food remaining. These potatoes, on the other hand, were wiped out. One person even told me they were "the best food they had ever put in their mouth" and that they were going to ask for these for their birthday. You don't get better compliments than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LibertyBelle78

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
You don't understand: You NEED to make this pie. My previous go-to recipe was a chocolate pecan pie with an all butter crust. I didn't think that could be improved on. Then I made THIS PIE. My husband, who does not like pecan pie, publicly declared this to be the best dessert he had ever tasted: at thanksgiving - in front of his mother. I was thrilled....I just had to pretend I didn't hear him. We can't insult Mama's cooking. I did add a handful of dark chocolate chips on the bottom: I couldn't help myself. I added 3/4 cups of chopped pecans to the filling mix instead of one whole cup. I baked the pie for 15 minutes at 350, and removed the pie and added 3/4 cups pecan halves to the top to make it pretty. I lowered the oven temp to 300 and baked it for 50 minutes, only to be rewarded with PIE PERFECTION. No strange gelatinous insides, no fused-together pecan mass on top. This was what a real homemade pie should taste like. This will become a holiday tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Hey, there's a reason this is a classic. I have made this before by just winging it and mixing green beans with soup. This was my first time to follow the original recipe. The soy sauce was a nice touch, and I used condensed milk after reading reviews about it being too thin. It was perfect; just what the family wanted for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
YUM! This is one of my favorite recipes that I've found on this site so far! The dish is a little time consuming to make, but it's delicious and I never have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Unfortunately this recipe came out very salty - way too salty. The pork chops were very tender, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States