Murfreesboro, Tennessee - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Third times a charm. First two times I made this were good and each time I tweaked it based on reviews but NOW I got it! 1.I used fresh broccoli and used about 1.5lbs. I used about 20oz of velvetta instead of 16. 2.Added some salt and pepper and would have used some fresh garlic had I had it. 3. Reserved some of the chicken broth for the cornstarch slurry. 4. I used half and half for extra richness. 5. At the end I stirred in about 2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar. REALLY good and on the thick side which I personally like. It reheats well and I freeze some in baggies for quick lunches. It makes A LOT! And I have a family of 5! I think there is nothing wrong with this recipe it is just personal tastes that make people unhappy with it. Technically this is written correctly in the order of steps and ingredients. I just like mine a little cheesier. I used frozen broccoli the first time and that was fine to so if you don't have fresh don't stress about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

Southern Chess Squares

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe several different ways, for those that say its too sweet I have a suggestion. Use the low fat cream cheese. I made some and it cut down the sweet and made them a bit tangy but they cooked up the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S'more Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe is so good! I've already made this six times this month for different events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Caviar

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love this recipe! I make this all the time for all types of events. A great crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Will probably not make this again. The pork didn't cook in the amount of time the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Easy and delicious! I love this recipe! This soup warmed my soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Nachos Restaurant-Style

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
A standard at our house now. I love this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tetrazzini IV

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious! I added some cayene pepper for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicata Creamy Squash Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
yummy!!! Made this tonight and it is amazing! I did add nutmeg & cinnamon, as other reviewers suggested. This as a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnsonville Italian All Natural Ground Sausage Burger

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This burger is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Okra and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this recipe tonight with a fresh batch of okra from the garden. This was my first time attempting to cook okra so when it got kinda slimmy I was worried but it tastes GREAT and after you add the tomatoes, the slimmy stuff disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was pretty good. It's really nice looking in the bowl, but there is something missing for the flavor. It was a bit too mild for my taste. I may add some sour cream or something next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this exactly as written, no changes. It's a great pasta salad recipe, I've been looking for a great vinegar based salad forever now, and I am so glad I finally found one. I did not have a problem with the vinegar being too strong, I thought everything was just right. Don't leave out the feta, its a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yellow Squash and Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe and I am so glad I tried it. I made a few changes to suit my family. Took out the Parmesan cheese (my guys don't like it). Added a can of whole kernel corn, a half a cup of chopped green peppers, and a half of cup of red peppers. The second time I made it I forgot the sugar and it tasted just fine, so I probably will leave it out from now on. This is a pretty dish and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Fudge Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This was a good sauce, but not as fudgey as I like. Next time I will use unsweetened chocolate instead of semi-sweet. Also, mine never did get smooth. Next time I will melt the chocolate first and then incorporate the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were fantastic. Even my kids ate all of theirs and they vowed they wouldn't like them. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden State Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Hubby just mentioned he wanted a mushroom onion soup after a really hard day and I lucked up and found this before he even got home. It's the perfect ratio of ingredients which is pretty much all I use a recipe for. I slivered my onions, like a french onion soup. I used coconut oil with a little butter. I sauteed mushrooms just a handful at a time so they would brown. I then deglazed all the goodness on the bottom of the pan with red wine vinegar and beef broth and beef boullion. Mushrooms and beef seem like the perfect pair. Then the whole bit simmered with added garlic and fresh thyme. So yeah I changed some things but those measurements were right on and a perfect start - THANK YOU SO MUCH. Hubby said it was exactly what he was imagining and WE made it happen, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Yes - wonderful! Perfect consistency. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was delicious!!! My husband loved it! I used one whole can of the adobo peppers and it about burned my tongue off! Next time I will only use a couple of peppers. We made tacos that night from the roast, adding diced tomatoes, guac, cheese and sour cream. The next day, I cooked a couple quesadillas with it to send with my husband for lunch. I shredded fresh quesadilla cheese (found in the mexican section at the grocery) and then sprayed each side of the tortilla lightly with pam and browned it. We loved it!!! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustinsWifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

Butternut Squash Supreme

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious! Brought this for Thanksgiving pot luck and by the end of the meal, every one was asking me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Pionke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States