Memphis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Pretty good! Basically another potato soup recipe. It definitely needs salt and pepper, maybe the author thought that was implied. I added a good bit of garlic powder as well. Doubled the ground beef which I think is a must. Fresh parsley instead of dried helped quite a bit. Not as great as I hoped but enjoyed making this one and my son really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Beef Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My kiddos loved this!! I used dried medium egg noodles instead of frozen; I just put them in about 10 minutes before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coleslaw

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Yumzers! Finally found the perfect slaw!! Cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Baked Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm rating this a three and made it almost exactly as written but used milk with capful of vinegar for wet ingredients instead of butter which worked quite well, and used plain panko breadcrumbs instead of regular Italian flavored. I salted/peppered my chicken as I always do and found it too salty with the added 1 tsp of salt so I would omit the added salt (plus the parm cheese adds quite a bit of salt too.) Would omit the thyme and basil altogether...family didn't quite like the flavor but still ate it up with dipping sauces. Good recipe for cooking method (went by # 1 reviewer.) I would make this again with these variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Angel Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I doubled the sauce per the reviews and began to worry when adding the golden mushroom soup (decided to only add one can and not two per the reviews because it was so THICK, added a little water), to the butter and Italian seasonings/white wine mixture, and then the cream cheese mixture, it just seemed like a mess of thick yucky sauce. Went with it anyway and poured it over my salted/peppered chicken, baked for a full hour, (covered with foil for first 40 min), still skeptical, wondered if I'd completely wasted the ingrediants, and low and behold my kids liked it, so giving it a rating of four. Initially thought this was a complete miss! Guess I MIGHT make this again...seemed like a miss match of ingredients that went over quite and surprisingly well at this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I tried this recipe because I was having some intermittent oven problems. Too dry for my taste but I will go with extra broth next time and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I am a big fan of buffalo wings but I have to say I liked the sweet-spicy combo of these better. I don't usually dredge wings in flour before baking but I think that step made a big difference. My mom thought they were the best wings she has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Easy to make and excellent. Seemed very hot when I first mixed it, but it mellowed to just right after a couple of hours in the fridge. I do like it much better than store-bought sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula

Curry and Cheese Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is my new favorite way to fix cauliflower. Full of flavor! I did use a combination of cheddar and pepper jack since it's what I had in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I was cooking this recipe just for myself, so I cooked only 1 chicken breast. When I changed the serving size, I saw that I was supposed to sprinkle 2 tsp garlic powder on my one piece of chicken! I just couldn't do it. I did use a little more than 1 teaspoon, though. This was a very flavorful recipe. I loved the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by nanny129

Tea Cookies II

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
if you like a soft cookie - these are for you- so light and delicate-- i made lemon-- oh, my- they are wonderful- thanks for a great recipe- cooked in 12 minutes- 36 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Photo by nanny129

Cream Cheese Cookies II

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
did not make sandwiches afer reading reviews of the cream cheese not being needed and too sweet-- the cookie is perfect as is- cooked perfectly at 9 minutes- 54 cookies with my smallest scoop- thanks for a grest recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Photo by Paula

Frozen Grape Bites

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I used purple grapes (because I had them) and they were small, so I used a candy mold rather than a muffin tin. I think the shape was prettier than a muffin tin would have been anyway. These are simply whipping cream with a grape inside. Upon eating one, you get a burst of sweetness from the grape. They melt really quickly, so they can only be eaten as a quick snack rather than serving them at a party or for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Favorite Basil-Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This soup was ok for me. It is thicker than I am used to but that can be rectified by adding more chicken broth. I also would like some garlic and onion in it, but that can easily be added as well. So for me, this is a good base recipe that I can change any way I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Vegetable Stovetop Frittata

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
A very good and healthy breakfast! The times and temps the submitter gave in the recipe are spot on too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Quick and Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly except my canned tomatoes had garlic, oregano, and basil in them. I think I'll use this same kind the next time I make this soup. This is not an overly juicy soup; I was afraid I would need to add more water, but I didn't. Very good and very quick to get on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Pretty good. I used the spiral noodles, way more pizza sause than called for (maybe twice as much), half ground beef, half italian sausage. Added my own spices of course. I thought the splash of milk was a strange addition but it worked. This is a good recipe for when you want a lot of food for a relatively low cost, and minimal preparation. I'll make this again but it wasn't just over the top great for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Paula

Spinach and Banana Power Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Perfect smoothie to get my morning going. I did as the reviewer suggested and subbed almond milk. I always have bananas in my freezer, so I used a frozen one which made the smoothie icy cold. I'm totally off sugar, so the banana made this smoothie plenty sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by nanny129

Spicy Pork Sausage

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
being used to using sage in sausage- i was worried- but as i love cumin- this was great- i used for sausage balls- yum- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA
Photo by nanny129

Best Breakfast Sausage Balls Ever

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
made these gluten-free- 10 minutes perfect- great texture- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanny129

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States