Maryville, Tennessee - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I love the reviewer who said she felt like she'd discovered America when this recipe worked for her. If she's already discovered America, then I've found the Mississippi River! Yesterday I tried another recipe from an old cookbook & ended up with an oily liquidy mess. Also I used my food processor yesterday. Today, I followed this recipe exactly (except I added 1/4 t. paprika) and used my good trusty 30 year old Osterizer AND used the toothpick-hole-in-the-paper-cup tip and voila! Beautiful, glossy, creamy, thick, luscious mayonnaise! Thank you so much for this recipe and thanks to all who have offered their tips - especially the toothpick tip. Easy, easy! Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added a bit of fresh orange juice in the mix as well, and made extra marinade just for basting. Used all veggies called for and added pineapple. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious! I added a bit of fresh orange juice in the mix as well, and made extra marinade just for basting. Used all veggies called for and added pineapple. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was just ok. I guess I learned that I really prefer my veggies steamed, grilled or roasted. Not bad, but I probably won't fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is my go-to quiche recipe, since I rarely take the time to make my own crust (and I don't use store-bought ones). It is easy and yummy! I typically use smoked ham (sandwich meat) rather than bacon since I have it on hand and it is a healthier option. Always nice to be able to mix up the ingredients according to what you have on hand. I often add spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raw Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This sounds like a good option for a hot night dinner but I think I would puree a garlic clove with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This dish is so easy and delicious. I make it a lot. There are others that call for lots more ingredients (cream cheese, broth, etc.) but I don't see any reason to tamper with this at all. Couldn't be simpler and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious. Just as good as you would expect with all the 5-star reviews. I followed suggestions from some other cooks & added an apple to the soup, and only one 8 oz. pkg of cream cheese. I used Neufchatel (light cream cheese) and chicken broth instead of water & boullion. Also, I used oregano instead of marjoram because that's what I had on hand. I started to give it only 4 stars because my husband wasn't as crazy about it as I am. But as far as I'm concerned it's over the top good! You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litalou
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is really good but we changed a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was sooo gooood! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Knots

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
These were great, my boys loved them and want me to make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Love this recipe! Only change I make is adding some water so it isn't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

Beer Cheese Soup VIII

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
If you have a food grinder or fine grater, ( I use my Kitchen-Aid grinder attachment with the fine blade,) it makes fast work of grating the onion and cheese, drastically cutting down on prep time, and tears from grating onions by hand. For a chilly fall evening meal, try serving this wonderful, filling soup in a cup, with your favorite BLT or Panini sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent basic Alfredo, doctor it up! Try adding some finely chopped fresh basil and Italian parsley and or a dash of nutmeg. Maybe a little sliced fresh mushrooms or some lemon zest to serve over shrimp, how about some crumbled bacon or sun dried tomatoes? The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last night , served it over cheese ravioli and asparagus, with a tossed salad as a side. Sorry, but my husband and I both found it to be very bland. I may try it again, with the addition of 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stroganoff for Two

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Opps! I goofed on the description, it should have read Chicken tenderloins, not breast. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Five Hour Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excuse me, when do you add the burgundy, and shouldn't you brown the beef first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
1 A mention of how strong her microwave is would help people from wasting ingredients by burning them (or having them stuck in your pan like concrete). 2 Maybe it is just a 'South' thing, but peanut brittle here has a buttery, rich flavor. The vanilla ruined the entire batch: way too sweet taste and overwhelmed the flavor of the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

Manicotti Alla Romana

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The ratios here are really off. Will not be making this again. Too much garlic, too much spinach. (I used half garlic based on reviews and it was reasonable). I used the amount of spinach called for and regretted it. I only used half the spinach/meat mixture to mix with ricotta (seemed like way too much per amount ricotta, and even after I only put in half!). I saved the other portion to freeze (to add to ricotta for filling another batch), but after that will not be making this recipe again. It does taste like catered food, I will give it that. I will be looking for a better manicotti recipe. I do agree that fresh basil is a must in manicotti and I only make it when I have basil in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States