Knoxville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

French Beef Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Outstanding! Made this to eat after a day of hiking in the cold, was perfect. Thought the mustard sounded very strange so just put it on the table to let people add a bit to their bowl if they wanted and everyone agreed it made it even more delicious and that I should definitely just add it next time. I didn't make any changes except for adding a bag of frozen peas. It did take a bit longer than an hour to cook down though. Will definitely be making this a winter staple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ldeutsch33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. My whole family loved me and begged me to make it again. Plus it makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chai Tea Mix

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made several batches of this recipe to enjoy over the holidays and to give as gifts. I've made it before and thought it turned out well, but I made 2 changes this year that were more in keeping with the recipe and were well worth the time and effort. As several readers suggested, I included cardamom. Previously I didn't add it because 1) I wasn't familiar with it, 2) couldn't find it in the supermarket and 3)when I did find it the price was $51/pound. I only needed 1 teaspoon per "batch", so I went to our local Earth Fare and was able to purchase it in as small a quantity as I needed because they have bulk spices in jars and small plastic bags to self-serve fill as needed. I paid $1.07 for a couple of teaspoons. Quite a great deal! The second thing I did was to use my food processor to make a smoother mix which prevents the spices from gathering at the bottom of the mug in crunchy pieces. Makes for a much smoother drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Slow Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
great recipe and oh so easy! that's always my preference - delicious and easy! to much hassle and i'll just go out to a restaurant! this was great...my only confusion or suggestion was at the end. the gravy really does not thicken in the skillet unless some cornstarch or flour is added as well. i added 1 heaping tbs of cornstarch to a small amount of the broth in a separate container and then returned to the skillet and cooked it for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this recipe as written but adjusted the servings for 2 and used 2 medium-size sweet potatoes. Overall, these were good but not great. 60 minutes of cooking left them a bit too soft and there was more oil than necessary. The flavor was good. I will make these again and add rosemary, as other reviewers have suggested. Also, reduce the oil and cooking time. I think with a few small changes these could be excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arasmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

London Broil I

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome marinade. Only had about 90 minutes to marinade it, but it made a big difference in taste and texture. Made sure to cook it rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marbled Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
First time cheesecake maker here. I made this dessert as requested by my niece and this was delicious!!! I had to take a lot of grief from my family for taking 2 slices home with me (too stuffed for dessert). I followed the recipe but I did follow the advice from others and added extra cinnamon, nutmeg and a couple of sashes of pumpkin pie spice too taste. Marveled beautiful. Only had1 small crack after baking for 55minutes. I also set a pan of water on the bottom shelf and used all room temp ingredients. I also kept the oven at a consistent temperature--no peeking. Inext time, I may cut the back time back to 45 minutes as my crust started to burn (in my opinion) but then again I have never eaten a cheesecake with a ginger snap crust. I bought 2 different brands of ginger snap cookies and after tasting them, decided to go with the Archway ginger snap cookie, a "spicier". Cookie. Another thing I should mention is that I forgot to use the last 1/4 cup of sugar that was called for in the recipe. The pie was still sweet and no one seemed to notice the forgotten sugar. I also used reduced fat cream cheese. A few more pointers, I did let the cheesecake "cool" in the oven for a hour-with door ajar. I then removed from oven -ran a knife around the side of my pan and let the cheesecake continue to cool on the countertop for another hour before refrigerating overnight. Delicious, delicious...everyone raved over just how delicious this was! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Praline Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was the 2nd year I made this recipe. This year I followed another reviewer and put all of my ingredients in my mixer and mixed everything until smooth. I baked 4 pounds of sweet potatoes which equaled 4 cups. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg and a little more brown sugar (couple of teaspoons-to taste). Last year, I was told that it was okay-it could have been sweeter but that was my fault because I totally screwed the topping up. However, this year I made it again and EVERYONE loved it. The topping was delicious, the potatoes were so smooth and creamy. I will probably cut back on the butter (maybe 3/4 stick of butter-rather than an entire stick) for the topping but besides that it was soooooo yummy. Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

chili pasta bake

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Perfect, eyeballed most of it and it made the meat taste just like I had used a taco seasoning packet for 1/10th of the cost, if that. Used 2/3rds cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

bacon buffalo macaroni and cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
excellent and full of yummy ingredients...add sour cream at the end to the bowls if you want to be indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I recieved so many compliments! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Pretty good stuff.Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

keebler spicy crabmeat dip

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Added jalapeno peppers. But still didn't have the spiciness I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

keebler chocolate chip cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy to make. Tasted great and Pete liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew)

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good. Used a 3.5lb 12 month old domestic rabbit and it was very tender. Used the crock pot method, and onion instead of shallot. I read a few reviews that said they doubled the gravy so I added am extra half recipe for it and it was way too much. So if you use the crock pot, stick to what is written. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Plain Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extra-Yummy Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I love my pancakes more fluffy and these has a tad to much cinnamon. Otherwise, they were a blast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States