Knoxville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew)

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good. Used a 3.5lb 12 month old domestic rabbit and it was very tender. Used the crock pot method, and onion instead of shallot. I read a few reviews that said they doubled the gravy so I added am extra half recipe for it and it was way too much. So if you use the crock pot, stick to what is written. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Omelet Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this for the family and they loved it, I did make some additions and subtractions to the ingredients to suit us but all in all very pleased with the results! I added sausage and bacon, 3 more eggs, some Rotel and a bit of garlic powder. I also added a bit of cream to the egg mixture and it came out more moist than when I made it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by teresa_n_tn

The Best Relish I've Ever Had

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Its a great relish! I did however change things around a bit! I used cucumbers, onion,(3)Thai chili peppers, red bell peppers, garlic celery seed, mustard seed, distilled white vinegar tumeric sugar, flour, salt and water. I also only let it drain a couple of hours and then used a sieve. to help aid in draining. It worked wonderfully! It also had a little bite from the Thai Chili's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teresa_n_tn

Squash Relish

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made my first batch last night! Missing and substituting a few ingredients; I only used 1/2 of a green bell pepper( that's all I found in the fridge, I was completely out of Red Bell peppers so I found a small jar of diced pimentos (Hey they're sweet red bell peppers so it has to work!) I also had yellow squash as the recipe called for, but I also added Yellow Zucchini from my garden! I also misread the recipe directions( I read it no less than 5 times) at the beginning so my veggie mix sat stewing in their own waters and salt for one whole hour! I then saw my mistake and used a sieve to press out most of the water at the end of the hour, lol It still came out delish! WOW this was a real easy recipe~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe for brownies! My whole family LOVED them. These were a bit crispy on the outer sides, and chewy in the middle. JUST the way we like them. The frosting was very sweet, but add a glass of milk, and it is perfect. I will never buy a brownie mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious, but definitely blend the oats first and then let them sit for a bit in the milk. Kids all liked it, too! I think the serving size is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Chicken II

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made this recipe, except I got an idea from another one(based on ingredients I had) and the only thing I did differently was stuff it with feta and spinach instead of jalapenos. But nonetheless, it was superb, divine. Positive words are all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls (from a Chinese person)

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I thought these were great! Love the egg addition. I didn't have any pork or mushrooms. I also didn't have MSG, but I probably wouldn't have used it anyway. I replaced the items I didn't have with chicken, celery, and onion. I also put a little garlic powder in there, since other egg roll recipes were telling me to, and I thought it sounded like a good idea. You know, because garlic is awesome! (Italian chick over here who loves her garlic.... and Asian food..?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a really delicious recipe. Only not giving it 5 stars, because it could use a little touching up, but not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe, very much like the one from the famous national restaurant chain. I like a good sharp cheddar for myself and sprinkle a little extra on the top. Also, I like to use green onions, tops included, and lots of them. Also, I've seen a variation that replaces part of the cream of chicken soup with sour cream which I may try sometime. When you put it in the pan it looks like an awful big pile but it cooks down and condenses so you end up with about a third less by volume than it starts out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
OH. MY. GOODNESS. There are not enough stars to rate this high enough! Like others, I was so tempted to change some things because it sounds a little plain. But I didn't. Made it just like it says except I cooked it longer because I had a five pound chicken. We loved it! The flavor is amazing, and so juicy and tender! So robinrockingbird's granny knows her stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Grilled Jalapeno Tuna Steaks

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is our favorite recipe! My husband has made this numerous times (sorry for the late posting) since it is my favorite meal. He doubles the "sauce" so I can "dip" my meal in. Southerners love their dips/sauces...especially with this meal. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2BAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Maple-Brined Pork Loin

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
For the record, I'm only rating based on the brine itself. The brine is SO good. Pork tenderloin, to me, is a very mild but pleasantly flavored meat so it's very easy to overpower it. I used this brine (I recommend brining the full 10 hours if you can), patted them off, and put them in my smoker with apple wood chips. One hour at 270 degrees, then an hour at 225 degrees, and the result was absolutely blissful. A couple of times during the smoke, I brushed the tenderloins with maple syrup and sprinkled with kosher salt. Mild smoke, mild sweet, mildly salty. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Curried Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
One of my favorite dishes in years of being on AR. Doubled the curry powder, added turmeric, cumin, crushed red pepper to the sauce mix, along with some fresh garlic and ginger. Chopped up 10 thawed chicken tenders that were previously cooked and let it simmer in the sauce while I cooked basmati rice in the microwave for 18 minutes. Very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Big hit with our Easter brunch. Had some leftover ham I needed to use, so didn't bother with the sausage. It re-heats beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Awesome...I took the advice to add Mayo and the consistency was perfect. If you feel you will need to add more lemon juice or Cayenne, wait to test taste the original recipe after its been heated...the flavors are enhanced...then add more to your liking if necessary. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmoessinger1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm making this cake recipe for the second time today...it's THAT good! Pairing it with the French Silk Frosting recipe from this site, it's the perfect combination for a sensational cake. Reminiscent of my mothers oh-so-delicious French Silk Pie I grew up with, I'm hoping this Black Magic Cake with French Silk frosting will win first place at a cake baking competition at my church. All in the spirit of good fun. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

French Silk Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm making this frosting recipe for the second time today...it's THAT good! Pairing it with the Black Magic Cake recipe from this site, it's the perfect combination for a sensational cake. Reminiscent of my mothers oh-so-delicious French Silk Pie I grew up with, I'm hoping the Black Magic Cake with French Silk frosting will win first place at a cake baking competition at my church. All in the spirit of good fun. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Simple Chicken Brine

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe as a base several times now and am not sure why so many think it is overly salty. I have never rinsed my chicken after brining for 2-5 hours before grilling and it does not overwhelm me with salt sat all. I do often use a mixture of ponzu and soy b/c I like the citrus flavor but that does not really reduce the salt amounts. Maybe the salt is more pronounced when the meat is roasted as opposed to grilled?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I have never made Indian style food before and while this was a fair amount of work, it was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States