Cookeville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Honey Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband loved this and said I wish you had made 4 chicken breasts instead of just two, then we could have had leftovers. I amended the recipe slightly based on some of the other reviews. I had red plum jelly in the fridge, so I used that instead of apple. I melted the jelly in the microwave just a bit, to make it easier to glaze the chicken. Hubby grilled in on the gas grill, we heated up the glaze to make it safe to eat and used it as a sauce. Yum, yum, good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Traditional Gyro Meat

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This dish is among the best flavored gyro meat I've tasted. However the texture was off and nearly impossible to slice thin. After I sliced from the cooked loaf, I browned the slices in a pan with EVOO. This made a more familiar texture. Everyone enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Me and my fiancé love this dish... However, we used a single eggplant and it made more than enough for this recipe. What was leftover from our eggplant, was nice to snack on while waiting for the dish to complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Suki's Spinach and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This dish was pretty good, but seemed to be lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Macaroni & Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very similar to other recipes, but I never saw it written down until I made my mother tell me how to make it! That's the way it has stayed, too. Hand written on a 3 x 5 card in my recipe file, frayed, spotted, and hard to read now 35 years later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Old Fashioned Tennessee Boiled Custard

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My Aunt used to make this recipe and I have only seen it one other time in a recipe book or website. It's easier to make than most of the other recipes I've checked and OH so good!! Served over vanilla ice cream is the best way to eat (drink) it and all my family wants it every major holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Family Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Cooked for us the first time by my sweet daughter-in-law and now adopted for our family holiday dinners. The fruit gives the dressing a lot of interest and is more than the traditional cornbread dressing of old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Mom's Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Simple to make! Recipe handed down from my mother and I have no idea where she got it, but its very flavorful and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Savory Green Vegetables

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This has a wonderful flavor and can be eaten warm or cold. It's a favorite every time I serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Spicy Shredded Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I found this was a good foundation to some Tex Mex type tacos. I added an entire onion, sliced and sauteed that. I doubled the garlic. And I added a chipotle pepper to bring it more to the spicy. It was great served with flour tortillas and one of the Southwest slaw recipes on this site. Using the purple cabbage gave it color and great texture when paired with the meat inside the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Perfect made just as written except I didn't have 4 loaf pans so I used 2 loaf pans and 1 bundt pan and I froze the 2 loafs... Excellent!!! And I had every ingredient on hand which is always a plus. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanci15dead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good! I ended up cooking mine in a crock pot. Cooked the chicken in the broth for a few hours. Shredded the chicken and Then added everything else. I took a short cut and used dried minced onions and garlic powder. Also added another can of beans and shredded cheddar on top of each bowl. This is a very good recipe. I think you could add extra sour cream instead of the heavy cream if you didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Jalapeno Cornbread

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was great. Just a little sweet with a hot kick. It was moist and had the perfect density. I accidentally bought cornmeal mix at the store so I had to adjust the recipe for that. I used 3 cups of the mix so I just left out the flour, baking powder and salt. I think I could have used about 1/2 cup more because it took longer to cook. Loved it. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Since I had never made a chicken parmesan before, I was a little hesitant but the reviews helped me make the decision to make it. I ran out of Panko bread crumbs, so I improvised with some Melba toast that I ran thru the processor for a few seconds. I added Italian seasoning to the crums as well as to the tomato sauce (basil, Italian Seasoning, and garlic powder) which definitely helped the overall flavor. I liked the use of tomato sauce instead of spaghetti sauce due to the amount sauce that would have been leftover. I made it for two and it was wonderful. I served it with a tomato-pesto farfalle pasta dish and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by Mama Krogs

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Reduced all amounts to have two servings and since I didn't have peanut oil, I used garlic infused grapes seed oil. And it was wonderful!!! Grilled it on a grill pan made by Wiltonware and it was perfect. Excellent recipe !! A hit with the hubby (he did the grilling)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Creamy White Chicken and Artichoke Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Our dinner guests loved this and requested the recipe! I had altered a little based on others' comments. Mostly I just added some more flavor with extra basil and dried Italian Seasoning, extra cheeses ( I mixed Mozzarella into the cream cheese sauce), and 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
We left out the soy and added a little more Worcestershire Sauce and it was excellent! Highly recommend this marinade especially for lesser cuts of steak but, BOY did it make our Filet Mignon stand out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Baked Vidalia Onions

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Excellent, light, and tasteful side for a beef main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Krogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I shouldnt rate this only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. But the recipe as written sounded a little bland and I didnt have fresh tomatoes. So in its place I used 2 cans - one diced can and one stewed "mexican" can. I also added fresh chopped basil. I also did not use the roux, it seemed like a step it didnt need. Plus, I only had 2 cups of chicken broth so I used veggie broth for the remainder. But -It was VERY good. I even reserved a small portion of the soup to experiment with and added a little buttermilk to that small portion and it was good as well. Glad I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Focaccia Recipe

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
A simple easy basic recipe that is easily modified to personal taste. Highly suggest giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States