Tupelo, Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Chicken with Stuffing

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My husband liked it. It smelled good, but it didn't have a very good flavor at all. It was just barely edible, in my opinion. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pecan Cobbler

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is the third time I have made this. Use a little more milk and pecans and a squeeze of fresh lemon on the apples.( I've used Granny and Gala, Gala being the best for us) It's super delicious with vanilla ice cream. Warm is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Italian Nachos Restaurant-Style

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
So Good!! I use alfredo sauce instead of Pizza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Bell Pepper and Lemon Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Thank you for a great recipe. I fixed this tonight. Left out the peppers because I don't much care for cooked bell peppers and used tilapia instead of salmon. Other than the above changes and adding salt and pepper, I followed the recipe. My husband said that it was "out of the park awesome". Again. Thanks for a great and really easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a great dish even if those nit pickers (including my sister) say it isn't jambalaya because it has no rice. Who cares? It is really good. I realized at the last minute that I didn't have any zucchini so I threw in a can of okra and I added an extra can of tomatoes. Left out the hot sauce (DH doesn't like hot stuff) and let everyone add it to their own bowl. I also took the suggestion of another reader and served it with spaghetti squash. All 5 of the people eating it loved it, and there was only a little bit left. My sister begged the rest of it from me the next day for her lunch. This recipe will definitely become a regular here, and I think I will try making it in the slow cooker. Thanks, Morgan, for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Connoisseur's Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
For Thanksgiving, I wanted to make something a bit different instead of plain old green bean casserole, so I decided to try this recipe. I used yellow whole kernel corn since I didnt' have any white corn on hand,and used cream of mushroom soup since I didn't have any cream of celery. Added a jar of canned mushooms and used French's fried onions on top instead of the crackers because my daughter loves them. Omitted the slivered almonds. Everybody loved this casserole. Thanks for the great recipe, Aprilynne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I don't think it is fair to make a bunch of changes to a recipe and then give it a bad review, which I have seen on here. I did make some changes, but I disregarded them when considering the review. Made this in the slow cooker. Since I don't like hominy, I didn't have any, but used suggestion of another reviewer and added fat-free refried beans. Used black beans, homemade chicken broth instead of water, and Tostitos Restaurant Style Salsa. I did rinse and drain the canned vegetables to reduce the sodium, and used additional broth. After it was almost done, I tasted and added additional cumin, a little pepper, some garlic, and some salt. Served with Golden Flake Maizetos Tortilla chips and grated cheese. My husband had sour cream on his, and we both loved it. Would like to have given this 4.5 stars. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Goddess Dressing III

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I thought this was fantastic and had lots of bold flavors! It was not fishy at all (I thouoght I might even add some more anchovies) the only thing is it is too runny .....how should I thicken it? other than that .....LOVED it. Margaret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
What I LOVE LOVE LOVE about this site.... I can read what others think and do and then add or subtract at will!!! THAT my dear fellow cooks is what makes you a real chef!! Thank all of you who tweak and post, It helps me tremendously!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We did not like this one that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Reuben Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We loved this pizza! Make as is. Christel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Paprika Chicken with Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I don't like to rate a recipe on changes that I made because that isn't fair, so this rating is what the recipe would have been without my changes. To reduce the fat content, I used a butter flavored pan spray, a tiny bit of real butter, and white wine. Based on reviews, I doubled the paprika. I cooked minced garlic (from a jar), mushrooms (from a jar) and onion for about 3 or 4 minutes. I removed them with a slotted spoon, added a bit more white wine and cooked the chicken for 10 minutes. When I turned the chicken, I put the mushroom mixture back in on top of the chicken and finished cooking. DH and I really liked it. I served it with quinoa (which I fix with chicken broth to give it more protein and because it tastes better that way - quinoa is much tastier and healthier than rice!) and sliced fresh tomatoes from a local hydroponic farm. Thanks Marlana for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I made these for my daughters Kindergarten class and everyone, even the teachers love them! My daughters teacher is begging me to make these for next snack day! :) I like to use vanilla almond bark and use sprinkles according to the season (green and red sugar crystals for Christmas, hearts for Valentines, etc.) to help some of the decor show up. This week, I have snack day and w/Easter coming I may just use the baker's chocolate w/the pastel Easter sprinkles I got so they show up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This is the only pancake recipe I use! I added a little bit more milk cause I like it runny (this recipe its thick), vanilla, and if I don't feel like melting butter I just use oil, still tastes just as great. To ppl who say its too much salt, don't use a heaping teaspoon, level the spoon out. Don't read the reviews any further, give this recipe a try.....you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I use canned petite diced tomatoes and use black beans instead of corn for more fiber and less carbs. I also use a bit more cumin, some minced garlic and some garlic salt. I did as others suggested and just put raw boneless skinless chicken breasts into crock pot with other ingredients. Removed and shredded about an hour before serving and returned to slow cooker. Served with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and Golden Flake tortillas (The label says "Mazietos" and they are absolutely the best. Since there are only 2 of us, 3 chicken breasts make plenty with enough leftovers for at least one more meal. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gooey Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I just took these out of the oven!!! OMG They are heavenly!! And to think I started to trash them cause I thought they would be too cake-like. And so did my daughter. Dont let the recipe fool you, and MOST OF ALL do not over cook!! They will be a little gooey when you first take them out but dont worry they will be fine...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog I

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
this is VERY good. Takes very little time to make and is easy. I did add 1 1/2oz of brandy to make it more traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onions Au Gratin

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Wonderful side dish! My dinner guest loved them and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Of course I played with the recipe a bit, like others. I boiled an unpeeled potato in with the chicken, carrots, onions, and celery all at the same time. I then cooled the potato in the freezer, peeled it, chunked it and added it to the sauce. I added some finely minced red pepper with the onions while sauteeing in the butter for the sauce, and I replaced pie crust with refrigerated crescent roll dough. I could NOT keep my son and husband off of this. I made a 9 x 13 pan and it was gone before I knew it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States