Ocean Springs - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MSippigrl

Ice Cream Cone Treats

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Love the idea! They were really cute and the taste was good even though the texture of the cone was a bit undesirable. I added mini chocolate chips to chocolate cake mix and frosted with bubble gum flavored frosting. They are top heavy so I will try to come up with a way to keep them from falling over and messing up the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I was surprised how tasty these were! Was a bit concerned about the texture, but it was pretty good as well. I used what I had on hand which was a Golden Vanilla cake mix and a teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice and adding 1/3 cup ground pecans. Gonna try with raisins next. I frosted half of them with cream cheese frosting. Thanks for sharing a simple recipe that is also quick and delicious. Sharing my pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Love pumpkin cookies! The last time I made them I added raisins and nuts and a lemon icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Ohhh, this pie is to die for!! Tastes just like the ones I remember my late mama and mawmaw making. I did make a few modifications that didn't sacrifice the overall result - using 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 whole eggs, fat-free half-and-half, doubled the vanilla, added 2 T. butter, and used an 8-oz tub Cool Whip on top. To speed up the cooling process of the filling, I placed the pot in a sink of ice and water, whisking occasionally, until it was cool and thick, about 10 minutes. I only toasted the coconut for the top of the pie. Dessert, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Turnip Green Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Mmm, love turnip soup! With cornbread. I modified somewhat using what I had on hand (1 northern, 1 black-eyed, 1 pinto) and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of the vegetable mix. Love the combination of spices in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Elvis Presley Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this cake with some modifications and it was fit for a King! I used two single layer pans so it could be displayed on my cake plate. Very good, though very rich. Will save for special occasions or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Macaroni and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ate a ton of this growing up! Still love it today. I like it pretty basic.. with no sugar or bacon grease, using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, using only butter and seasonings: a dash of garlic salt, creole seasoning, and salt and pepper, if needed. Mama never added tomato sauce way back in the day, but I do like that addition for more body. Soo good with hot cornbread! Great childhood memories associated with this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Darling festive cake! Got lots of oohs and awwws. Use the vanilla pudding in the cool whip. Makes a great topping. I also used white cake mix cooked and cooled then poked holes every couple of inches and poured strawberry jello small pack made with 1 cup of boiling water mixed then added 1/2 cup of ice cold water mixed then poured over cake so it was marbled. Cooled for an hour in fridge. Then frosted and decorated. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Devilish Guac Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious guac eggs! I subbed with a little garlic and onion powders (didn't have any fresh) and garnished with crumbled bacon. They were very good. Will make again as written, minus the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Wholly Guacamole® Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Love this new spin on traditional Deviled Eggs! I had to modify somewhat using what I had on hand, but they were still very good. Next time, I'll make the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love these little yummy appetizers and have eaten many sauce variations, but my favorite is a combination of grape jelly, catsup, pineapple, a little sugar and......diced jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Wave Your Flag Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Impressive cake for 4th of July! I opted to make a butter recipe vanilla cake mix and added 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple tablespoons sugar to the Cool Whip to give it more body. It was a hit! A definite 5-stars with the modifications I made. Sharing my pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used a Butter Recipe cake mix. I also beat 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple of tablespoons of sugar and added it to the whipped topping to give it a little more body. Thanks for the decorating idea, made a nice July 4th presentation! I'm sharing my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very good coleslaw! I did have to modify slightly using what I had on hand, subbing with apple cider vinegar, onion powder, and omitting the regular milk..using just the 1/4 c buttermilk. I used the Tri-Color coleslaw mix that I pulsed a few times in the food processor to get a finer texture and also added a little celery seed. Was soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Aw-some Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This really IS restaurant-style coleslaw! I even cheated and used packaged Tri-Color Coleslaw mix and modified the dressing slightly to use what I had on hand - using onion salt instead of the onion, apple cider vinegar, and adding a little celery seed. I also pulsed the coleslaw mix a few times in the food processor to get a finer texture. It was dee-lish! Perfect accompaniment for all those summertime BBQ's and fish fries! Sharing my photo of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Mandarin Orange Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Mmmm, love this cake! I modified somewhat to use what I had on hand. I made it into a 3-layer cake using Betty Crocker Golden Vanilla cake mix and 3 jumbo eggs, and it turned out great. I am sharing my pic of it. Pretty cake and delicious, you can't beat that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Meatloaf Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I had to modify ingredients using what I had on hand, but they turned out good and were sooo cute! Mine were done in 30 minutes (or 160 degrees on meat thermometer). To serve, I topped some of them with mashed potatoes. Kids love 'em! Sharing my photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Corn Pudding II

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I made this with slight modifications and it was really good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Corn Pudding IV

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was my first Corn Pudding to make and it was very good. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Florida Key Lime Pie

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was my first time to make Key Lime Pie and with slight modification, it was dee-licious! In an attempt to make it a bit healthier without sacrificing the taste, I found that only ONE package of RF cream cheese, ONE can of FF sweetened condensed milk, and 1/2 cup of juice was plenty to fill a RF graham cracker crust. I then topped it with Lite Cool Whip. It's a keeper. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States