Ocean Springs - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MSippigrl

Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Always disappear fast every time I make them! Sharing photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chess Pie II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family devours this pie in less than a day! So easy to make too. I cook a few minutes longer and let it sit for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco Lizana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Lime Fruit Toss

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was AWESOME. It had just a hint of lime that wasn't overpowering and just delicious! Super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Russell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
We thought this was easy and great! Probably won't be buying packets anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gulf Life by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Best pumpkin pie I've ever made! I used a box of refrigerated pie crusts to make mini pies in a muffin pan. I also reduced the spices just a tad. Will be my go-to pumpkin pie recipe from now on. Will post photos. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
My family normally does not like meatloaf. Seeing the bacon in this recipe, I decided to try it. Everyone thought it was great! I used regular bacon and fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gulf Life by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spanish Fort, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Ice Cream Cone Treats

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Love the idea! They were really cute and the taste was good even though the texture of the cone was a bit undesirable. I added mini chocolate chips to chocolate cake mix and frosted with bubble gum flavored frosting. They are top heavy so I will try to come up with a way to keep them from falling over and messing up the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I was surprised how tasty these were! Was a bit concerned about the texture, but it was pretty good as well. I used what I had on hand which was a Golden Vanilla cake mix and a teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice and adding 1/3 cup ground pecans. Gonna try with raisins next. I frosted half of them with cream cheese frosting. Thanks for sharing a simple recipe that is also quick and delicious. Sharing my pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Love pumpkin cookies! The last time I made them I added raisins and nuts and a lemon icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Ohhh, this pie is to die for!! Tastes just like the ones I remember my late mama and mawmaw making. I did make a few modifications that didn't sacrifice the overall result - using 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 whole eggs, fat-free half-and-half, doubled the vanilla, added 2 T. butter, and used an 8-oz tub Cool Whip on top. To speed up the cooling process of the filling, I placed the pot in a sink of ice and water, whisking occasionally, until it was cool and thick, about 10 minutes. I only toasted the coconut for the top of the pie. Dessert, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Turnip Green Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Mmm, love turnip soup! With cornbread. I modified somewhat using what I had on hand (1 northern, 1 black-eyed, 1 pinto) and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of the vegetable mix. Love the combination of spices in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Elvis Presley Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this cake with some modifications and it was fit for a King! I used two single layer pans so it could be displayed on my cake plate. Very good, though very rich. Will save for special occasions or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Macaroni and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ate a ton of this growing up! Still love it today. I like it pretty basic.. with no sugar or bacon grease, using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed, using only butter and seasonings: a dash of garlic salt, creole seasoning, and salt and pepper, if needed. Mama never added tomato sauce way back in the day, but I do like that addition for more body. Soo good with hot cornbread! Great childhood memories associated with this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Darling festive cake! Got lots of oohs and awwws. Use the vanilla pudding in the cool whip. Makes a great topping. I also used white cake mix cooked and cooled then poked holes every couple of inches and poured strawberry jello small pack made with 1 cup of boiling water mixed then added 1/2 cup of ice cold water mixed then poured over cake so it was marbled. Cooled for an hour in fridge. Then frosted and decorated. It was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttonwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Devilish Guac Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious guac eggs! I subbed with a little garlic and onion powders (didn't have any fresh) and garnished with crumbled bacon. They were very good. Will make again as written, minus the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Wholly Guacamole® Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Love this new spin on traditional Deviled Eggs! I had to modify somewhat using what I had on hand, but they were still very good. Next time, I'll make the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love these little yummy appetizers and have eaten many sauce variations, but my favorite is a combination of grape jelly, catsup, pineapple, a little sugar and......diced jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Wave Your Flag Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Impressive cake for 4th of July! I opted to make a butter recipe vanilla cake mix and added 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple tablespoons sugar to the Cool Whip to give it more body. It was a hit! A definite 5-stars with the modifications I made. Sharing my pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used a Butter Recipe cake mix. I also beat 3 ozs cream cheese with a couple of tablespoons of sugar and added it to the whipped topping to give it a little more body. Thanks for the decorating idea, made a nice July 4th presentation! I'm sharing my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very good coleslaw! I did have to modify slightly using what I had on hand, subbing with apple cider vinegar, onion powder, and omitting the regular milk..using just the 1/4 c buttermilk. I used the Tri-Color coleslaw mix that I pulsed a few times in the food processor to get a finer texture and also added a little celery seed. Was soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States