Gulfport, Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Smoked Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good soup, great way to use up left over turkey. I added some additional seasonings and cooked the rice on the side than added it in the last 30 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Great recipe for those of us who can't really do fried foods! My only change is that I used Panko bread crumbs for extra crispy chicken and I put the chicken on a sprayed cooling rack on my baking sheet to cook so the heat could crisp it up on all sides at once. Totally delish! My grandkids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
my son Eric love to make this pecan pie every year for christmas we tear it up thankyou Dirty money lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This butter milk pie is to die for my kids an grand kids an friends love it i make it every year for christmas an thanksgivin deliscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Temperature is way off, managed to save them but worst part is I knew better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
We tried this last weekend and enjoyed it so much we've bought twice as much broccoli to make it again tomorrow. My husband loved it! I followed the recipe as shared except for the salt. Since we don't cook with salt at all it was omitted. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missbirdlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

Chef John's Truffled Potato Gratin

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
As always, Chef John puts out great information. Don't worry if you can't find certain things, (except heavy cream, no switching:) his recipes are meant to keep it pretty simple for us average joe's. Tried this one out substituting cheeses but it was still great. I did find a truffle oil spray at the store, completely out of the blue so used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

Chicken & Mushroom Manicotti

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cuppycake

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My husband LOVES his pumpkin pie and this with cinnamon added (his favorite spice!) is his favorite recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole "Sauls Version"

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this Green Bean casserole last year for my very large family for Thanksgiving. I had to make two dishes and I was hoping to take some left overs home with me, but it was ALL gone! My family now loves this one and I will be making again every year! Thank you for this Green Bean Casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Hancock Szczepanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great recipe. I put a little bit of vanilla extract and a bit more blueberries. I also used whole grain flour instead of regular white flour and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
favorite so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISOUTHERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Super Yummy! I added 1 clove crushed garlic and a bay leaf during the 1simmer time, removed the bay leaf and blended. Added 1 table spoon corn starch in the last 20 mins. AMAZING! Get your best grilled cheese sandwich ready, this soup is it's soul mate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Grouper with Creamy Crab and Shrimp Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I LOVE this dish. I make it frequently. If you don't have the creole mustard, just add a squirt of dijon. Just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiUrban09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Great recipe as written! Very moist with a nice flavor that is not as spicy as the usual pumpkin bread, more like a carrot cake spice. Be sure to use the jellyroll pan or a large cookie sheet (bigger than 9x13) to bake these in or you will have a "cake". I'll bake these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Hancock Szczepanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Kalua Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Absolutely, awesome !!! I went by the original recipe and wow! I grew up in Mississippi so I have eaten some pork. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeowmeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I really thought my family would be pleased. A nice hot chicken dish with creamy sauce but instead I got no response. Not even a thanks for the meal,so I will have to pass on this one. Nothing special to report. The search continues for food with piazza .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeowmeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steamed Green Beans with Roasted Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Love it, I've made it for just us as well as company. This time I added some fresh spicy globe basil, oregano and German thyme. I'm sure it will just take it to a new level of yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Striker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Oysters Rockefeller

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was excellent. The first time I made this I was able to get fresh oysters here on the gulf coast. Couldn't find Pernod so went with an anise flavored liquor. Second time couldn't find fresh oysters so used a quart of shucked. Made the butter mixture the same and improvised. Toasted some homemade french bread using EVOO since plenty of butter in the mix. Then I took medium sized ramekins and placed like 4-5 oysters in those using a little bit of the oyster liquor then topped with the butter mixture. Cooked them at the same temperature for same amount of time. Gave everyone their own ramekin and slices of toasted french bread, just spoon on top of the bread and wow, it is also awesome. Next time I am thinking that I might try doing them in the same way you make creme broulee or flan, putting the ramekins in boiling water in the oven so it is more poaching I guess. Will let y'all know how that turns out. Thanks as always Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States