Columbus, Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I followed this simple recipe for the most part except that I substituted a 1/2 cup of white wine instead of the water in Step 6. It added that little sumthin' to the shrooms that put it over the top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! I did do some things differently, which I HATE to do, but didn't realize I was missing a couple of ingredients until I started making the dish. I didn't have lemon pepper or garlic pepper so I mixed the eggs with pepper, garlic powder, and fresh lemon juice. I baked rather than fried and used only a small amount of butter and half the cheese. Still amazing and on the healthier side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I made it exactly as stated, but didn't have to cook for as long as it stated to make sure not to overcook. I think next time I will cook in aluminum foil to preserve even more moisture. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Milk Punch: the New Eggnog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made a batch of this over the Holidays. My whole family loved it! Will be our replacement for egg nog for future holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was really tasty and unique. I followed the recipe to a "T" and wouldn't change anything next time around. I did keep the noodles separate from the chicken for leftovers so things wouldn't get soggy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was very good! I hate it when people don't make the recipe as is, but I didn't have any liquid shrimp and crab boil seasoning or Cajun seasoning so I just used Old Bay and cayenne pepper. The flavor was great, so I can't imagine how good it would be with the seasonings that were called for. I prefer my soups a bit thicker so I think next time I make this I will use cream corn. Great cold night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

RamJam Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was good...I marinated overnight and then grilled...followed the recipe. I just ate the chicken alone with a salad on the side. Very juicy...I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly except that I cut the salt...personal taste. I gave this 4 stars because it wasn't the consistency that I prefer. I will definitely make it again but perhaps puree one of the potatoes or add flour and I will cut the basil in half...it gave a nice flavor, but a bit strong for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Oh my geez- WOW! These cookies are so freaking good. My 7 yr old said they taste like brownies- and they do. I did the half butter and half butter shortening. I also did half white and half semi-sweet chocolate chips. They came out soft and gooey on the inside. No need for me to ever buy pre-made cookie dough again. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastry for Double Pie-Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This dough came out great. I had been using the frozen pie crust and after trying this I doubt I'll be using it again. I wanted to do like other people and use the butter shortening but all I had was the plain. So I used half shortening and half butter. I added a tsp of sugar like some others suggested. I also had to use a little more water to get it to 'mold' together. I put it in the freezer until I ready to use (about 30 mins). It came out very flaky on my chicken pot pie. I think maybe I'll use all butter next time and see how that turns out. I keep all of the ingredients on hand so I have no reason to ever buy frozen pie crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! I will be making this again and again! It is pretty healthy, easy and delicious...a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough I

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I was skeptical of this dough after all the ingredients were mixed- it was very crumbly. But after I formed the balls and pressed them out they came together. I used this recipe for my young kids and I to make personal pizzas. They were able to do most of it themselves. I poked holes, sprinkled some garlic powder, and rubbed olive oil on them and baked in the oven for about 10 mins before putting the toppings on. I also made pepperoni cheese sticks- fabulous. Overall, a decent recipe. Thx :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These came out very good. The recipe was along the lines of a yeast roll recipe I use. They tasted like that except with onion. I made them for pulled pork sandwiches. I didn't have any dehydrated onion so I did like some others and sauteed some raw onions until they dried out. The rolls still came out good. Thx :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was not all that impressed with this recipe and I had such high hopes after reading all the reviews. The meatballs and the sauce were fairly bland. I am moving on to try and find a different, more authentic spaghetti recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Feta Pita Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were awesome! I used the mini pitas and they were perfect! I also forgot to add the olive oil and they still tasted great! This is a great light lunch and I will definitely be making them again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh yeah! I cannot tell you how long I have put off trying to cook ribs because I thought they were so time-consuming. Not so! I used store bought sauce and marinated for about 24 hours, cooked for just under 2 1/2 hours and then slapped them on the grill just to get a little bit of the smoky flavor! Cooked them for the 4th and everyone loved them and wanted more! Thanks for the great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This marinade was awesome. I first tried it with boneless pork chops, marinated them and cooked them whole on the grill. I tasted the marinade but it wasn't enough for me. The second time I made them with boneless chicken breasts and cooked them on the grill. This time I just cooked the chicken whole and then tossed and basted them really good in the marinade- AWESOME. They came out so tender, juicy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veronica's Apple Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These pancakes came out perfect for me. I added a splash of vanilla extract, nutmeg, and extra apple. I also added a little more milk because I don't like my pancakes too thick. My family and I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spoiled Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These ribs turned out great. As a twist I broiled half in the oven and did half on the grill. I asked my family to pick which one they liked best. They all picked the grill, as did I. Coming from the south, it's hard to imagine ribs anywhere other than the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heart Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I was looking for a biscuit recipe without the use of shortening since I was out and I came across this. These biscuits came out so good and light. I made these to go with sausage gravy and I was almost mad I had the gravy on top. I believe these will be the biscuits I make from now on instead of the ones I've been making for over 10 yrs- they were that good. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States