Biloxi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have beef bouillon so I used beef broth instead. I also cut back the salt and only used 2 pork chops. My boyfriend and I love sage so I kept the seasoning measurements the same despite only using 2 chops and it turned out amazing. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to 3 tablespoons of cold water and mixed that into the sauce to make a gravy. I'd never attempted a homemade gravy before and it turned out amazing. It was a little on the salty side but that's probably my fault because I didn't use reduced sodium beef broth. All in all, we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Weaver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was perfect and absolutely delicious! I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2C all-purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. I loved the raisins and currants, but the caraway seeds were my favorite part! They add a depth of flavor to this bread that can't be achieved any other way. Please don't leave them out! The texture was perfect, and everyone loved it! This bread will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real N'awlins Muffuletta

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made a few changes: skipped the capers, used Mezzetta Italian mix with cauliflower, celery and carrot, used hot pickled chili peppers in place of the pepperoncinis, skipped canola oil (used a little extra EVOO) and skipped the mortadella. Made a great muffaletta, according to my guests (I don't eat meat so didn't try this one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I think I did something terribly wrong. I tried making this into cupcakes, baking for 25 minutes at 325, as another reviewer suggested. I must have over-filled them, because they overflowed, and then sank down in the middles. I hope they taste good, because they look terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made a few alterations to this recipe, but the combination of flavors is out of this world. I cut the cheese in half, and used the pre-shredded Italian blend so that the squash takes the main stage. I also added oregano to make it a little more savory. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very tasty, but a little too spicy. I didn't even use the hot sauce. I'm from the South and love spice, but too much can take away the other flavors and the enjoyment of the dish. I will make again and scale back on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Crescent Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Soooooo yummy! Jimmy Dean HOT sausage, cream cheese, and crescent rolls are all you need. Didn't use the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Brown Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Pretty good! Definitely needed seasoning, but easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good basic waffle recipe. Quick to make and delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and they came out great, family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was fantastic! My husband said it looked and tasted like it was from a top notch restaraunt! I loved the spicy tangy sauce! I added extra crushed red pepper and extra garlic of course! I only used shrimp, but I give this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

Triple-Cheese Macaroni

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yum!! My family could not get enough of this macaraoni and cheese. This going to be my go-to recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joanne's Super Hero Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is THE best Italian sandwich I've ever had! It really is an amazing amount of meat and cheese and bread but it is so worth breaking whatever diet you were attempting before coming across this recipe. I don't put the full amount of olives it calls for because while I KNOW it would be amazing.. my boyfriend doesn't like olives. Lame, I know. SO instead I double the mushrooms. I also tried it once w/ rice vinegar as it was the only vinegar I had on hand. Just added a touch more lemon juice to balance it out and it was still absolutely fantastic! If you're just starting cooking or you're not really sure of yourself in the kitchen this one is a no fail recipe! No matter what corners you need to cut it'll be just fine. :) My only small problem is I brought a few pieces for some friends at work and now every time I make it half the office is asking if I can bring a piece for them next time! lol Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Morning Frittata

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I tried it with mild cheddar instead of Mozarella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Quick Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My son made this straight from the recipe, and the results fit pretty well with the other reviews... A bit dry, and rather bland. Rather than messing with it, I think we'll go back to taking the time to make the delicious Italian Herb Bread I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyblitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We've been hunting for a delicious pancake recipe, and this is IT! I made it exactly following the recipe, except that I was perhaps 1/4 c. shy of buttermilk, so I upped the whole milk to compensate. I added a bit more milk during cooking, as it naturally continued to thicken up, but it was certainly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyblitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
VERY YUMMY - FREEZES WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
AMAZING AS IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was good, but a little too cheesy for me and trust me that is hard because I'm a huge cheese lover! The swiss was overpowering and to me, made it a little funky. But - it's your own personal taste, for me 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Used Shitake Mushroom and added a lil chicken broth. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaSmartino

Grandma Ople's Apple Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe turned out PERFECTLY! I was worried, because I let the syrup sti and cool by accident, so it was almost too thick, but it still worked beautifully. I did take the other user's advice and add a bit of vanilla to the syrup and tossed the apples in cinnamon. The french pastry pie crust is the perfect compliment to this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States