Biloxi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had let alone ever made! I refuse to buy another boxed chocolate cake or cake out of a store for that matter. My four year old daughter and I made this last night and half of the cake was gone within 20 minutes. I was hesitant to use the hot water because prior to adding the batter was at the perfect cake consistency, but I followed the directions to the 't' and I'm glad I did. The end result was a moist, rich, light chocolate cake with 6 protruding bellies. Thank you for providing this recipe it will definitely join our collection and will be passed generation after generation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Mmm, what could be better than peanut butter cookies than flourless peanut butter cookies. I have to admit I was skeptical about not adding flour but this simple 3 ingredient recipe was by far the best I have ever had (store bought or made). My husband and kids absolutely kept coming back for more. The taste was crunchy on the outside, soft inside, and peanut butter through and through. This is definitely a recipe that will kept in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious...I didn't alternate between using two pots because the starch from the rice pot helped to thicken and it didn't make any sense to do so. After the rice had cooked I just added the remaining ingredients in order. I found however, that I had to add a touch more sugar for my taste and that of my kids. I used mixed raisins, and a half cup of half-n-half in addition to milk. Then added a few dashes of cinnamon to top it off, the end result was an empty pot in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
OMG, I wish I could give these 10 stars. These are by far the best pretzels ever. They came out soft and chewy and were delicious with either a side of warm cream cheese, nacho cheese sauce, and or just as is with sea salt (didn't have kosher on hand) or cinnamon/sugar (we've tried them all). We didn't change a thing and each and every time they reminded us how much money we had wasted going to the mall and buying them. So thank you Christa Rose for providing with a full-proof recipe this is one recipe that will be passed down to my kids (actually my 6 year old made the first batch which is noted in the picture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These were delicious and a recipe keeper. I didn't have on hand heavy cream so I used half-n-half and I didn't notice a difference. Aside from that I added more sugar to my strawberries and let them sit overnight which created a sweet delicious berry juice. My kids loved these shortcakes and said "mom this is a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was delicioso as my children have stated. The only thing I did different was I drizzled a little bit of evo before adding the butter, used more fresh garlic (as we are garlic eaters), incorporated 2 cups of white wine (Pinot Grigio), dash of garlic powder and salt (told ya we love garlic) and fresh grated parmesan cheese. Many would think that it would be too garlicky but actually it was very subtle but gave the pasta a little something something when it was all mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Tartar Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was by far the best tartar sauce ever and the fact that it was homemade makes it that much better...I have always loved and kept packed of Long John Silver's Tartar sauce because I could never find a restaurant that could out do them. But this my friends surpasses them. I followed the recipe to the "T" adding in the lemon juice but omitting the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm from the south and my boyfriend is New Orleans bred so I can tell you, this is not authentic New Orleans Jambalaya...however, whatever you want to call it, it's AWESOME! We both love it and will definitely be making it again. I used two chicken breasts, which wasn't enough..next time I will probably use 4. I used 1/2 the amount of cayenne and there was plenty of heat. I did use spicy fire roasted diced tomatoes and "Slap Yo Mama" seasoning for the cajun seasoning, so I'm sure that contributed to the heat. Also added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of chopped garlic. It's fine without the shrimp, but who turns down shrimp! Either way will be very satisfying. I boiled about 3 cups of brown rice separately and dumped it in the last 20 minutes. First night it was a little soupy but we were very pleased with the flavor. 2nd night it thickened up closer to jambalaya status, but not what we down south consider jambalaya. Regardless, it's a great cajun dish that is definitely going to become a regular with us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This sauce was simple and heaven...What I did was melt the butter slowly (so that it doesn't brown), then I added the cream and because I needed more sauce than what the recipe called for and only had a cup and half of heavy cream I also added to that half and half (for my volume). After that simmered for about 5-10 minutes I grated a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of sea salt, incorporated some fresh ground pepper (medium grind), and fresh Parmesan/Mozzarella cheese mixture. The end result was a white sauce which was velvet over a bed of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Hoagie Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaside2008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I took into account all of the other reviews before I made this recipe and used a couple of other peoples revisions. My husband said "Don't ever lose this recipe," because this is the best Salisbury Steak he has ever had! I supplemented the Onion Soup w/ Beefy Onion Soup packet. I supplemented one can of Cream of Chicken Soup w/ Cream of Mushroom Soup. I added one tbsp. of minced garlic in olive oil to the gravy and used 1/4 cup of merlot and 1/2 cup of beef broth instead of the water! I also added sliced Portabello Mushrooms in the last thirty minutes of cook time! This was EXCELLENT!!!!! I'll be making this recipe the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have beef bouillon so I used beef broth instead. I also cut back the salt and only used 2 pork chops. My boyfriend and I love sage so I kept the seasoning measurements the same despite only using 2 chops and it turned out amazing. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 3 tablespoons of cornstarch to 3 tablespoons of cold water and mixed that into the sauce to make a gravy. I'd never attempted a homemade gravy before and it turned out amazing. It was a little on the salty side but that's probably my fault because I didn't use reduced sodium beef broth. All in all, we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Weaver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana Dot's Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was perfect and absolutely delicious! I used 1C whole wheat flour and 1 1/2C all-purpose flour, but that is the only change I made. I loved the raisins and currants, but the caraway seeds were my favorite part! They add a depth of flavor to this bread that can't be achieved any other way. Please don't leave them out! The texture was perfect, and everyone loved it! This bread will be added to my regular rotation. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real N'awlins Muffuletta

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made a few changes: skipped the capers, used Mezzetta Italian mix with cauliflower, celery and carrot, used hot pickled chili peppers in place of the pepperoncinis, skipped canola oil (used a little extra EVOO) and skipped the mortadella. Made a great muffaletta, according to my guests (I don't eat meat so didn't try this one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I think I did something terribly wrong. I tried making this into cupcakes, baking for 25 minutes at 325, as another reviewer suggested. I must have over-filled them, because they overflowed, and then sank down in the middles. I hope they taste good, because they look terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made a few alterations to this recipe, but the combination of flavors is out of this world. I cut the cheese in half, and used the pre-shredded Italian blend so that the squash takes the main stage. I also added oregano to make it a little more savory. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very tasty, but a little too spicy. I didn't even use the hot sauce. I'm from the South and love spice, but too much can take away the other flavors and the enjoyment of the dish. I will make again and scale back on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Crescent Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Soooooo yummy! Jimmy Dean HOT sausage, cream cheese, and crescent rolls are all you need. Didn't use the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Brown Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Pretty good! Definitely needed seasoning, but easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good basic waffle recipe. Quick to make and delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and they came out great, family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States