Biloxi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
All I can say is yum! This exceeded my expectations, the batter created this crunchy coat round the chicken and was delicious by itself after I took the advise of others and seasoned my chicken with salt and pepper. I must admit that if I had not read some reviews probably to making it, the batter may have been a complete disaster. The batter will be very thick and sticky and you may think that your batter isn't adhering to the chicken but trust me when I say that it will puff with barely anything on it as long as it has been dipped in the batter. I cooked my chicken probably an hour before we had dinner, and just before serving it I placed it in the oven on 200 degrees for about 15 minutes and the coating was still crunchy. Also I didn't have orange food coloring and had to use red (about 8 drops) for it not to look so pink after the slurry was added. But aside from that my family really enjoyed it, thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Bacon Feta Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a great side dish to bring to a BBQ or summer party. I use the Green Giant Full Length Green Beans Steamable Bags and add crumbled bacon, feta & seasonings as soon as I take it out of bag. So fast and tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I LOVE THIS! I used turkey bacon, substituted mayo with greek yogurt, used fresh spinach instead of frozen and added some shredded mozzarella cheese I had on hand. Next time I may add some finely chopped jalapeno for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
great recipe and sooo easy! only thing i added was fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Feta Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Delish as written. Received praise after praise when I served it at a Mardi Gras party with black tortilla chips. WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colcannon Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this for St. Patty's day and we really enjoyed it. So now I know I'm a leek fan! The only change I made was adding bacon, but next time I think I'll do cornbeef or ham. To me it fit better as a brunch dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I'm a newbie cook, but love exotic dishes that are usually too complicated for me to attempt. This is the BEST curry recipe for a beginner and it taste SO AMAZING! After reading reviews, I opted for 4 chicken breasts, an extra tablespoon of curry powder, substituted tomato sauce with tomato paste (A MUST), used UNsweetened coconut milk and half the amount of sugar. I also added a stalk of celery finely chopped and 1/2 yellow bell pepper after the chicken. Then once the milk and tomatoes were put in, I added a couple dashes of cinnamon, chili powder, cumin and a lil red pepper flakes. The 3 biggest complaints I read was that it's too sweet, too bland &/or not thick enough. Follow above and you won't have any of those problems! My boyfriend says it's one of my best dishes yet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth'sMom

Beer Butt Rosemary Chicken

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This recipes was so good and so easy. Next time will add a bit more seasoning to the skin to add more flavoring. The potatoes came out perfectly on the side. Will def use again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth'sMom

Parmesan Asparagus

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
So easy, so good! HIGHLY recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had let alone ever made! I refuse to buy another boxed chocolate cake or cake out of a store for that matter. My four year old daughter and I made this last night and half of the cake was gone within 20 minutes. I was hesitant to use the hot water because prior to adding the batter was at the perfect cake consistency, but I followed the directions to the 't' and I'm glad I did. The end result was a moist, rich, light chocolate cake with 6 protruding bellies. Thank you for providing this recipe it will definitely join our collection and will be passed generation after generation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Mmm, what could be better than peanut butter cookies than flourless peanut butter cookies. I have to admit I was skeptical about not adding flour but this simple 3 ingredient recipe was by far the best I have ever had (store bought or made). My husband and kids absolutely kept coming back for more. The taste was crunchy on the outside, soft inside, and peanut butter through and through. This is definitely a recipe that will kept in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious...I didn't alternate between using two pots because the starch from the rice pot helped to thicken and it didn't make any sense to do so. After the rice had cooked I just added the remaining ingredients in order. I found however, that I had to add a touch more sugar for my taste and that of my kids. I used mixed raisins, and a half cup of half-n-half in addition to milk. Then added a few dashes of cinnamon to top it off, the end result was an empty pot in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
OMG, I wish I could give these 10 stars. These are by far the best pretzels ever. They came out soft and chewy and were delicious with either a side of warm cream cheese, nacho cheese sauce, and or just as is with sea salt (didn't have kosher on hand) or cinnamon/sugar (we've tried them all). We didn't change a thing and each and every time they reminded us how much money we had wasted going to the mall and buying them. So thank you Christa Rose for providing with a full-proof recipe this is one recipe that will be passed down to my kids (actually my 6 year old made the first batch which is noted in the picture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
These were delicious and a recipe keeper. I didn't have on hand heavy cream so I used half-n-half and I didn't notice a difference. Aside from that I added more sugar to my strawberries and let them sit overnight which created a sweet delicious berry juice. My kids loved these shortcakes and said "mom this is a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Shrimp Scampi V

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This was delicioso as my children have stated. The only thing I did different was I drizzled a little bit of evo before adding the butter, used more fresh garlic (as we are garlic eaters), incorporated 2 cups of white wine (Pinot Grigio), dash of garlic powder and salt (told ya we love garlic) and fresh grated parmesan cheese. Many would think that it would be too garlicky but actually it was very subtle but gave the pasta a little something something when it was all mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Tartar Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was by far the best tartar sauce ever and the fact that it was homemade makes it that much better...I have always loved and kept packed of Long John Silver's Tartar sauce because I could never find a restaurant that could out do them. But this my friends surpasses them. I followed the recipe to the "T" adding in the lemon juice but omitting the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I'm from the south and my boyfriend is New Orleans bred so I can tell you, this is not authentic New Orleans Jambalaya...however, whatever you want to call it, it's AWESOME! We both love it and will definitely be making it again. I used two chicken breasts, which wasn't enough..next time I will probably use 4. I used 1/2 the amount of cayenne and there was plenty of heat. I did use spicy fire roasted diced tomatoes and "Slap Yo Mama" seasoning for the cajun seasoning, so I'm sure that contributed to the heat. Also added about 1 1/2 teaspoons of chopped garlic. It's fine without the shrimp, but who turns down shrimp! Either way will be very satisfying. I boiled about 3 cups of brown rice separately and dumped it in the last 20 minutes. First night it was a little soupy but we were very pleased with the flavor. 2nd night it thickened up closer to jambalaya status, but not what we down south consider jambalaya. Regardless, it's a great cajun dish that is definitely going to become a regular with us. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This sauce was simple and heaven...What I did was melt the butter slowly (so that it doesn't brown), then I added the cream and because I needed more sauce than what the recipe called for and only had a cup and half of heavy cream I also added to that half and half (for my volume). After that simmered for about 5-10 minutes I grated a pinch of nutmeg, a pinch of sea salt, incorporated some fresh ground pepper (medium grind), and fresh Parmesan/Mozzarella cheese mixture. The end result was a white sauce which was velvet over a bed of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Hoagie Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaside2008

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I took into account all of the other reviews before I made this recipe and used a couple of other peoples revisions. My husband said "Don't ever lose this recipe," because this is the best Salisbury Steak he has ever had! I supplemented the Onion Soup w/ Beefy Onion Soup packet. I supplemented one can of Cream of Chicken Soup w/ Cream of Mushroom Soup. I added one tbsp. of minced garlic in olive oil to the gravy and used 1/4 cup of merlot and 1/2 cup of beef broth instead of the water! I also added sliced Portabello Mushrooms in the last thirty minutes of cook time! This was EXCELLENT!!!!! I'll be making this recipe the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States