Biloxi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Catfish Tuscany

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I prepared this on top of couscous and sautéed spinach and it was so good! Very easy. The only thing i did different was flip the fish, added lemon, garlic salt /w parsley, pepper and parmesan topping and broiled for a few minutes until topping browned before i added chopped roma tomatoes and then i broiled an addtl 6 min. I was using pretty large filets so the extra time was needed. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lasagna II

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I used what I had on hand which was a healthier version and came out amazing. I used whole grain lasagna, 2lbs of ground turkey instead of hamburger, 24oz tomato basil spaghetti sauce + drained can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, 15oz ricotta cheese in lieu of cottage, frozen parsley/basil cubes instead of dried. I added onion, garlic, season salt/black pepper & 2 basil cubes to the meat and after browned added spaghetti sauce & tomatoes and simmered for 30 min. Boiled lasagna for 8 min, drained & dried. Mixed ricotta, 1/2 cup of parmesan (on accident didn't read i was only supposed to use half...but glad i used all of it), the 2 eggs and 4 parsley cubes in separate bowl. Layered as instructed and skipped the water. Baked at 375 for 40 min and uncovered for additional 20. The result was a firm, non-runny, delicious lasagna that was light on sauce. My boyfriend and I liked it that way but if you want it more runny and saucy use more spaghetti sauce instead of substituting w/ diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seth'sMom

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Very easy to make. I too, skipped the flour. I flattened the chicken. Okay, but don't think I will make again. Kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rick's Tomato Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I have made this gravy twice now. Made it exactly as written!!! Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trinidad, Colorado, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Kimmie Ann

Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this for supper tonight and having had the real thing in Japan, I must admit it was very close It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'm only rating 3 stars because I made some changes based on other reviews. I added a 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 2 cups regular milk then 3 cups of water. It still didn't taste like anything special so I added some dark chocolate chips. Ultimately it was creamy and chocolates, all the things hot chocolate should be :) Also, if you slowly stir in the cocoa little bits at a time to the condensed milk, you avoid the "grittiness" or sediment that other reviewers complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Cherry Spice Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this in my Bundt pan after reading several reviews suggesting it, but it was too dense for me. Might have been better as a layer cake... (That's what I get for making alterations before trying the original!) The icing was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, left out the yogurt and garnished with sour cream. I also drained the black beans. We (me AND my sometimes-picky kids) LOVED it, after adding some salt. I only realized there was none in the recipe after we sat down to eat. Oh, I also threw the Rotel into the food processor with the beans, because my son prefers tomatoes he can't see. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe except use chicken tenders instead and season it beforehand. I've made it with big chicken breasts and not as good. I guess the tenders just cook perfectly and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very good, i was impressed. Only change was adding cut up celery, seasoning chicken before putting in crockpot and substituted water w/ chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pancakes I

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Yummy! I just added a little vanilla and ths super simple recipe turned out great! Secret to beautiful pancakes? Warm cast iron skillet....perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Pastel de Tres Leches (Three Milk Cake)

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is THE Tres Leches Cake recipe to use! Easy to make and so delicious! Better than any I've had at restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWINMOMLOVESFOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this tonight for supper and my sweetheart that is going through chemo and he said this was the best salisbury steak I have ever made. He said it was "Heaven to his stomach and soul!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread I

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is exactly the kind of cornbread I need in my life! Raised in southern Mississippi and I don't believe in sweet cornbread. The only thing that I'm going to do differently next time is use butter instead of the shortening. But it's great with shortening too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key West Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
i used it for grilled kabobs, delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Tomato Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Very light and refreshing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this many times and I always get asked to make them again. Follow the recipe to a T except I think I throw in a lil extra bacon and cheese. I then sprinkle the tops with Slap Yo Mama (cajun seasoning). Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have used this recipe for both chicken and pork and both are wonderful for tacos and nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fast, easy and delicious! I used old bay seasoning in lieu of celery salt/onion powder. I also seasoned the fish with lemon and old bay on both sides prior to broiling. I'm glad I did b/c I think it would have been too bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Followed recipe to a T and it came out wonderful. Next time I think I'll try chicken breasts instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mele jean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States