Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti Sauce II

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is my "go to" spaghetti sauce recipe. My husband and I don't care much for spaghetti but our kids love it so I try to make it occasionally. This is a good recipe. It's the only one I use. I don't measure my ingredients but I haven't modified anything that goes in it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree. WAY too salty. Going to try 1/6th of the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tpalmertree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grenada, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

Homemade Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Not sure what I did wrong it's so thick like have to put in microwave to heat so it can be pourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newluckgirl
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Midnight Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I can't believe I am giving a sandwich 5 stars, but I am. This is a great way to use up holiday turkey and ham. The mayo/Italian dressing is surprisingly delicious. I used up some Hawaiian rolls, which were very, very good and also made one on a hoagie. Again, a great way to use up leftovers. My only issue was I used cast iron and the bread was done before the inside was hot. In the future, I will have the meat at room temp or warmed. Again, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Overnight Sweet Potato Oatmeal for One

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I love overnight oatmeal and make mine using most of the ingredients listed for this one. While I like sweet potatoes, I discovered with this recipe that I don't particularly care for them in my oatmeal. I think this is a personal preference type thing on my part. Others might really like this savory oatmeal, but I'll probably stick with fruit in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Kimmie Ann

Lucy's Quick Tonkatsu Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this for supper tonight and having had the real thing in Japan, I must admit it was very close It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chickpeas

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made the recipe using garlic salt, cumin, cayenne and black pepper and found that another 10 minutes in the oven was needed to make them crunchy. Even with the liberal use of spices, I found it difficult to get much flavor on the peas. They reminded me of half popped popcorn, but had less flavor. If I make these again, I might try bacon drippings a pinch of sugar and dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Pie Filling

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was absolutely delicious! I used frozen cherries and a small touch of almond extract. It made the pie perfectly sweet, not too sweet! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Simon Michener
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good....will definitely make this again. Thanks ERINVDIX !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VER
Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA

Vicki's Hush Puppies

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
From all the times I've tried to make hush puppies, these were the first that everyone has really liked. I did use my food processor and chopped the onions fine - someone mentioned about grating the onions so there's more juice, but the food processor works great too! I also use the Whilte Lily Self-rising flour and the White Lily Buttermilk Cornbread mix, which probably makes them on the lighter side. This is a keeper recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I would add crispy bacon for this to go over the top! Trust me its good with the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

Jet Swirl Pizza Appetizers

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Thanks for this fabulous recipe! Our family gets together on Christmas Eve afternoon so those with little kids and other families can be where they need to be that night. We have hors d'oeuvres rather than a big meal. I found this recipe while looking for something new to try, and it was a huge hit. Everyone loved it from the little kids to the oldest grand father. I made 1 with the pizza dough and 1 with Pillsbury french loaf that someone suggested. I do NOT recommend the french loaf - it was still good, but did not work well at all for folding and looks. The other one looked like it belonged in a magazine picture when it came out of the oven. I cooked it for the 28 minutes that others recommended and cut it into bite size pieces to serve. We think it needs some pizza sauce or marinara for dipping, but it was very easy and will be served at many future parties. Thanks, Julie Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'm only rating 3 stars because I made some changes based on other reviews. I added a 12 oz can of evaporated milk and 2 cups regular milk then 3 cups of water. It still didn't taste like anything special so I added some dark chocolate chips. Ultimately it was creamy and chocolates, all the things hot chocolate should be :) Also, if you slowly stir in the cocoa little bits at a time to the condensed milk, you avoid the "grittiness" or sediment that other reviewers complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Honey Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Followed recipe exactly except poured sauce in pan & over meat without occasional basting. Wonderful especially if you used remaining sauce as dipping sauce. I may add granulated garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made the recipe, as written, leaving it to slow-cook for for nearly 8 hours. It was OK, but seemed a bit sweet than I like. Reading through the ingredients again, the only thing I can figure is that my corn must have been the culprit, or maybe the enchilada sauce. If I were to make this again, I'd reduce the amount of corn by a third, and use taco seasoning rather than enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Spice Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this in my Bundt pan after reading several reviews suggesting it, but it was too dense for me. Might have been better as a layer cake... (That's what I get for making alterations before trying the original!) The icing was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I'd never made bread from scratch before. Almost a fool proof recipe. I used my ninja dough blade to mix the first batch, I didn't check the temp on my water before adding the yeast, and I ended up putting all the dough into my 13x4x4 USA bread pan (worth every penny guys). The bread was great for the most part, but a little underdone in the center, rose out of the pan a bit, and it had a slight "yeasty" taste. The next batch I made, I actually made sure the water temp was around 110, and I put only 2/3 of the dough into my 13x4x4 bread pan...I put the remaining 1/3 of dough into a separate 9x5x2.75 pan. I also kneaded the dough by hand this time (for only about 2 min). --- TURNED OUT PERFECT. I mean it is ridiculous how painless this was to make. I used it for sandwiches, toast, and dipping into an herbed olive oil...yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

Bubba's Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
If you like hot tamales, you'll like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Best banana nut bread recipe ever! Super moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Banana Bread - Quick Bread for Machines

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I'm only giving this two stars because it was very simple. I will be sticking with my recipe from now on. I really don't like to give bad reviews but this was entirely too dry even using 3 bananas. It was not nearly as sweet as I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States