Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Easy and very good. Like other reviewers I browned the ground beef and taco seasoning at the same time and then put everything together in the crock-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lloyd Blackmon
Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Refried Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
4.5 Stars: Quick and good. I halved the recipe and may have used a bit too much garlic, but really liked them. Go easy on the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe made a double crust pie for me. I used rock hard frozen butter so I knew I would need a little more water (someone asked why they use more water). For the water I just make a glass of ice water -- no need to measure because the flour tells me when to stop. I also use the food processor when adding the water, but I use a pulse after each addition water; a very quick pulse and it will either stick together like dough, or need another addition of water. Don't pulse again out of curiosity wondering if there is enough water. As soon as you have added enough water it will immediately look like dough after a very quick pulse pulse. I always roll it out between 2 sheets of plastic wrap -- throw a little flour on the plastic wrap so you can peel it off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa...

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Ranch Cheeseball

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Very fast and easy! I made the shape more into a cheese log rather than a ball, and took it and a few sleeves of Ritz crackers to a small party. It was gone in no time and everybody raved about it. Thanks CASTOWAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Unbelievable Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
This recipe was/is a big hit at my house! The only thing I changed was to use thighs instead of breasts. It's definitely in my top 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by deltacooking

Garlic Cheese Grits with Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This dish is amazing! One of the simplest and delicious recipes I have ever made. I added velveeta shreds and used quick grits. Added a little blackened seasoning to the shrimp for some heat. It's just sinfully delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deltacooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti with Sausage

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This was a Father's Day hit. The only change I made was to add fresh basil I was growing. It will feed a crowd, or do as I did and put half in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Texas Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I was really not expecting to like this recipe, but felt compelled to try it based on the reviews. I am really glad I did. It's a very good cole slaw. The only thing I did to deviate from the the original recipe was to use fresh corn, rather than canned. Fast. Easy. Unique. Flavorful. Winner. Thanks CINP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Grilled Asian Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
4.5 Stars: I heated the marinade and marinated the meat overnight. I put three deep cuts in each breast so the marinade gets in better. I boiled the marinade, baked the chicken and basted. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Wanda McKean Noblitt

One-Pan Chicken Dinner

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Super easy to put together and so full of flavor. My husband and my 4-year-old twins devoured it. I only changed a few things: I didn't use canned green beans, I used frozen whole green beans; I used a homemade Italian dressing seasoning that I found on Allrecipes; I didn't use butter, just sprayed the pan with butter-flavored non-stick spray and lightly sprayed the top of everything once I added the seasoning. The chicken was tender, and the green beans & potatoes were cooked perfectly. It came out so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda McKean Noblitt
Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Best Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
In my opinion the best cheesecake ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salt and Vinegar Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I scaled it down to two servings, but found it difficult to use 1/4 of an egg, so I used a whole one. Otherwise, I made it exactly as written. It was good, but did not have the pronounced vinegar taste I had expected. Even after the chicken was done (reached an internal temp of 165), the skin hadn't crisped up much. Next time, (if there is one), I'll add pepper and garlic to the marinade and finish it under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Slow Cooker Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
4.5 Stars: I used a pork loin, trimmed of all fat and rubbed two packages of taco seasoning on it. I only used 1/3 cup water and cooked it for 6 hours. It made great soft tacos. Super easy, but be careful with the time or the pork will get mushy. 6 hours was right for a 4 lb. pork loin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I was hesitant to try it at first, but the good reviews finally won me over. Using dry black beans instead of the canned kidney beans was the only change I made. The burritos were good, but certainly not "can't wait to make `em again good"! In spite of the cayenne, chili powder and mustard, they were still a bit bland. I'd suggest to anyone getting ready to make the recipe to have your favorite salsa on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is an excellent, nicely balanced BBQ sauce. I followed the directions exactly, except, as suggested by others, cooked the sauce for a minute or two. It was so easy and is so good, I doubt I'll ever buy any ready made sauce from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Based on the great reviews, I made a batch a few days ago to go with the pork butt I smoked. The taste was good, but unlike the sauces I'm used to, this has the consistency of water. I hope I don't ruin the flavor, but I'm planning to thicken it by adding some catsup, just as soon as there is enough room in the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This is an excellent way to make chicken. I baked a few boneless, skinless chicken thighs at 350 for about 10 minutes, then broiled it for an additional 10-15 minutes, (until the internal temp reached 165). They were juicy and extremely tasty. I'll be making this all the time. Thanks Avasewell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Lemon-Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
This was a nice, yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brsharky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I didn't add the bacon, but did add some onion. It was great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brsharky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I love this recipe as I can use different things with it, if I don't have a certain ingredient then I just use something else.... and my boys just LOVE them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Emmi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Landisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States