Mississippi - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by MSippigrl

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Best pumpkin pie I've ever made! I used a box of refrigerated pie crusts to make mini pies in a muffin pan. I also reduced the spices just a tad. Will be my go-to pumpkin pie recipe from now on. Will post photos. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

3 Cheese Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was good as the recipe goes. I used corn tortillas Much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Turkey Roll Sushi

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I wanted this for my lunch and really liked it. As the submitter suggested, this is a perfect recipe for customizing with whatever you happen to have. Since I didn't have pickled peppers, I subbed dill pickles. I also felt that the amount of garlic called for would be too much, so I just sprinkled and tasted until I liked the flavor. While I ate this for lunch, I can really see it on an appetizer tray as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I hate to rate a recipe when I change things. I have to tell you how I cooked it. I didn't grill it because I didn't have time. I didn't change any ingredients. The marinade is AWESOME! I cooked it in a skillet. I made gravy out of the marinade (I always make homemade gravy). I served it over rice. I would give this 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is really great marinade.I will be using it from now on. The next time I will omit the basil, that is just my personal taste. Thanks for sharing kookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Nicole

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was delicious. I made my own self rising flour because I always have better results when I make my own. I didn't have whole milk so I used half and half, and I added two small packs of blueberries. The cake is nice and buttery while still being tender and airy. The light lemon whipped topping goes perfect with the cake and makes a perfect end-of-summer treat that feels like you're indulging without it weighing you down. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. I thought they were OK, but, all in all, just average. It's a good start, but way too bland. If I use this recipe again, I'll add lots of garlic, basil, jalapeño, or something, to kick it up a notch. I liked the suggestion about using spaghetti sauce. It might be fun to use pasta instead of rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mssasz

Chef John's Strawberry Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I found the flavor to be a bit lacking. I made this as a treat for my husband who requested Strawberry Ice Cream as our flavor of the week and we both thought it was "just okay." It's missing something for sure. In my opinion, it wasn't sweet enough and didn't taste enough like the real deal. Perhaps adding strawberry extract will help or even adding more strawberries and sugar. If you are used to starting your home made ice cream with the egg custard, you may be disappointed a little with the taste of this one. This one needs tweaking a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssasz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I love this recipe. I omitted the Parmesan since I don't like it but kept everything else. The spices are up to each individual but as a cook you have to add spices throughout the cooking to balance the dish regardless of what the recipe says. I never look at the amount of salt and pepper or any other spices since I go by taste. The type of sausage used in the dish is also going to effect the amount of spices as well as how well you are concentrating the beef sauce. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lars Sahlen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Love this! My friends love it! I'm from Louisiana, lived in Pennsylvania, and now reside in Mississippi. Everyone I have served this to has loved it and always asks for the recipe. Sometimes I change it up a little with red onion, cider vinegar, leave out the dill, and add mayo for the creaminess (and they still love it). This is my number one cucumber recipe. ThankX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Cousin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Donaldsonville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Whats to say.... Bacon and whatever is always great! Some hot mustard and your there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Way better than Manwich. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgnscar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Meringue Icebox Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious. Needed a little more lemon flavor but other than that it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saltillo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I bought a little kitchen gadget called a spiralizer. By pushing/twisting zucchini (or, yellow squash, cucumbers, etc), through the gadget, it creates perfect spaghetti like strands. The prep of this recipe is made very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
If you like bananas (which I do) this is a pretty good recipe. I will make it again. HOWEVER, you need to add 4 cups of milk! I'm glad I already knew that or it wouldn't have turned out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
After reading several of the reviews I made sure to grease and flour my pans. I baked the bread for 80 minutes and even though the toothpick came out clean the pans were greased and floured the bread still stuck. This bread is delicious and I will make it again but next time I'm gonna leave it in the oven for 90 - 100 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLovePuppies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Myrtle, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chris' Best Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very Tasty and a nice change. A little cucumber sauce and your there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Mauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Poplarville, Mississippi, USA

Pizzelles III

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
So easy for a first time prizzelle maker. Used the tip from another reviewer and put my batter in a frosting bag made it Easy Peasy! Thanks for the recipe and all the wonderful rewiews. They made this recipe an easy choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Paula

Zucchini and Eggs

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
What a delicious breakfast and a great way to get more veggies in your diet! The garlic powder makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Banana Nut Bread III

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I don't know what went wrong but my bread turned out really dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States