Paducah, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

King Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was my first I'd ever made! It was hard to get the pieces wide enough for the filling without it oozing out, BUT was delicious nonetheless! I got lots of compliments and the filling was great. I did use my own frosting though -- great cake! Someone even told me it was better than one they'd had that was store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Needed a bit more cheese in my opinion, but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Roll Ups

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
A delicious appetiser. I substitue pickled okra (trim for nice fit) for the pickle. Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was very good. The only thing I would do differently the next time is to add some sauted onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Smothered Filet Mignon

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So easy to prepare but delicious! Have made this numerous times and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It was okay tasting. Next time I am going to try it with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
OMG!!! Today was the first time I have EVER cooked a ham. I used an 8-lb hickory smoked, bone-in shank and butt ham (don't know much about different ham cuts) and the two cups of brown sugar. At first, it didn't fit, so I put foil over it and then my lid. After it shrank some, I was able to use only the lid. I cooked it for eight hours, checking it once every 1-2 hours. It turned out wonderful and every picky tween over my house loved it. Its definitely a winner. Next time, I think I will trim some of the fat off the ham first or try one that is leaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewiest Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used the reviewers suggestions and decreased the cocoa and sugar. Also, I mixed the cocoa, butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in one bowl and the flour and salt in another before adding it all together. The mixture was still hard to mix, so I added a little evaporated milk leftover from another recipe. I also baked it in a greased 8x8 pan at 300 for 20-25 minutes. The brownies still came out fudgy and tasted like dark chocolate, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownies III

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and only used one cup of oil and one teaspoon of salt. I also used this recipe to introduce my "tween" son to Cooking 101 since the ingredients were simple and easy to measure. The brownies turned out marvelous and my son was proud of his creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas. I modified it alittle by adding instant vanilla pudding.The batter whipped up nice and fluffy. The cake was good, but not as moist as I wanted it to be. Next time I will add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for my Christmas brunch using many of the substitutions suggested. I doubled the recipe and used 1 lb Jimmy Dean maple sausage and 1 lb Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup regular milk and 2 lbs sharp shredded cheddar cheese. I reserved some of the cheese to sprinkle on top during the last 15 minutes of baking. I used a dozen eggs and 2 bags Reese garlic and cheese croutons. It came out perfectly and my family raved--everyone had seconds. It also keeps beautifully and tastes great heated in the microwave for several days afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzy63
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A friend of mine made this and it was simply awsome! I made them and forgot to add the soda to the liquid. Still great tasting and beautiful, just not as juicy. Will add the soda next time. Would give 10 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by RobinandDave

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice and light biscuits... I used saved bacon grease as shortening and it added a nice kind of salty flavor. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinandDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clam Sauce with Linguine

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Mine got sticky so I think some olive oil would have been a good addition, but we did enjoy it and would make it again. I'm not sure how it would have been with canned clams, but we used razor clams we'd harvested/dug ourselves and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Halibut

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Good, solid and OH-SO-EASY! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Rosemary Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The boyfriend approves, I approve, we're good! Good flavor, easy to make, they didn't crumble apart. I just cooked them on the stove top since it is cold out here in Alaska! I've made salmon burgers before, but I think I would use THIS recipe again instead of the one I'd used before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanutty Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We used moose meat and the boy loved it! I ate mine as they were, and the boy put his on a sandwich roll. Good times and he's already asked that I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was my first ever attempt at rolled out dumplings because I have always used the drop dumplings because of less mess. These dumplings turned out fantastic and were well worth the effort. I do like lots of dumplings though so next time I will use the entire dough recipe. Because the final result was thinner than I like I add a can of Cream of Celery soup and a little more flour to the mixture. I also added a few sliced baby carrots for color and some parsely and two chicken bullion cubes for flavor. The taste was fantastic. The best part was the left overs the following day. Just the right consistency and absolutey fabulous taste. I am making again to take to my Mothers for dinner tomarrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Came together very quickly. Wonderful flavor for only marinating 30 minutes. Made som shishkabobs and just grilled some breasts. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Came together very quickly. Wonderful flavor for only marinating 30 minutes. Made som shishkabobs and just grilled some breasts. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States