Paducah, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chewiest Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used the reviewers suggestions and decreased the cocoa and sugar. Also, I mixed the cocoa, butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in one bowl and the flour and salt in another before adding it all together. The mixture was still hard to mix, so I added a little evaporated milk leftover from another recipe. I also baked it in a greased 8x8 pan at 300 for 20-25 minutes. The brownies still came out fudgy and tasted like dark chocolate, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownies III

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and only used one cup of oil and one teaspoon of salt. I also used this recipe to introduce my "tween" son to Cooking 101 since the ingredients were simple and easy to measure. The brownies turned out marvelous and my son was proud of his creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas. I modified it alittle by adding instant vanilla pudding.The batter whipped up nice and fluffy. The cake was good, but not as moist as I wanted it to be. Next time I will add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for my Christmas brunch using many of the substitutions suggested. I doubled the recipe and used 1 lb Jimmy Dean maple sausage and 1 lb Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup regular milk and 2 lbs sharp shredded cheddar cheese. I reserved some of the cheese to sprinkle on top during the last 15 minutes of baking. I used a dozen eggs and 2 bags Reese garlic and cheese croutons. It came out perfectly and my family raved--everyone had seconds. It also keeps beautifully and tastes great heated in the microwave for several days afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzy63
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A friend of mine made this and it was simply awsome! I made them and forgot to add the soda to the liquid. Still great tasting and beautiful, just not as juicy. Will add the soda next time. Would give 10 stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by RobinandDave

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice and light biscuits... I used saved bacon grease as shortening and it added a nice kind of salty flavor. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinandDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clam Sauce with Linguine

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Mine got sticky so I think some olive oil would have been a good addition, but we did enjoy it and would make it again. I'm not sure how it would have been with canned clams, but we used razor clams we'd harvested/dug ourselves and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Halibut

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Good, solid and OH-SO-EASY! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Rosemary Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The boyfriend approves, I approve, we're good! Good flavor, easy to make, they didn't crumble apart. I just cooked them on the stove top since it is cold out here in Alaska! I've made salmon burgers before, but I think I would use THIS recipe again instead of the one I'd used before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanutty Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We used moose meat and the boy loved it! I ate mine as they were, and the boy put his on a sandwich roll. Good times and he's already asked that I make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

D' Best Chicken N' Dumplings

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was my first ever attempt at rolled out dumplings because I have always used the drop dumplings because of less mess. These dumplings turned out fantastic and were well worth the effort. I do like lots of dumplings though so next time I will use the entire dough recipe. Because the final result was thinner than I like I add a can of Cream of Celery soup and a little more flour to the mixture. I also added a few sliced baby carrots for color and some parsely and two chicken bullion cubes for flavor. The taste was fantastic. The best part was the left overs the following day. Just the right consistency and absolutey fabulous taste. I am making again to take to my Mothers for dinner tomarrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Came together very quickly. Wonderful flavor for only marinating 30 minutes. Made som shishkabobs and just grilled some breasts. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Came together very quickly. Wonderful flavor for only marinating 30 minutes. Made som shishkabobs and just grilled some breasts. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Delicious Feta-Crusted Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Very good. Though I would prefer it with less dijon mustard, the boyfriend loved it that way. The taste was strong enough to match the salmon and it was easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
perrrrfect. i had left over slowcooker onion roast. put about a cupfull of the meat and onion into skillet with garlic. only added about 1/4 c basil leaves. and last few minutes of cooking i took 3 tblsp sauce and added 1tsp corn starch and it was just right consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash Primavera

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Well, I'll be honest, it's definitely not like pasta -- but I didn't expect it to be. I tried this recipe for the health benefits of having a low-carb dinner. And with that being my expectation it was pretty good. I found that the feta was really the only thing that had flavor and I enjoyed it -- though I'm not sure how I'd change it to give it a more robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Premium Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Takes a little work -- but it was worth it. Delicious and the boyfriend is sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Swiss Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
VERY GOOD! Unique and delicious (even for someone who doesn't caren't for swiss cheese normally!). I have made this twice - once for myself and then the second time for a couple who had a premature baby in the hospital and our church group was feeding twice a week. I know I took a risk taking a quiche (with seafood no less) for the couple, but they LOVED it. Both times I used REAL crab and that's honestly the way to go. I have lived in Alaska for awhile now and am lucky enough to get it. The couple I made the 2nd quiche for is from the east coast and so while the crab varieties are different than what they grew up with, they also adored this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
It was rich, but we couldn't quit eating it. It made a LOT of sauce for just the gnocchi called for, but it was delicious. We added halibut to ours for some "meat" in the dish to make it more of a main dish than an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Um, YUMMY! Living in Alaska we were so excited to use our crab meat. My boyfriend is fond of Tex-Mex and well, it was a hit! We made it just as listed and it was good! Would make again -- but leaving out the green enchilada sauce -- just wasn't our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States