Paducah, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Texas Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
DEAR LORD THIS CAKE IS GOOD. As the usual reviewer does, I made some changes: I used cake flour instead of AP, a tiny bit more cocoa ( I love the choco), added some vanilla extract, and replaced the sour cream with applesauce as I had none on hand and it saved on some of the calories. Every little bit helps right? It was perfect! Fluffy, VERY moist, and the top produced a wonderful chocolatey texture. I cut this recipe in half and cooked in a round cake pan. We inhaled it, icing free. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amytronn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Casserole I

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I followed suggestions made by Ron and decreased my sugar to 1/2 cup and added cinnamon, pumpkin spice, and ginger. I also used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. My son said it was better than my mom's version; this is definitely my go-to recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Frosting

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I followed justme's suggestions and my frosting turned out good. The only downside was its slightly grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Pancakes

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I found these pancakes to be delicious and fluffy. I did not have any almond milk, so I used 2% milk and added an extra tablespoon of sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Halibut Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
VERY easy, with ingredients you likely have around the house already, this was a big hit. The creamy part wasn't overbearing at all and got thumbs up from all three men I was serving! Will definitely make again. In fact, I already did. My boyfriend liked it so much, we made more for his lunch this coming week because there was none leftover after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Marinade I

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I used this as a cooking sauce for 2 pork tenderloins in the crock pot. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used crunchy peanut butter and these cookies came out amazing. Next time I think I will add a little peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
After reading LOTS of reviews, they are correct by saying that this doesn't taste authentic but it was delicious! I made a few tiny changes: After combining all ingredients, I put everything in the blender to make it smooth (not just the salsa) and added some cayenne, crushed red pepper, and cornstarch to thicken since I did not want to use tomato paste and I like a little heat. I increased the onion to a little over 1/8th of a cup and the olive oil to 2(ish) tablespoons. It simmered for about 45 minutes. The salsa I added was homemade. We ate this poured over black bean and green chilies enchiladas and topped with colby-jack cheese. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amytronn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Strawberry Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used frozen strawberries instead of fresh one. It still turned out good. @Grandma Jones, sometimes you just need reassurance that you are going about the correct way of making strawberry sauce and others truly do not know how to make this dessert. Please do not assume everyone is proficient at all cooking (and non-cooking) methods. Even a child must first learn how to boil water before they can cook a hard-boiled egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Milk Sponge Cake I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used this cake to make a strawberry shortcake. Although it was easy to make, the cake was a little on the dry side. However, the juice from the strawberry sauce remedied that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poinsettias

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I enjoyed this version, but I made a non-alcoholic version for my son and his friends, by substituting sparkling white grape juice for the champagne. It tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mimosa

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I definitely enjoy making this drink. A non-alcoholic version would be to substituting sparkling white grape juice for the champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was my first I'd ever made! It was hard to get the pieces wide enough for the filling without it oozing out, BUT was delicious nonetheless! I got lots of compliments and the filling was great. I did use my own frosting though -- great cake! Someone even told me it was better than one they'd had that was store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Needed a bit more cheese in my opinion, but the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Roll Ups

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
A delicious appetiser. I substitue pickled okra (trim for nice fit) for the pickle. Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was very good. The only thing I would do differently the next time is to add some sauted onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Smothered Filet Mignon

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So easy to prepare but delicious! Have made this numerous times and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It was okay tasting. Next time I am going to try it with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
OMG!!! Today was the first time I have EVER cooked a ham. I used an 8-lb hickory smoked, bone-in shank and butt ham (don't know much about different ham cuts) and the two cups of brown sugar. At first, it didn't fit, so I put foil over it and then my lid. After it shrank some, I was able to use only the lid. I cooked it for eight hours, checking it once every 1-2 hours. It turned out wonderful and every picky tween over my house loved it. Its definitely a winner. Next time, I think I will trim some of the fat off the ham first or try one that is leaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewiest Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used the reviewers suggestions and decreased the cocoa and sugar. Also, I mixed the cocoa, butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in one bowl and the flour and salt in another before adding it all together. The mixture was still hard to mix, so I added a little evaporated milk leftover from another recipe. I also baked it in a greased 8x8 pan at 300 for 20-25 minutes. The brownies still came out fudgy and tasted like dark chocolate, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States