Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Incredible Punch

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Made this with normal ginger ale because we couldn't find the flavored and it still was a great hit! People had the choice of adding champagne, vodka, or rum as they wanted to their glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becchoate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Craigmont, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Cream Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Thanks for this recipe Cyndi! I was craving a cake last night and this did not let me down. Any recipe with as much sugar as flour is going to be dense, regardless of how many egg whites you fold in! I used coconut oil in place of margarine and left out the shredded coconut just because we don't care for it. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of salt. It turned out very tasty. I will definitely make this again. I used a silicone Bundt pan and baked it for about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Mogtastic

Amazing Lemon Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
These were very good. They turned out very soft, almost cake-like. It isn't precisely what I was expecting but they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Easy Greek Yogurt Cucumber Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this last night for Gyros, and it was fantastic. I made it as listed the night before, and the flavors melded perfectly. Tonight we used a little of the left over sauce to dip hot wings in, and it was super yummy! Tomorrow night we'll have pita chips to dip....there's no way I'm tossing the leftover sauce, we'll use every bit of it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, we'll be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Spinach Cheese Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The potential is definitely there for this to be an awesome recipe, but I found it to be quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Since trying this recipe, it has become "the" pancake recipe at my house. I make it weekly for my children who love it. My husband, who is not a pancake person, loves these as well. I have mixed chocolate chips in, fried apples for topping, used strawberries...they all are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My husband was skeptical about me making another enchilada recipe, but he loved this one! The soup and sour cream are a nice addition! Very easy to make however, I could do without the onions. The spices give plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Soup Cake I

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Thanks for this recipe Debbie! It is a very good tomato soup cake. I have been trying to emulate my great-grandmother Jenke's cake and this one gets pretty close. I didn't find it too salty However, I always use unsalted butter, and I'm from the south, so that might have something to do with it! A very simple tip I picked up over the years is to toss the raisins in with 1/4 of the flour before you combine everything. It keeps them from sinking down to the bottom of your cake. Overall, it was the tiniest bit bland, so I might add a bit more of the spices next time. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! I added chopped green/red/yellow pepper and fresh sliced mushrooms. Used hot Italian sausage instead of mild. And replaced the whole tomatoes with 2(14 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. I cooked the macaroni separately and added it to the soup in the individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were fantastic, and I’ll definitely make these again and again. Our three-year-old is a very light eater, usually eating only a few bites at meals and snacks, but this morning she ate a whole pancake! The texture was light and tender, and they’re just shy of sweet. I had buttermilk on hand, so didn’t use “sour” milk. I’ve used “sour” milk countless times, and I’m sure the result is equally as good. The only thing I’ll do differently the next time I make these is use 1 full cup of buttermilk. The batter is very thick, and like another reviewer points out, don’t be tempted to stir it down before cooking, or you’ll lose the tender, fluffy texture. I cooked them on lower heat than I usually use for pancakes (med-low); they’re very thick, and need just a smidgen more time to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were fantastic, and I’ll definitely make these again and again. Our three-year-old is a very light eater, usually eating only a few bites at meals and snacks, but this morning she ate a whole pancake! The texture was light and tender, and they’re just shy of sweet. I had buttermilk on hand, so didn’t use “sour” milk. I’ve used “sour” milk countless times, and I’m sure the result is equally as good. The only thing I’ll do differently the next time I make these is use 1 full cup of buttermilk. The batter is very thick, and like another reviewer points out, don’t be tempted to stir it down before cooking, or you’ll lose the tender, fluffy texture. I cooked them on lower heat than I usually use for pancakes (med-low); they’re very thick, and need just a smidgen more time to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is the best cookie dough I have ever worked with. I did not have any problem with it being too dry; I attribute this to using butter that has been left out overnight. These cookies are firm but stay chewy and soft after baking and are perfect for decorating. The recipe is fantastic as-is, and also makes a fabulous base for any flavor of rolled cookie. You can use vanilla pudding mix, swap white sugar for the brown and nix the spices for a standard sugar cookie dough that will not get too sticky while rolling out. If I'm making spice cookies, I substitute nutmeg for the ginger and add a 1/4 tsp. of ground cloves. As others have pointed out, you can save yourself lots of frustration by rolling & cutting your dough on a sheet of parchment paper. Peel away the scraps between cookies and slap the whole sheet onto your pan for super easy and even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by sillypokerface

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I followed the suggestion of adding 1 cup of brown sugar and 2 cups of white sugar, but other than that I followed it as is. I was baking mini loaves for christmas gifts. I have the wilson mini loaf pan. The pan has 8 mini loaves (each holding about 1/3 cup). They baked for about 25 minutes. I got 2 pans full (16 mini loaves) from 1 batch. Perfect recipe! Sweet, but not too sweet. It is also nice and moist with a perfect combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillypokerface

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Strawberry Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is THE BEST EVER, easiest, yummy and moist bread ever! I make LOTS of Christmas breads and I have never heard of this one! I read the other reviews and since I wanted more strawberry flavor I did cut the cinnamon to 1/2T, and I couldn't find strawberry extract.. that's the ONLY change I made, oh...I too didn't use the topping, just sprinkled with powdered sugar..GREAT GIFTS..EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

Salad Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a great appetizer for the office parties when everyone is on a diet. I use reduced calorie ranch and spinach chopped with the romaine. You can use almost any colorful veggie, ie, green and red peppers, carrots, small pieces of brocolli and even red cabbage. This always gets oooohhh and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Spool Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've made these cookies many times and I'm famous for them! They are really the most delicious cookies I have ever made and my friends are begging for my secret recipe! The only change I make is to only dip the balls of dough into the sugar instead of rolling them. Otherwise, they are actually too sugary, if that is even possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaCooksForMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisa, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Dilly Rye Boat Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is very good, and I make it several times a year. There are a lot of different variations to this recipe that are equally as good, so don't be afraid to experiment and adjust to your taste. This variation was good, but I usually will omit the Beau Monde and reduce the celery salt to 1 tsp, and Dill to 2 tbsp. I like a little tang, so usually add 2-3 oz of soft cream cheese. NOTE ON DRIED BEEF: If your unfamiliar with this ingredient, or any ingredient for that matter, taste it! Understand the flavor and texture before adding it in. Anyone who's tasted dried beef straight out of the package or jar knows immediately it's cured in salt and should be rinsed...and they probably won't do it a second time. Rinse the dried beef off, slice by slice, then taste it again. If it's still too salty, rince and repeat. I tried another reviewer's suggestion and added about 1 tbsp of very finely diced onion, another keeper! I bet stirring in a little roasted garlic paste would be good too....next time I roast garlic I'm gonna try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Marinated Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made it exactly by the recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've been making this casserole for 30 years. At the end of the baking time I used to top it off with fresh bread crumbs and pats of butter and turn on the broiler for a few minutes. My family loved it that way, but it's far from healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States