Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made this twice in my crockpot. It is very very good. I use canned tomatoes instead of fresh. As other reviews have suggested, I added the pasta about 15-20 minutes before serving. I added some fresh spinach last time I made it to use up what I had on hand. Great recipe to serve on chilly days. Add a piece of garlic bread and you are set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My melted butter got cold when I dipped my fish before frying. Had to reheat it to get the fillets coated. The sauce had a very nice flavor but there is not enough of it. My filets crumbled when tossing the sauce. It may work out better to plate the fish before adding sauce. The pasta absorbed the sauce very quickly so more sauce would be helpful. With a few minor changes to the method of preparation and a little more sauce this could be a 5. I will try it again for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious. I found Philly jalapeno cream cheese in my grocery store which makes this dish even easier--no need to cut up a jalapeno unless you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I've made this several times and have never been disappointed. I use only about 8 oz of a dark beer (really makes the au jus terrific). I add the following seasonings to the roast before cooking: minced garlic, black pepper, Worcestershire, and a dash or Kitchen Bouquet. When the roast is finished I remove from the cooker and let it rest before slicing. After I slice it, I dip the meat back into the cooking liquid of the crock. Then I lift it out with a slotted spoon onto sliced french bread that are arranged on a baking sheet. I add provolone cheese to the top and slide under the broiler until the cheese begins to brown. Strain the au jus and you are ready to eat. Garlic steak fries are good served with this meal. This is favorite meal in my household! I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I sauteed the onions with a little garlic and diced bell pepper (had a pepper to use that I didn't want to spoil) before adding to the ground beef. I was out of seasoned bread crumbs, so I added a couple dashes of Itialian seasoning and used oatmeal. I thought the amount of milk might make the meatloaf mushy but the oats absorbed the liquid well and it came out very moist but definately not mushy. This is an EASY recipe as the title implies and is very good as well as versatile from the slight changes I made. I might decrease the amount of brown sugar next time as I thought it was a little sweet. I will make this recipe part of my monthly recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts Gratin

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful way to make Brussels sprouts! This is my new favorite way to serve them. Followed the recipe exactly, no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mamon (Sponge Cakes)

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I've made these several times now and they're just marvelous. The as-is recipe nets 3 8" round cakes. I've made the traditional small cake too, and always end up with more than 16 and they bake in ~25 minutes. My dad's Filipino girlfriend brought store-bought mamon over a few months ago and this absolutely satisfied the craving I've developed for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheFlamingAmarant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Pork Tenderloin with Creamy Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this a single serving meal that only requires rice, no salad or other vegetable. I had a 7.2 ounce pork tenderloin which I cut up into 9 medallions about 1/2 inch thick each and I used my 10 inch cast iron skillet. Set the initial left rear (large) electric stove burner to 4.5 and put in about 1 to 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil. When hot (not smoking) put in 1/4 cup of diced carrots and cook for about 5 minutes watching to make sure the carrots brown a little but don’t burn. Add the pork medallions and brown on both sides. After the medallions are initally flipped add 1/6 red and 1/6 yellow diced pepper, 3 diced garlic cloves, 1/3 large diced jalapeno pepper and 1 slice of a large diced onion. When browned on both sides, remove the pork (keep warm) and add flour, basil, parsley, Italian seasoning and black pepper. Stir in cream (I used about 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream, a 4 second blast of 5 calorie no fat whipping cream) and 3 medium sized diced white mushrooms. When thickened add about 1/2 cup white wine (Pinot Grigio), turn the stove to ‘low’, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes. Make sure the cream sauce remains a runny thick and doesn’t burn. Add more wine if necessary. I serve over basmati rice. This is really about 2 servings or one very, very large serving and is absolutely creamy delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is an awesome way to prepare broccoli. It's fast, delicious, adds color to your meal and is good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this - sort of! I seasoned 5 very thick boneless chops with salt, pepper, and Emeril Lagasse's Essence before browning. For the sauce I used one 12 ounce beer, a can of condensed beef consommé, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, & the flour. Served it with mashed potatoes and collard greens. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made these today - good flavor & texture but they still spread on me. For once in my life, I followed the recipe to the letter. After the first tray cooled I lowered the oven temp and watched them like a hawk. Still had the same problem. My oven has been calibrated so I know the temp is right. Suggestions and advice welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfect! Couldn't be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I make this often, although I add a lot of extra oregano, garlic, and lemon juice. I also use chicken broth instead of bouillon. It is delicious! I have to admit that I drink some of the broth after it's done because it's so amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Lemon Chicken Soup II

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I make this all the time now! It's a great summer soup. I often used canned chicken and it works great. Frozen spinach works fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Toddler Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My toddler liked them, but I loved them! I froze some and they reheated nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfect as written! This has become one of my family's favorite dishes. I'm always looking for things to pair it with; my favorites so far are Parmesan Meatloaf and Italian Meatballs. Don't let it overcook -- it gets too mushy and sticky right after about 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Cherry-Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious! Loved the combination. A great fruit pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was incredible! The leftovers were even better. I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the mushrooms. I added a lot of extra paprika, but it didn't need any extra salt. I also used Trader Joe's condensed portabella mushroom soup, which cut out the MSG (found in Campbell's). I will make this again and again! Great over whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
What a great recipe for chicken. I thought I had tried them all. I served with orzo and green beans, with some crusty bread. We absolutely loved it. I folowed the recipe to a tee, with the exception of using chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made it for my family, they ate almost all of it in one night (we are only four people!) and when I brought my professional chef neighbor over the next day to try it, there was only a single piece left! (He loved it, by the way, and ate the entire slice extremely quickly) Definitely would reccommend to anyone! Don't be fearful of the lack of ratings, you'll regret it- this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvytygart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States