Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Risotto

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Perfect as written! This has become one of my family's favorite dishes. I'm always looking for things to pair it with; my favorites so far are Parmesan Meatloaf and Italian Meatballs. Don't let it overcook -- it gets too mushy and sticky right after about 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Cherry-Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Delicious! Loved the combination. A great fruit pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Parisienne

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was incredible! The leftovers were even better. I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the mushrooms. I added a lot of extra paprika, but it didn't need any extra salt. I also used Trader Joe's condensed portabella mushroom soup, which cut out the MSG (found in Campbell's). I will make this again and again! Great over whole wheat egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellie7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
What a great recipe for chicken. I thought I had tried them all. I served with orzo and green beans, with some crusty bread. We absolutely loved it. I folowed the recipe to a tee, with the exception of using chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made it for my family, they ate almost all of it in one night (we are only four people!) and when I brought my professional chef neighbor over the next day to try it, there was only a single piece left! (He loved it, by the way, and ate the entire slice extremely quickly) Definitely would reccommend to anyone! Don't be fearful of the lack of ratings, you'll regret it- this recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvytygart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Easy, fast, and budget friendly! My husband even ate some and he hates tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is the first time I have ever attempted to make stuffed mushrooms and they were great! There was NO leftovers at my house! There easy, fast, and budget friendly. I did read a lot of the reviews to see what other people did. The most common tip I saw was to dunk the mushrooms in a combo of melted butter and a Tbsp of lemon juice. This was great as it added a little extra kick and kept the mushrooms from drying out. Also I added a dash of Worcestershire and a little bit of chopped green onion. These will definitely be on the table for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortellini and Sausage in Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
It was a good quick meal for my family. Everyone liked it and I would make it again. The only thing I did differently was the meat. My grocery store was out of the sausage, so I used chicken, which was probably a better choice for my family anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Was very chewy and woody, could not eat prepared this way. Maybe I had some over ripe okra, but didn't think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Blueberry Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
For everyone who had trouble getting it to spread out and look pretty: I read the reviews for this beforehand, so I knew what to expect when layering the coffee cake, and I took a risk. I added about a tablespoon of milk to the 2nd half of the cake batter after spreading the first down, and that thinned it out just enough to spread out easily without affecting the way it baked. This was an excellent coffee cake! Rich, buttery, nice texture, definitely an A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Pot Roast, Vegetables, and Beer

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Cooked a 3 lb chuck roast from frozen for 1 hour in a pressure cooker using this recipe. I added some Worcestershire sauce and omitted the veggies except some onion. It was wonderful. What can go wrong when you use beer, garlic, and Dijon mustard??? Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I have been making sausage balls for YEARS. This is the recipe that I have always used, except adding 4 Tablespoons of milk. I also use Jimmy Dean Hot sausage. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent way to use up some whipping cream in my fridge. It was so easy, but had a "fancy" appeal. My husband couldn't get enough, and he thanked me for making such a delicious dinner. I believe he thinks I really worked hard on this, but little does he know just how quick and easy this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe as written, except I used torn pieces of canned biscuits for the dumplings because I was running short on time. The taste of the vegetables and 'sauce' was just okay, not enough to make me excited about making this again. I really believe a big part of the problem is the amount of thyme. It was overpowering. Maybe less thyme, and adding something else. I will be looking for other chicken and dumpling recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Outstanding! I love spicy pimento cheese spread and this recipe is a keeper. I just pulsed everything in the food processor being careful not to over mix it so that it had some texture and it took seconds. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Quick and Easy Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I started making this casserole in college and it has become a staple. I won't say how many years that has been but rest assured it is a lot of years, lol..... Add anything you have on hand and it will still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Swiss Chicken Casserole II

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
We loved this recipe Carolyn! Took the advice from others and used much more soup than stated; four breasts and a family sized can of soup. I also seasoned and browned the chicken and then deglazed the plan with white wine and added it to the soup.Instead of mixing the stuffing crumbs with butter, I used evoo and added in some parm cheese. This is true comfort food that soothes the soul anytime of year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Peanut Noodles

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Nice recipe! I used Vidalia onions (all I had), added sautéed chopped garlic, chunky peanut butter, and a chopped orange bell pepper. Also used hot sesame oil and rice vinegar. Love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Great way to make spaghetti & meatballs. I can't help but mess with recipes and I did this one, too. I made the meatballs pretty much as the recipe said but I added chopped carrot, garlic, Worcestershire sauce, & herbs to the sauce. Finished it with a little cream at the end to make it a little Bolognese-like. I also recommend cooking these for only 6 hours on low. They were wonderful. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Very good dish, I cut the recipe down to 4 servings, but added a little more veggies and used chicken sausage instead of turkey. I also diced a Jalapeno pepper in the mix. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclark6262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlan, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States