Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Lime Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't do the lime cream exactly because my fiance doesn't like sour cream and it was just for the two of us. Instead I added a random amount of lime juice directly to the soup, and just added plain sour cream to my bowl-- it was great. I did add more garlic than the recipe called for, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe many times. My family loves it. I live it the south but I like my cornbread sweet. Most of the cornbread you get in around here is not very good at all and very dry tasting. Also instead of all purpose flour and baking powder I just use 1 cup of self rising flour and it comes out perfect. Thank you so much for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
YUMMMMMY!!! AND VERY QUICK! I made one pan with red sauce and another with green sauce, THE ONLY thing I did different was to add a can of diced tomatoes to it...VERY, VERY Good! My family ate BOTH pans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

Maple Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Made this recipe, very slightly tweaked, for a class in culinary school and got rave reviews from all the chefs. Tip: adding 1 tsp of cornstarch can help to keep your cheesecake from cracking! For my crust, I used some day old Lebkuchen (German ginger-molasses cookies), but crushed gingersnaps would work well, also. I also added some vanilla bean-infused bourbon to the cheesecake and the glaze - I am a Kentucky girl, after all! I needed a little bit more cooking time because of the extra liquid I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used a second can of mushroom soup instead of the chicken soup since I am a vegetarian - I also added a pinch of ground mustard, a hefty amount of garlic powder, and a handful of shredded mozzarella that I happened to have left over from a previous meal. Baked for 45 minutes and it turned out fantastically! I did make this a second time and I don't know what was wrong with my brain that day but I dumped in my rice - UNCOOKED! Oh no! I ended up adding a bit extra water and cooking it a little longer, and it actually turned out just fine - crisis averted! (I used Minute Rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Couldn't find my recipe for "hasty pudding" and picked this one to try - so glad I did! I added a dash of cinnamon (my personal chocolate flavor enhancer of choice) and even though I made a double batch, I had no leftovers. (My fiance had THREE bowlfuls!) Cornstarch pudding is one of the simplest, fastest chocolate desserts you can make and this recipe is pretty foolproof - as long as you get to a FULL boil you will have perfect, silky pudding in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime-Marinated Mahi Mahi

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Love...love...love this recipe! The mahi mahi was delicious. I will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe is the perfect week night meal that's incredibly kid and husband friendly. My only change was mixing the cooked chicken with some taco sauce and of course, added in more seasonings. Great recipe and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Real Chiles Rellenos

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
THIS WAS THE BEST CHILI RELLENOS EVER..even better than most Mexican restaurants I've been to! I too, was very intimidated by the "list" of ingredients, just get over it! lol..I've made these several times now and freezing the peppers and sauce ahead of time is very time saving. I changed nothing! My husband loved them, my son, (40 yrs old) said I should get an award for best dish EVER!! So, thank you Fat Dog Lane for the best recipe EVER!! Sincerely, Melanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Photo by SusanHissam

Strawberry Pie II

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wonderful! I didn't change a thing (unusual for me). Made homemade vanilla gelato to top it off! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I make this often, and pretty much as the recipe is written. Hard to improve something that is already so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic, No Shortcuts, Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday in my slow cooker and it was wonderful!The only thing I changed was to use less water. Highly recommended - thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Thank you Chef for this recipe! I didn't have time to cook the "normal" way, so, into the crock pot it all went! for 8 hrs on low, YEAH!! Turned out the best I have EVER made, my family loved it, served over wide buttered noodles and homemade biscuits, YUMMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

Lemon Cream Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is a delicious pasta dinner! It has a very strong lemony taste, which I liked. However, there was an overwhelming amount of chicken so I would use two breasts instead of three next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaCooksForMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by W I L L

Easy Baked Tilapia

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Followed as closely as I could with what I had and it turned out great! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W I L L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These cookies are delicious! I added cinnamon to some, and they turned out even better. I intend to make the cookies again with and without cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaCooksForMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved making this recipe, simple and so much fun to make. I have found my go to recipe for a lemon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
After combining suggestions and ideas from other reviewers of this recipe, this is now one of the best recipes I have in my arsenal. My family loves these chops. I butterfly thick pork chops and fill them with the stuffing before I brown them in a pan. I have used the 'from scratch' stuffing and on busy/lazy days I have used Stove Top. Either way it is good. What bit stuffing does not fit inside the chops I squeeze in around the chops in the baking dish before pouring the soup mixture over the top. This is an excellent recipe. Thank you Tina. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken and Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a good soup for cold weather days. Easy to put together with left overs and things you probably already have on hand. I serve hot sace at the table for those that like a little extra 'kick' instead of adding it in the pot. Great with a grilled cheese sandwich on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a good recipe. I season my chicken with s&p, poultry seasoning, and a little onion powder. I prefer to use low sodium broth and soup. One can of biscuits seems to do the trick for my crockpot. I flatted the biscuit dough and cut them into pieces. It seems to help reduce the cooking time. I have made this recipe three times. I have added carrots and celery when I have them on hand. It is easy to make on busy days and great when the weather is cold. Leftovers are nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States