Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Scrambled Egg Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. It's so easy to make. I added some of the veggies from my veggie salad (black olives, broccoli, cauliflower, and onions). I also placed half a slice of pepperjack cheese on the top once it was done. I baked mine in mini loaf pans, which yields 2 servings and made it oh so cute :-) I'm on my 3rd day of Atkins and this is perfect for breakfast. My son has gluten allergies, so tonight I will be making him a batch as well as making them for work Friday morning as a surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cod with Italian Crumb Topping

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
The ONLY parts of this so-called recipe that stuck to the Cod was all the tiny specks of corn meal and bred crumbs and nothing else. I'll simply fry mine from now on! No worth the time or waste of money on good Cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momskitchen

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Perfect brownies! Just perfect! One tip- make sure you let the water mixture cool for a minute or so or you will burn the chocolate like I did the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
DELICIOUS!! Quick and easy, tastes like it took hours. This is one of my go-to recipes now. Definately 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bean Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I don't put in the whole amount of sugar like many other reviewers suggested, it is not needed. This is a fantastic salad anytime of the year and pretty in color to compliment most anything you serve it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

KISS Salmon

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
We love salmon made this way. So easy and delicious. Make sure to save some sauce to brush on your fish when you take it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. Avoid if you are in a hurry though. It does take a while to cook the chicken but worth it. The sauce can be a little 'floury' but is easily remedied by adding a little white mexican cheese. These are great warmed up for lunch the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ropa Vieja (Cuban Meat Stew)

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. Tastes just like Miami. Serve it with black beans, plantains and hot Cuban bread (french bread if you have limited options). Leftovers are great the next day too. My family actually requests this meal when I make out a grocery list. Good stuff!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
An excellent way to have pork chops in the winter. I had a 7.5 ounce bone-in chop about 5/8 inch thickness. I first went thru a flour bath (flour, pepper, kosher salt and cayenne pepper). I then followed the other directions pretty much to the letter. My chop was browned after about 4 minutes per side using a cast iron skillet at a temperature of about 340F. The chop was also done after 22 minutes at 325F in the oven. Delicious!!! I will definitely have many more times. I also pan fried the left over coatings (flour, egg and crumb mixtures) like a previous reviewer mentioned and these were also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I make it in the crockpot on low during an 8 hr. work day. I throw everything except the barley into the crockpot in the morning before I head to work. When I get home I add the barley about 20-30 minutes before I serve dinner. Leftovers are great too. Easy and delicious. Thank you for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made this twice in my crockpot. It is very very good. I use canned tomatoes instead of fresh. As other reviews have suggested, I added the pasta about 15-20 minutes before serving. I added some fresh spinach last time I made it to use up what I had on hand. Great recipe to serve on chilly days. Add a piece of garlic bread and you are set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
My melted butter got cold when I dipped my fish before frying. Had to reheat it to get the fillets coated. The sauce had a very nice flavor but there is not enough of it. My filets crumbled when tossing the sauce. It may work out better to plate the fish before adding sauce. The pasta absorbed the sauce very quickly so more sauce would be helpful. With a few minor changes to the method of preparation and a little more sauce this could be a 5. I will try it again for sure. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Corn

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious. I found Philly jalapeno cream cheese in my grocery store which makes this dish even easier--no need to cut up a jalapeno unless you want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! I've made this several times and have never been disappointed. I use only about 8 oz of a dark beer (really makes the au jus terrific). I add the following seasonings to the roast before cooking: minced garlic, black pepper, Worcestershire, and a dash or Kitchen Bouquet. When the roast is finished I remove from the cooker and let it rest before slicing. After I slice it, I dip the meat back into the cooking liquid of the crock. Then I lift it out with a slotted spoon onto sliced french bread that are arranged on a baking sheet. I add provolone cheese to the top and slide under the broiler until the cheese begins to brown. Strain the au jus and you are ready to eat. Garlic steak fries are good served with this meal. This is favorite meal in my household! I love making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I sauteed the onions with a little garlic and diced bell pepper (had a pepper to use that I didn't want to spoil) before adding to the ground beef. I was out of seasoned bread crumbs, so I added a couple dashes of Itialian seasoning and used oatmeal. I thought the amount of milk might make the meatloaf mushy but the oats absorbed the liquid well and it came out very moist but definately not mushy. This is an EASY recipe as the title implies and is very good as well as versatile from the slight changes I made. I might decrease the amount of brown sugar next time as I thought it was a little sweet. I will make this recipe part of my monthly recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts Gratin

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful way to make Brussels sprouts! This is my new favorite way to serve them. Followed the recipe exactly, no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mamon (Sponge Cakes)

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I've made these several times now and they're just marvelous. The as-is recipe nets 3 8" round cakes. I've made the traditional small cake too, and always end up with more than 16 and they bake in ~25 minutes. My dad's Filipino girlfriend brought store-bought mamon over a few months ago and this absolutely satisfied the craving I've developed for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Creamy Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I make this a single serving meal that only requires rice, no salad or other vegetable. I had a 7.2 ounce pork tenderloin which I cut up into 9 medallions about 1/2 inch thick each and I used my 10 inch cast iron skillet. Set the initial left rear (large) electric stove burner to 4.5 and put in about 1 to 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil. When hot (not smoking) put in 1/4 cup of diced carrots and cook for about 5 minutes watching to make sure the carrots brown a little but don’t burn. Add the pork medallions and brown on both sides. After the medallions are initally flipped add 1/6 red and 1/6 yellow diced pepper, 3 diced garlic cloves, 1/3 large diced jalapeno pepper and 1 slice of a large diced onion. When browned on both sides, remove the pork (keep warm) and add flour, basil, parsley, Italian seasoning and black pepper. Stir in cream (I used about 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream, a 4 second blast of 5 calorie no fat whipping cream) and 3 medium sized diced white mushrooms. When thickened add about 1/2 cup white wine (Pinot Grigio), turn the stove to ‘low’, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes. Make sure the cream sauce remains a runny thick and doesn’t burn. Add more wine if necessary. I serve over basmati rice. This is really about 2 servings or one very, very large serving and is absolutely creamy delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is an awesome way to prepare broccoli. It's fast, delicious, adds color to your meal and is good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this - sort of! I seasoned 5 very thick boneless chops with salt, pepper, and Emeril Lagasse's Essence before browning. For the sauce I used one 12 ounce beer, a can of condensed beef consommé, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, & the flour. Served it with mashed potatoes and collard greens. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States