Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Georgia's Tennessee Jam Cake

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
An excellent, rich jam cake! I followed the recipe in all regards except for the quantity of buttermilk- I used 3/4 cup and replaced the remaining 1/4 cup with Bourbon. I'm a Kentucky girl, what can I say? Will definitely make this again! I'll be trying it with elderberry preserves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheFlamingAmarant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was fantastic. Made a mistake by mixing half of the cottage cheese with the egg but it did not hurt a thing. We loved it and had leftovers the following day. Thank you for sharing CALLIKO :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Very good - I make this on week nights when time is short. I use Dijon mustard instead of yellow mustard and, because we like a little spice, I throw in a little chipotle powder. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty darn good and pretty darn easy!! I followed the recipe exactly. Ham, bacon, smoked hock --- all would be fine for this recipe. My fella really liked this soup. I served it in bread bowls. I will make this again. Thank you Barb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Carb Fauxtato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
We really liked this salad and made 2-3 times already. I am also sharing it with family and friends. I added a little more mayo because that is how we like our potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Very moist and very yummy. I did, however, add a full tablespoon of cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoon of cloves and a teaspoon of salt because I know it would've been a little bland for our tastes without seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheFlamingAmarant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

World's Best Queso Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Classic dip. Red Gold is so much better than Rotel. Of course you can always add hot sausage or chorizo plus a few chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I increased the olive oil (slightly), the garlic (a lot), added salt and increased the pepper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The only major difference I do to this recipe is swap the water for chicken broth. It is a great recipe on its own and as a base for other spice flavors such as those others have added in the reviews. You really can't go wrong with this one. I usually season my chicken before I cook it with a little cumin, chili powder, garlic & onion powder, oregano, and s&p. Seems to give it a little more pizazz. Leftovers are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We really love the flavor of this recipe. I have stuck with the ingredients as written. Mushrooms would be a nice addition. I've made this three times. It does require some time to prepare but its worth the wait. Have been considering putting this in the crockpot. I like to serve this with mashed potatoes and a simple vegetable dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I make these about three or four times a month. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Runzas (Bierocks)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I'm from NE. I have introduced my friends in KY to these and they love Runzas now too. If you are feeling a little lazy or pressed for time you can split open a French loaf and stuff it; just slide it in the oven or under the broiler open faced, still is amazingly good. I have even browned spicy b'fast sausage in with the burger for a little more flavor. I always dice up some onion to throw in with the burger. Great sandwiches by following the recipe or by improvising!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Delicious even without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz's Favorites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie IV

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Wonderful and easy. I used light corn syrup, decreased the nuts to a heaping cup, increased the butter to 4 Tbsp, and added a splash of bourbon in place of the vanilla. This is a good base for English Walnut Pie and what can't be legally called Derby Pie (1/2 c chopped nuts and 1/2 c chocolate chips). It's a keeper. Thanks, Earthymom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chocolate Buttermilk Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent! I didn't have buttermilk so I soured some sweet milk with vinegar - worked great. I also added a touch of instant coffee granules, some vanilla, and chocolate chips. I did not make the topping. Easy and delicious recipe that I'll do again and again. Thanks for the recipe, Mindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I added dill weed, cayenne pepper Dijon mustard,, and finely chopped Vidalia onion. Great on whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This one turns out every time. My family loves this ziti recipe and I keep making it. A staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Super easy...super good. This is just one of those cakes that you just crave. There are a few things that my kids request, and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I am a huge fan of meatloaf and love my mother's. However, this is even better and is now made frequently. The cheese makes it. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. My kids request it frequently. This recipe is on permanent rotation at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States