Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Queso Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Classic dip. Red Gold is so much better than Rotel. Of course you can always add hot sausage or chorizo plus a few chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The only major difference I do to this recipe is swap the water for chicken broth. It is a great recipe on its own and as a base for other spice flavors such as those others have added in the reviews. You really can't go wrong with this one. I usually season my chicken before I cook it with a little cumin, chili powder, garlic & onion powder, oregano, and s&p. Seems to give it a little more pizazz. Leftovers are good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We really love the flavor of this recipe. I have stuck with the ingredients as written. Mushrooms would be a nice addition. I've made this three times. It does require some time to prepare but its worth the wait. Have been considering putting this in the crockpot. I like to serve this with mashed potatoes and a simple vegetable dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I make these about three or four times a month. We love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Runzas (Bierocks)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I'm from NE. I have introduced my friends in KY to these and they love Runzas now too. If you are feeling a little lazy or pressed for time you can split open a French loaf and stuff it; just slide it in the oven or under the broiler open faced, still is amazingly good. I have even browned spicy b'fast sausage in with the burger for a little more flavor. I always dice up some onion to throw in with the burger. Great sandwiches by following the recipe or by improvising!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Delicious even without the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz's Favorites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie IV

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Wonderful and easy. I used light corn syrup, decreased the nuts to a heaping cup, increased the butter to 4 Tbsp, and added a splash of bourbon in place of the vanilla. This is a good base for English Walnut Pie and what can't be legally called Derby Pie (1/2 c chopped nuts and 1/2 c chocolate chips). It's a keeper. Thanks, Earthymom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Chocolate Buttermilk Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent! I didn't have buttermilk so I soured some sweet milk with vinegar - worked great. I also added a touch of instant coffee granules, some vanilla, and chocolate chips. I did not make the topping. Easy and delicious recipe that I'll do again and again. Thanks for the recipe, Mindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I added dill weed, cayenne pepper Dijon mustard,, and finely chopped Vidalia onion. Great on whole grain bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This one turns out every time. My family loves this ziti recipe and I keep making it. A staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Super easy...super good. This is just one of those cakes that you just crave. There are a few things that my kids request, and this is one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I am a huge fan of meatloaf and love my mother's. However, this is even better and is now made frequently. The cheese makes it. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. My kids request it frequently. This recipe is on permanent rotation at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My orange pie is an orange "soup"! The bottom layer of the pie did not set. I followed this recipe very carefully, including step 2, which instructs you to cook the mixture until thick and bubbly "about 5 minutes" on medium heat. At the end of five minutes, mine wasn't at all thick, so I added five more minutes until the mixture had a least thickened a bit, but I mistakenly thought it would set in the oven or when it cooled. NOT SO. Those minutes on the stovetop were the only opportunity to thicken the bottom. Knowing this, I should have waited until the mixture had a good pudding texture, however long that took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Davis

Crackle Top Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very tasty dairy/soy free cookie. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Lime Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't do the lime cream exactly because my fiance doesn't like sour cream and it was just for the two of us. Instead I added a random amount of lime juice directly to the soup, and just added plain sour cream to my bowl-- it was great. I did add more garlic than the recipe called for, and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe many times. My family loves it. I live it the south but I like my cornbread sweet. Most of the cornbread you get in around here is not very good at all and very dry tasting. Also instead of all purpose flour and baking powder I just use 1 cup of self rising flour and it comes out perfect. Thank you so much for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
YUMMMMMY!!! AND VERY QUICK! I made one pan with red sauce and another with green sauce, THE ONLY thing I did different was to add a can of diced tomatoes to it...VERY, VERY Good! My family ate BOTH pans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mello2u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Carson City, Nevada, USA

Maple Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Made this recipe, very slightly tweaked, for a class in culinary school and got rave reviews from all the chefs. Tip: adding 1 tsp of cornstarch can help to keep your cheesecake from cracking! For my crust, I used some day old Lebkuchen (German ginger-molasses cookies), but crushed gingersnaps would work well, also. I also added some vanilla bean-infused bourbon to the cheesecake and the glaze - I am a Kentucky girl, after all! I needed a little bit more cooking time because of the extra liquid I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used a second can of mushroom soup instead of the chicken soup since I am a vegetarian - I also added a pinch of ground mustard, a hefty amount of garlic powder, and a handful of shredded mozzarella that I happened to have left over from a previous meal. Baked for 45 minutes and it turned out fantastically! I did make this a second time and I don't know what was wrong with my brain that day but I dumped in my rice - UNCOOKED! Oh no! I ended up adding a bit extra water and cooking it a little longer, and it actually turned out just fine - crisis averted! (I used Minute Rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States