Lexington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I was looking for a basic sauce recipe to use with my tomatoes from the garden. I followed this recipe exactly, except used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. It turned out beautifully and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
pretty good. not the best i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
We really liked this recipe. It was quick and easy. I wish I had had shallots when I tried it initially but substituted onions instead. It was delicious. I will try mushrooms with it next time but it was great without it. Served it with some steamed yellow squash and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Followed recipe exactly and my family loved them! I used the 2 lb. bag of frozen, raw, deveined, peeled shrimp from Costco and and it was perfect. I marinated them for about 5 hours. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Chocolate Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and used my Cuisinart machine. It froze perfectly. This is very rich and chocolatey. I think it is even better after sitting in the freezer overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This recipe was so good, that it propelled me to write my first review. The only thing I did different was to buy pre-made tortilla strips to cut down on time. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. Absolutely delicious! All 4 of my kids ate it up, and that is saying quite a bit--they never agree on dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbrislin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I have made this recipe so many times I can't count. I usually cut down on the sugar but it still comes out great. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Oat Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I can't put my finger on it, but I just didn't like the coating texture on this chicken. The flavor was good, so maybe I did something wrong. I might give it another whirl and see if I like it any better. Chicken was very moist and flavorful, but the coating turned me off. I made the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
It was easy to throw into the crockpot, I cooked mine on high for 4 hours, shredded the chicken and then turned it to low for about 30 minutes. My family enjoyed it. I used Sweet Baby Ray's original sauce and it was a little too sweet, so I'll try another sauce next time. I think this should work good when we are back in school and I need a crockpot recipe that I can leave on low 10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanHissam

Cherry Cobbler I

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made the cherry cobbler for my mother. She and my husband loved it. I hate cherries so I didn't try it. Today I'm making a mixed raspberry and blackberry cobbler. I added just a touch of cinnamon. Can't wait - there's a gallon of vanilla ice cream in the freezer. Thanks for this recipe. So very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
This recipe was very easy to make and tasted wonderful! The kids ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Carter Harmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Georgia's Tennessee Jam Cake

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
An excellent, rich jam cake! I followed the recipe in all regards except for the quantity of buttermilk- I used 3/4 cup and replaced the remaining 1/4 cup with Bourbon. I'm a Kentucky girl, what can I say? Will definitely make this again! I'll be trying it with elderberry preserves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheFlamingAmarant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was fantastic. Made a mistake by mixing half of the cottage cheese with the egg but it did not hurt a thing. We loved it and had leftovers the following day. Thank you for sharing CALLIKO :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Very good - I make this on week nights when time is short. I use Dijon mustard instead of yellow mustard and, because we like a little spice, I throw in a little chipotle powder. Yum! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Pretty darn good and pretty darn easy!! I followed the recipe exactly. Ham, bacon, smoked hock --- all would be fine for this recipe. My fella really liked this soup. I served it in bread bowls. I will make this again. Thank you Barb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Carb Fauxtato Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
We really liked this salad and made 2-3 times already. I am also sharing it with family and friends. I added a little more mayo because that is how we like our potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Nut Bread I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Very moist and very yummy. I did, however, add a full tablespoon of cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoon of cloves and a teaspoon of salt because I know it would've been a little bland for our tastes without seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheFlamingAmarant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

World's Best Queso Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Classic dip. Red Gold is so much better than Rotel. Of course you can always add hot sausage or chorizo plus a few chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildcatRick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I increased the olive oil (slightly), the garlic (a lot), added salt and increased the pepper. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States