Florence, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Hillbilly Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
really good pie. I only had dark corn syrup and it tasted fine. I used a crust recipe i found on here that i didnt like, but the filling was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Piggies (Sugar and Cinnamon Pie Dough Cookies)

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I was craving something sweet and had scant ingredients in the kitchen so I went on the hunt for a recipe for something I had ingredients for. I ran across this one and wow was I excited! I went straight to the kitchen and made these amazing little cookies. I used margarine in place of shortening since it was all I had, but they came out like a dream. I also added brown sugar to the filling and cooled them on wax paper rather than paper towels. I was afraid the paper towels would stick. I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Deitsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
These are the best ever! I froze them for about a month and reheated them in skillet wa-la!! Prefect My husband said I need to keep some in the freezer ready in case we have unexpected guest or just for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Timisoara, Timis, Romania

Salmon with Dill

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
First time cooking salmon. This recipe was simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. Today I made it for my 9 and 4 year old granddaughters. They loved it, even asking for seconds. This is a super easy but delicious recipe. I did add a little Mrs. Dash this time and I only have room in my crockpot for one can of biscuits. The only problem I see is that there are never enough leftovers. I plan on making this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Oh my gosh. This was excellent. Only change I made was using 1 can of Italian style tomatoes undrained and dried basil instead of fresh. Thanks James for such a wonderful and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Mediterranean Kale

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Really good. Next time I'll double kale and sauce. Barely made enough for three people. Used half a bag of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Loved the simplicity of this recipe. Excellent chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Pathos57

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I agree with other reviewers that noted that this is a brownie that falls between cake and fudge style. It deserves the high rating. One pot to make these and they truly are done within an hour from start to finish. I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts and did not choose to make this frosting, but instead, made a creamier style chocolate frosting and topped each brownie with a walnut half. Additionally, the better the cocoa you use, the better the result. I use Callebaut cocoa (you can order it online) and it's worth EVERY cent. It's not cheap, but two pounds will last you a long time and EVERYONE will ask you how you make your chocolate desserts. It makes a tremendous difference. This recipe is delightfully easy and you'll find yourself saying, "I'll never buy a box brownie mix again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've made this several times and always double the recipe to have extra on hand. Primarily, I use this for pulled pork. Using cheap bourbon (It will taste the same and it's a waste of good bourbon & funds to use good bourbon.) I followed the directions exactly. I have, the last couple to times added a bit of chili powder and chipotle powder to add a little bite. It is BETTER the next day and if you don't care for vinegar (I love it.) you may need to cook down the sauce more. Regardless, everyone I have cooked this for experienced love-at-first-bite & it's now my go-to recipe for great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Pathos57

No Bake Lime Mousse Torte

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this for an event at a local business. I used the exact ingredients & made it as directed. I chopped the ginger snap cookies in the food processor, added a slight amount of green food color to give it a hint of color. In garnishing the torte, I piped whipped cream that I had sweetened with confectioner's sugar and beaten to stiff peaks. I used a microplane & this gave the torte fine, flavorful zest. The combination of the ginger snap, lime and chocolate strikes a delicate balance. In addition to piping whipped cream, I added lime slices bordering the circumference of the torte & microplaned white chocolate and additional zest to the top of this beautiful dessert. This received raves & numerous requests for the recipe. Super easy, super impressive, light, flavorful and stunning dessert. I'll use this one again and again. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Wedding Soup Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
A bit bland. Switch italian saugage for meat loaf mix. Also added a layer of chopped tomatoes.Keep crushed red peppers on the table for real heat lovers like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Pathos57

Sister Schubert's® Breakfast Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. This was for a holiday brunch with family & while I am a big fan of spinach, I worried that picky eaters might not like it. I needn't have been concerned. This was a huge hit and I know I will make this again & again. Note: I made sure to cut off large stems & veins in the spinach before cooking (they're unpalatable) & drained/blotted the spinach with paper towels rather than a tea towel. This type of recipe is very forgiving & adjustable to taste, but I found that just as it is, it's a nice blend & layering of flavors. Don't be afraid of the hot sauce, it adds a subtle but nice contrast to the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Pathos57

Caramels I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I make this recipe each year at Christmas and I follow the directions and ingredients exactly as written. They are soft, buttery and richer than any store-bought caramel. I agree with one reviewer that dusting the caramel with cornstarch and letting it sit 5 - 10 minute before dusting them off to reduce the butter on the surface. I've also cut thin strips and rolled the strip into a snake before winding it around a pretzel rod. Dip this in chocolate and voile', you have a chocolate caramel pretzel rod Christmas tree. These always get rave reviews and while I choose low humidity cold days to make candy, & I'm careful with measuring and use an accurate thermometer, the result is I've never had a batch fail. This is a GREAT recipe for those that are novice candy makers, too. Once you make this, you'll NEVER want store caramel again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Excellent. Best pancakes I have ever made. Thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This has become my go-to broccoli recipe, in fact, it has become my go-to roasted vegetable recipe. I just switch out the broccoli and pepper for whatever veg I'm roasting. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahFriedman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rachel's Sugar Plum Spice Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
While I'm not a fan of fresh plums (too perfume-y), I tend to like plum chutneys & after reading reviews, decided to give this a try. I'm SO glad that I did! I like cloves & all spice and made this EXACTLY as written. While my 1st batch did not come out as jellied as I thought it might, it is absolutely delicious and does indeed have holiday spice undertones. I plan on using this on baked pork loin, hams & as a dollop in my baked scones, however, I've already been using this for wraps. I take smoked turkey, swiss cheese (or havarti if I have it) lettuce & use this as the condiment on a wrap. I've also used it on wraps with Black Forest Ham. It turns an ordinary lunch into something heavenly and EVERYONE that has tried it, RAVED about how good this is. This is one of the easier jams I've made and truly, one of my favorite recipes here at Allrecipes. This one is a keeper &, of course, you can adjust the spices to your taste. It's beautiful to look at, the aroma is magnificent and the taste is sweet, spicy and reminiscent of Grandma's kitchen at Christmas. Thank you, Rachel for a brilliant contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Way too much stuffing! 1# saugage is plenty. I also added gaglic,ricotta cheese and sharp chedder. All that made 20 peppers. over all it was verry good! COOK WELL MY FRIENDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good. Grandma used apple cider,also add 3 hard boiled eggs. let mixture set and cool. that allows juices to gel and stick to potatoes. thanks for reminding me how good homemade really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Spicy Beef Curry Stew for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe was very good. Added more curry and used a whole can of beef broth. Also thickened with flour at end of cooking. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States