Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Bibi

Maple and Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, with only two exceptions: I used clarified butter instead of olive oil to brown the tenderloin (for its higher smoke point), and I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt. The marinade is very sweet, and only the sweetness and a hint of garlic came through. I was very surprised that the sesame oil and the horseradish were completely lost. That can be adjusted, because DH and DS really liked the flavor. The tenderloin was moist and juicy. I see the author describes this dish as "grilled", but it was pan-roasted. I followed the directions, and I was happy to try this method, since I have only done stovetop with medallions. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Paleo Coconut Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Nice texture, good flavor, but the recipe needs seasoning. I added about 1/2 tsp of ground sea salt and a few dashes of curry powder. I used ghee (clarified butter) instead of butter. The amount of coconut flavor is determined by the brand of coconut milk and by the type of coconut flakes. I used dried, unsweetened, and I believe grated fresh would have been much better. I will probably make this again. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Weeknight Slow Cooker Chuck Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This yields a very tender roast. Mine was done in 6 hours, and it fell apart when removing it from the cooker. I wished for a bit more flavor, and I believe that less liquid would help. I did brown the roast for better color before putting it in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Becel® Savoury Braised Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I like green beans anyway, but it's nice to see how someone else prepares them. I used the whole young beans and real butter, but eliminated the lemon juice. As always with green beans, it's important to let the liquid cook away, putting the flavor back on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This great side dish is made from pantry staples, and it is a nice change from potatoes. It certainly livened up our leftover chicken, and it was a snap to put together. I used half a box of spaghetti, but kept everything else the same, adding only a tablespoon of clarified butter after I threw it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Wavy Lasagna with Meat Sauce, Fresh Ricotta and Spinach

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Good recipe, though I like a little less pasta in the porportions. I actually used only half a box, and needed to open a second jar of sauce. this sauce is a bit sweet for me, but DH and DGD chowed down, having 2 or 3 servings! Loved this sneaky way to get a bit of spinach into DGD, lol! If you are hankering for some lasagna, but don't want to go through all the steps of a homemade sauce, the Barilla sauce is a nice one to keep in the pantry. It's also kind of a sneaky way to have the flavor of meat without much meat in it, if you have health concerns. I did use fresh mozzarella and fresh ricotta, and they lift the dish quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was good, and though it uses some prepared foods, it is not exactly convenience food. I followed the recipe closely, and I thought the finished product could have the flavor amped up by the addition of some additional herbs or some garlic. It was a nice Sunday lunch though, and I feel like a fussed a little bit. DH and DS enjoyed it, and they would be happy for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spanish Green Beans and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was full of tomato flavor, and I normally wouldn't mind that, except I wanted to taste green beans. If I make this again, I will add more green beans, I think, and a bit more garlic, since I could hardly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Greek Style Garlic Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but the high ratio of olive oil to lemon juice caused the grill to flare up, requiring very careful monitoring. I marinated all day, and the chicken was tender and full of flavor. Perhaps I will try this in the oven, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Angelyn's Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Since we love oriental flavors, I though I would give this a try. I love garlic and ginger, but I found the marinade a touch bitter. I added about a teaspoonful of sugar, and it was just right. I will use this to top one of the ramen salads on the site. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
We enjoyed this different take on grilled chicken. I cut back the olive oil to about 1 Tbs., and I had almost no flare-ups on the grill. I omitted extra salt and used the marinade on boneless, skinless, whole chicken thighs. After a sear on a hot grill, I moved them to the opposite side of the grid and finished cooking on low heat. I hope there are some lefties, since I feel the chicken would be a great addition to a lunch salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Quick-and-Easy Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was a marinade that became better as the meal progressed. We love the flavor of a good steak and rarely add more than salt and pepper. At first, I was put off a bit by the slightly sweet flavor of the balsamic vinegar. When I was on my last bite, I was thinking, this is a great flavor. For the outside grill, though, 1/3 cup of olive oil made the grill flare up, and the steaks were well marbled, so I would not use that amount of olive oil again. DS is not a mustard fan, so I cut back on the mustard a bit, and I totally forgot to add the liquid smoke (didn't miss it, due to the outside grill). Other than that, it was a nice change from our usual steak dinner. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Marinated Flank Steak with Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very tasty! Loved the horseradish sauce! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This makes excellent beef patties! I use fresh mushrooms and brown my flour for a flavor boost. DH approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Cumin Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum, yum! I love cumin, so the chicken was good, though it would work better to pound the pieces to an even thickness. But, let me tell you about that salsa! It was delicious! I wondered about using cucumbers, I'd never thought about mixing them with avocado. Something about the crunch, added to the creamy avocado, with a bit of lime juice and salt--this was not just a salsa. It was a side! I could easily do this as a salad on lettuce for lunch, even without the chicken. This will be even better a bit later in the season, when cucumbers are sweeter and tomatoes are at their peak! Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Green Beans with Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! It's certainly company worthy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Beef and Bow Ties Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and it was delicious! I subbed the sausage for the ground beef, and there are only 6 ingredients, if you don't count salt and pepper, which I did not find necessary to use. The sausage has plenty of flavor, and the use of fresh ingredients gave this dish a lively, interesting taste. If you do make this, try to use fresh basil, because it complements the sausage. Every bite made me want more, so I was glad DH and DS beat me to the skillet for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a great place to start. The sauce for the carnitas was complex and rich, with a deep chili flavor and a subtle heat. I liked the cilantro tomatillo salsa, but I added a clove of minced fresh garlic and some sea salt. I garnished my carnitas with sour cream and yummy avocado slices, but I wanted a bit of heat in the salsa. I think it would benefit from the addition of some minced fresh jalapeno, to taste. It has a fresh, tangy taste, but the combination could definitely use some heat in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Shrimp Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
The BEST deviled egg recipe I've ever made, bar none! I made 18 of these for a small gathering of 10 people, and they were gone in less than 15 minutes. Thanks so much, Geritzla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States