Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Bibi

Waldorfy Kale Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The thick dressing is delicious, but the kale is so prominent, I feel more dressing would be welcome. Funny, I usually go very light on the dressing, but this unusual dressing seems a bit skimpy, and I would like more apple, too. B.t.w., I had to use my stick blender, because the quantity of dressing stayed below my blender blades and wouldn't puree. Thanks for the idea, I would never have thought of this combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Paleo Peach Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, but mine needed to cook 13 minutes to the cutting stage, and then, 25 minutes more. The directions do not specify thickness, and I pressed mine out to about 3/4 inch thick. This made a 12" circle, which is a bit large for a scone. Next time, I will divide the dough in half to make two circles and smaller scones. I liked the crunchy edges, and creating two smaller circles could give more crunch to the middle. I feel that a single dough circle pressed out to a taller scone would have increased the cooking time even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Easy Slow Cooker Ropa Vieja

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is easy, but I only used one can of tomatoes and green chilies and added some green bell pepper and cilantro. Even with these changes, it has a strong tomato flavor. I'm not an authority on this dish, but I'm not sure I want more tomato flavor. I think it works well with flour tortillas, maybe add some avocado slices or some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Paleo Blueberry Lemon Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
For a flourless muffin, they were pretty good. The texture was more like a cornmeal muffin, and I wished for more of a lemony flavor. The brown color is from the almond flour and the coconut sugar. The glaze adds some much-needed moisture, and I would like more lemon in the glaze, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sweet and Sour Sausage

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is an unusual combination of flavors, but the salty-sweet-tangy dish came together pretty quickly. It's a different take on smoked sausage, and I can't honestly say I'll do it again, since we love more savory dishes prepared with smoked sausage. This works great with pantry items, so for a quick turn-around, it's worth the effort. I do think the sausage should be sliced thinner, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The whole family liked chicken prepared this way. I pounded the pieces to a uniform thickness, and I placed the combined seasonings in an empty spice jar to sprinkle evenly over each piece. I wonder how this would be with chili powder instead of cayenne, and Mexican oregano instead of thyme? Think I'll try it like that, next time, because the cayenne adds heat, but not much flavor. I chose not to use the extra garlic powder at the end. I squeezed the lime over the chicken pieces, then covered and turned down the heat to low. The pan juices were enough to coat the chicken, and we did were fine without a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Christie's Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for the first time today, for lunch. I was OK with it at the beginning, but I found myself liking it more and more with each bite. I think it's the red grapes that make this salad so tasty! Went back for seconds, which I rarely do for salad. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Perfect Paleo Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I really like the flavor of this "bread". The texture is pretty good. It's moist and tender, with a surprising depth of flavor. I added 1/3 cup each of dried cranberries and chopped walnuts, and I like the added punch. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Killer Crackers

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
These tasty bites were an interesting study for me, since it was my first time to make crackers. They are not as crisp as I would like, but the taste is quite like a specialty cracker from the grocer. I followed the recipe exactly, but I used 1/2 the water suggested. I bet some sesame seeds on top would be a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Best Ever Cowboy Caviar

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this on New Year's Day, as a non-traditional way to serve black-eyed peas. I followed the recipe closely, but I chose to put in only 1/2 cup of onion, because I don't care for the taste of raw onions. This reminds me of Three-Bean Salad, and the dressing basically tasted like the liquid from sweet pickles. I boosted the Southwestern flavor by adding some cumin and some chili powder, to taste. Not sure I'll make this again, since the canned ingredients listed are not usually on my pantry shelf. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Quick Kale and Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I'm kind of new to the smoothie trend, so I don't really know what to expect. I followed the recipe closely, and after tasting, I added some vanilla and some agave syrup, which I think the recipe needs, in addition to more strawberries! It has a nice consistency though, and stays thick. I'll make again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spicy Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Our new favorite pasta sauce, as we really enjoy the spicy kick! I'll often add some fresh mushrooms to the onion and garlic saute and stretch that cook time to four minutes, and add a can of petite diced tomatoes to make the sauce even heartier. Dried herbs are just fine too. I use 1/2 of what the recipe calls for when using dried. And don't usually bother with the capers. Play with it and adjust as you please, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Bibi

Quick Toffee Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great, quick and easy recipe to fill out a cookie tray, or to allow some help from little hands not quite ready to stir a batter. They can help get the graham crackers ready, while an adult handles the stove and oven. I followed the recipe exactly, and I have a problem with the last couple of instructions. Leave the nuts till the very last. Instead, put the chips on the baked toffee just out of the oven, and spread. If necessary, you can put back in the oven to help melt, but you cannot spread the chocolate evenly over the nuts. Put the nuts on last, while the chocolate is warm, and allow everything to cool one time. Beware: If left unattended on a counter top, these tend to disappear, even if they DO look messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
We really liked this! I followed the recipe very closely. My only deviation was to cut the hot pepper sauce to 1/4 teaspoon, and this was enough heat for us. Though the roux took a few minutes more than the recommended time to develop its color, it provided richness and complexity that was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! And I'm sure it would be just as delish with chicken. I took others' suggestions and added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a can of black beans, and used a little extra cumin and about a TBSP of chili powder. I also used diced peeled tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. I also sauted the onion with triple the amount of minced garlic. Cooked it in the slow cooker on high for a couple of hours, then added 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro, some sour cream, maybe 1/4 cup, and 1/2 the cheese. Then we added sour cream, cheese and avocado to suit our individual tastes. The only thing I'll change next time is to stir the sour cream into a small cup of the soup and then add to the pot. It seemed to clump a bit when I dumped it straight into the soup mixture. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum! I love roasted vegetables, and I usually don't add anything besides EVOO, salt and pepper. But these were delicious, and I followed the recipe exactly. One bite led to another, and then another! I've never had parsnips either, and the only reason I bought them was for this recipe. I'm happy to say that I will buy them again, thanks to Don! These vegetables were a welcome change from the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes that usually grace the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Green Beans with Warm Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
What I like about this recipe is the zingy vinaigrette! I love green beans, so I don't want their flavor lost beneath other flavors. This dressing enlivens the flavor, and adds the crunch of almonds. Plus, it doesn't need to be served piping hot. Room temperature is just fine here, so this dish is perfect for a buffet meal. I want to do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Fruit Cobbler from Mott's®

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was a really quick, sweet family treat, easy to sort of throw together. I used fruit in juice, so I added about a tablespoon of agave syrup to the pears, peaches, blueberries and only 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce, then sprinkled with a bit of cinnamon. I was really interested in the crust, and though it did come together easily, it was a bit heavy. Five stars for ease of preparation, but I have to knock it down a star for the heaviness of the crust. Perhaps one could cut down on the applesauce in the crust and add a bit of milk to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Yummy. Who'd have thought it?!! :) I used two 10-oz packages of frozen spinach and a little less butter than specified. I might try another type of cheese, or mix mozzarella and feta as someone suggested. Might try bacon next time also. All that said, pretty perfect just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
After reading several reviews, here are the changes I made to this recipe: I used hot Italian turkey sausage; I omitted the salt and sugar; and I added one can of low-sodium chicken broth. Even with these changes, I still had a very thick soup, which could also double as a topping for pasta. I think you could add an additional can of broth, a can of small red kidney beans, a can of Great Northern beans and a bit of pasta and have a great pasta fagioli! That's what I love about Allrecipes--the way the community of cooks gets together, takes an idea, and runs with it! Thanks for posting the recipe and opening a door to creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States