Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Bibi

Wavy Lasagna with Meat Sauce, Fresh Ricotta and Spinach

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Good recipe, though I like a little less pasta in the porportions. I actually used only half a box, and needed to open a second jar of sauce. this sauce is a bit sweet for me, but DH and DGD chowed down, having 2 or 3 servings! Loved this sneaky way to get a bit of spinach into DGD, lol! If you are hankering for some lasagna, but don't want to go through all the steps of a homemade sauce, the Barilla sauce is a nice one to keep in the pantry. It's also kind of a sneaky way to have the flavor of meat without much meat in it, if you have health concerns. I did use fresh mozzarella and fresh ricotta, and they lift the dish quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was good, and though it uses some prepared foods, it is not exactly convenience food. I followed the recipe closely, and I thought the finished product could have the flavor amped up by the addition of some additional herbs or some garlic. It was a nice Sunday lunch though, and I feel like a fussed a little bit. DH and DS enjoyed it, and they would be happy for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spanish Green Beans and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was full of tomato flavor, and I normally wouldn't mind that, except I wanted to taste green beans. If I make this again, I will add more green beans, I think, and a bit more garlic, since I could hardly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Greek Style Garlic Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I liked the flavor of this, but the high ratio of olive oil to lemon juice caused the grill to flare up, requiring very careful monitoring. I marinated all day, and the chicken was tender and full of flavor. Perhaps I will try this in the oven, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Angelyn's Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Since we love oriental flavors, I though I would give this a try. I love garlic and ginger, but I found the marinade a touch bitter. I added about a teaspoonful of sugar, and it was just right. I will use this to top one of the ramen salads on the site. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
We enjoyed this different take on grilled chicken. I cut back the olive oil to about 1 Tbs., and I had almost no flare-ups on the grill. I omitted extra salt and used the marinade on boneless, skinless, whole chicken thighs. After a sear on a hot grill, I moved them to the opposite side of the grid and finished cooking on low heat. I hope there are some lefties, since I feel the chicken would be a great addition to a lunch salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Quick-and-Easy Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was a marinade that became better as the meal progressed. We love the flavor of a good steak and rarely add more than salt and pepper. At first, I was put off a bit by the slightly sweet flavor of the balsamic vinegar. When I was on my last bite, I was thinking, this is a great flavor. For the outside grill, though, 1/3 cup of olive oil made the grill flare up, and the steaks were well marbled, so I would not use that amount of olive oil again. DS is not a mustard fan, so I cut back on the mustard a bit, and I totally forgot to add the liquid smoke (didn't miss it, due to the outside grill). Other than that, it was a nice change from our usual steak dinner. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Marinated Flank Steak with Horseradish Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very tasty! Loved the horseradish sauce! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This makes excellent beef patties! I use fresh mushrooms and brown my flour for a flavor boost. DH approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Cumin Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum, yum! I love cumin, so the chicken was good, though it would work better to pound the pieces to an even thickness. But, let me tell you about that salsa! It was delicious! I wondered about using cucumbers, I'd never thought about mixing them with avocado. Something about the crunch, added to the creamy avocado, with a bit of lime juice and salt--this was not just a salsa. It was a side! I could easily do this as a salad on lettuce for lunch, even without the chicken. This will be even better a bit later in the season, when cucumbers are sweeter and tomatoes are at their peak! Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Green Beans with Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! It's certainly company worthy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Beef and Bow Ties Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe with Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage, and it was delicious! I subbed the sausage for the ground beef, and there are only 6 ingredients, if you don't count salt and pepper, which I did not find necessary to use. The sausage has plenty of flavor, and the use of fresh ingredients gave this dish a lively, interesting taste. If you do make this, try to use fresh basil, because it complements the sausage. Every bite made me want more, so I was glad DH and DS beat me to the skillet for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This was a great place to start. The sauce for the carnitas was complex and rich, with a deep chili flavor and a subtle heat. I liked the cilantro tomatillo salsa, but I added a clove of minced fresh garlic and some sea salt. I garnished my carnitas with sour cream and yummy avocado slices, but I wanted a bit of heat in the salsa. I think it would benefit from the addition of some minced fresh jalapeno, to taste. It has a fresh, tangy taste, but the combination could definitely use some heat in the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Shrimp Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
The BEST deviled egg recipe I've ever made, bar none! I made 18 of these for a small gathering of 10 people, and they were gone in less than 15 minutes. Thanks so much, Geritzla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Grilled Chicken Pineapple Sliders

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious and a nice change of pace! I think the Hawaiian rolls are key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Pineapple Salsa (TWEAKED to Our Liking)

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Wow. Wish I'd read the more negative reviews first, as I agree with many that the black beans overwhelm the other ingredients. I may try it again, but I will definitely omit the black beans AND the orange juice and add some fresh lime juice instead. Will probably double the fresh pineapple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Pineapple Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Wow. Wish I'd read the more negative reviews first, as I agree with many that the black beans overwhelm the other ingredients. I may try it again, but I will definitely omit the black beans AND the orange juice and add some fresh lime juice instead. Will probably double the fresh pineapple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have to say I really wondered about the combination of grapefruit salsa and salmon, because I just couldn't imagine the two together. The salmon rub was tasty, and though it has a long list of ingredients, it's good. My only substitution was to use smoked paprika instead of the regular, because I just like it, OK? The real surprise was the grapefruit salsa. "Let's get Bibi to try it. Hey, Bibi, she likes it!" Actually, I put it on the side because I thought I wouldn't like it, but I found myself going back for more and more. In fact, I kept eating the salsa after the salmon was all gone! My only tweaks to the salsa were to add a pinch of sea salt and about a teaspoon of fresh lime juice. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chile Garlic BBQ Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! I wavered between 4 and 5 stars before deciding grilling would make this a 5-star dish. I baked it to stay warm in February. :) I tweaked it a but because I always use extra garlic. To suit our love of sweet with a kick, I'll use 1.5T of brown sugar, use a bit of sesame oil and add red pepper flakes next time. Will probably marinate for an hour and squeeze a bit of lime juiceover just before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Chef John's Oysters Rockefeller

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very nice flavor! I watched the video first, and it was most helpful. I used 24 oysters and ran out of the beautiful topping. Next time I make this I must remember to adjust the amount for the topping--it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States