Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Bibi

Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was a pretty good Sunday night supper! I used 1/2 c. water as the cooking liquid, and cooked for 5 hours on high. After adding the barbecue sauce and the other ingredients, I felt the liquid needed to be reduced, so I let it go without a lid until most of the sauce would stick to the pork. I felt the sauce was a bit sweet, so next time I will omit the honey in the sauce, as my brand of sauce is already sweet. I also wanted to pump up the flavor a bit, and I added 1 tsp. adobo seasoning and 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika to the sauce before I reduced it. I wasn't too sure about the slaw, but I have to say it grew on me. The combined flavors of the slaw and the meat complimented each other, with the tiny bit of heat and tang of the slaw offsetting a little of the sweetness of the barbecue sauce. I have to say that the BEST part of this recipe is using the Reynolds Slow Cooker Liner! I have a 6 qt. pot, and it's very heavy and hard to manage during cleaning. With these liners, it's a minor wipe up, and clean the lid. I do not want to run out of these little cook's helpers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Chicken Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I was interested in this recipe for the fact that it was pretty low in carbs, especially if the cornstarch is omitted, which is what I did. The combination of herbs really make this taste like a cool weather dish, which I like, but I felt it was a bit heavy on the marjoram. Probably 1/4 tsp would be enough for me. I added fresh rosemary in the last 20 minutes of cooking (this was my only other change), then salt and pepper to taste. I could also get by with a smaller pinch of cayenne, lol! Cooking times are pretty accurate. This should freeze well, too. Mashed potatoes or cauliflower and a crusty bread complete the meal. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good fall soup! I used Johnsonville Smoked Sausage, and I feel that using the Italian flavored sausage would be a better choice, flavor-wise. The smoked sausage has a meaty taste in the soup, but it doesn't add a flavor "kick" like a different selection would. I omitted the olive oil, because heating the sausage in the pan released more than enough drippings to saute the veggies, as I suspected it might. As a matter of fact, it was just a bit oily tasting, even, with no added oil. Other than that, I found the cooking times to be accurate, and it filled my 6 quart pot, so there are lefties for lunch! My only change was to use Italian style diced tomatoes. There is no need for any added salt, in my opinion, because the canned items have quite enough, and then some, for the veggies. This is a hearty soup that comes together quickly, once the prep is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Garlic Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I pressed the garlic, then combined it with all the other seasonings in the olive oil before tossing with the broccoli, so everything would be evenly distributed. The florets were turning brown at 10 minutes, so I removed from the oven and sampled. There was still some "tooth" to it, so I stopped cooking then. Though I did appreciate the sweetness of the caramelization, I really enjoy plain steamed broccoli. If you are looking for a change, this may do the trick for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Delicious Sweet Potato Fries

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I liked the flavor of these, but I believe they would benefit from a bit more oil. The potatoes seemed a bit dried out, and I was a bit disappointed by the lack of any sort of crust on the outside. Thanks for the idea, I will tweak a little, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Versatile Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I was able to convert this to a one pot sauce by using a deep 12" non-stick skillet. I removed the casings and browned a package of Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage, in lieu of the ground beef and pepperoni. I removed the sausage from the pan, drained, and crumbled it, then set aside. After removing all but about 1 tsp. of drippings, I sauteed the onion, green pepper, garlic, and about 1 cup of fresh sliced mushrooms. The olive oil was not necessary when preparing this way. The canned tomatoes, 1 can of tomato sauce, and the sausage have enough salt for me, so I omitted the salt and the garlic salt. I used 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, and added a pinch of red pepper flakes. Since I have fresh basil in the garden, I added some of that in the last few minutes. This recipe is a good alternative to the jarred sauces, and it's thick enough for lasagna. This is a good pantry sauce, if you prefer to use your own ingredients instead of a purchased sauce. Be sure to taste for your preferences before you add the salt. Thanks for the idea. Using part tomatoes and part sauce adds some nice tomato pieces to the overall texture. I served over zucchini noodles, for a nice low-carb dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is very good, Semigourmet! I doubled the recipe and let the thighs go on a bit longer, due to the number. I reserved about 1/2 the sauce, and it looked like a glaze over the cooked chicken, very attractive. We loved the flavor, and everyone in the family agreed that there should be a repeat. Thanks for sharing your creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Paleo Cauliflower Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Nice sub for rice, if you are counting calories or carbs. The sauce I used was full flavored, so it masked the cauliflower taste a bit. I added about 2 tablespoons of grated onion to the skillet as the oil heated, and I'm glad I did. I will make this again. Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chef John's Raw Kale Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Doing a chiffonade with the kale is brilliant. It's an excellent way to bring this springy green under control. The dressing is delicious, and my only change was to use seasoned rice vinegar. It was light, citrusy, and perfect with the fruit. Pistachio nuts were a nice touch, too. I didn't have any persimmon, but the salad was very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was quite tasty. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces than fourths, though. That would make it easier to brown, and you wouldn't have to cut up the pieces before serving. I made the recipe with only 3 bell peppers, and that was enough for us. I also doubled the red pepper flakes, and that gave the recipe a nice little kick. I made no other changes to the recipe, and served it over noodles. I deboned the leftie chicken, cut into bite-size pieces, and added back to the veggies and liquid. This will make a delicious hearty soup for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Christie's Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Fantastic, especially to be so healthy! :) And ever better after it sits overnight. The dressing is wonderful and could be used on a variety of salads. Think I'll add an apple or two next time just to up the healthy quotient. P.S. I thought I couldn't stand kale no matter what, but am happy to know I was wrong. Thank you, Kristie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I love this banana bread. However, I did make one change. I put 1/3 c. sour cream instead of sour milk. And I added walnuts to mine. It is a big hit with my fiance'. I also had to cook it for about 20-25 minutes longer than stated. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Freeze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crusted Salmon with Honey-Mustard Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Bazinga! My new favorite. I prepared exactly as directed, except I heated the honey and mustard with the butter in order to make sure I wasn't pouring a cold glaze. Other than that, I would NOT change a thing. The bread crumbs and parmesan are important, I believe, as they soak up the yummy honey-mustard glaze. Thank you, Evan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Spicy Fish Tacos with Fresh Lime Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious! I did use non-fat yogurt, and added a couple shakes of red-wine vinegar and a little extra sugar to the slaw. Some chopped tomatoes on top are great as well. I also cut the tilapia into chunks before cooking to ensure all surfaces were coated with the taco seasoning. Will try baking next time, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

The Best Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I really loved this salad dressing. I loved the lemony flavor and the fresh herbs. If I tweaked the dressing at all, it was to add more dill and basil, to my taste. My veggies included: baby cukes, grape tomatoes, a yellow bell pepper, scallions and Romaine. The dressing complemented everything, but especially the tomatoes! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I'm sure my technique will get better. Grilling the Romaine makes it seem a bit less like a salad, since I'm getting a bit tired of them. I like the vinaigrette drizzled on before serving, but I left off the cheese. DH loves Parmesan, so I'll be sure to add it when I make this for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Fantastic! I browned the onion along with the rice and upped the cumin by 1/4 tsp. Will probably use a can of diced tomatoes (drained) when tomatoes are out of season. Served with spicy fish tacos and black beans for a great Mexican dinner at home. Also great with the Slow Cooker Carnitas and refried beans. Thanks, AlanasMom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States