Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
We really liked this! I followed the recipe very closely. My only deviation was to cut the hot pepper sauce to 1/4 teaspoon, and this was enough heat for us. Though the roux took a few minutes more than the recommended time to develop its color, it provided richness and complexity that was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy! And I'm sure it would be just as delish with chicken. I took others' suggestions and added a can of Rotel tomatoes, a can of black beans, and used a little extra cumin and about a TBSP of chili powder. I also used diced peeled tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. I also sauted the onion with triple the amount of minced garlic. Cooked it in the slow cooker on high for a couple of hours, then added 1/4 cup fresh chopped cilantro, some sour cream, maybe 1/4 cup, and 1/2 the cheese. Then we added sour cream, cheese and avocado to suit our individual tastes. The only thing I'll change next time is to stir the sour cream into a small cup of the soup and then add to the pot. It seemed to clump a bit when I dumped it straight into the soup mixture. Thanks, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Vegetables With Thyme and Maple Syrup

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Yum! I love roasted vegetables, and I usually don't add anything besides EVOO, salt and pepper. But these were delicious, and I followed the recipe exactly. One bite led to another, and then another! I've never had parsnips either, and the only reason I bought them was for this recipe. I'm happy to say that I will buy them again, thanks to Don! These vegetables were a welcome change from the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes that usually grace the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Green Beans with Warm Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
What I like about this recipe is the zingy vinaigrette! I love green beans, so I don't want their flavor lost beneath other flavors. This dressing enlivens the flavor, and adds the crunch of almonds. Plus, it doesn't need to be served piping hot. Room temperature is just fine here, so this dish is perfect for a buffet meal. I want to do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Fruit Cobbler from Mott's®

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was a really quick, sweet family treat, easy to sort of throw together. I used fruit in juice, so I added about a tablespoon of agave syrup to the pears, peaches, blueberries and only 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce, then sprinkled with a bit of cinnamon. I was really interested in the crust, and though it did come together easily, it was a bit heavy. Five stars for ease of preparation, but I have to knock it down a star for the heaviness of the crust. Perhaps one could cut down on the applesauce in the crust and add a bit of milk to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Yummy. Who'd have thought it?!! :) I used two 10-oz packages of frozen spinach and a little less butter than specified. I might try another type of cheese, or mix mozzarella and feta as someone suggested. Might try bacon next time also. All that said, pretty perfect just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
After reading several reviews, here are the changes I made to this recipe: I used hot Italian turkey sausage; I omitted the salt and sugar; and I added one can of low-sodium chicken broth. Even with these changes, I still had a very thick soup, which could also double as a topping for pasta. I think you could add an additional can of broth, a can of small red kidney beans, a can of Great Northern beans and a bit of pasta and have a great pasta fagioli! That's what I love about Allrecipes--the way the community of cooks gets together, takes an idea, and runs with it! Thanks for posting the recipe and opening a door to creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Low Carb Jambalaya

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My carb-loving DS said he didn't miss the rice! This recipe is packed with protein, and I didn't find the 2 Tbs. of Cajun seasoning too much. I omitted the hot sauce, but I'm tempted to add it next time. I used 2 green peppers and added 3 stalks of celery. I used a 14 oz. package of andouille, and with the other meat, it was enough. There were only 3 other minor additions: fire-roasted tomatoes instead of plain; the addition of about 1 1/2 cups of diced okra; and 1 can of chicken stock instead of 1 cup. I don't think my changes affected the flavor in a major way. For a quick soup, this is a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Vegetable Dill Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Love it! So easy, a little different, and perfect with fresh veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Zucchilattas

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Really good and easy! I followed Pfeffa's suggestions on adding spices and draining the liquid, and will definitely make them again. I might even try using canned, diced tomatoes when good tomatoes aren't available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I can't remember ever being so conflicted about what rating I give a recipe. First off, the flavor is fantastic! So I'll base my 5-star rating on that. I used Montreal Steak seasoning (McCormick) and the directed amount of vinegar and oil. I marinated overnight and cooked to a temperature of 145 degrees using a meat thermometer. My problem is this...I had very little liquid left after cooking, so I ended up mixing up an additional 1/2 batch to supplement what was there. Maybe the baby carrots and 1/2 onion I added soaked up the liquid, but I sure didn't get the reduction that others described. Bottom line is I'll definitely make it again, but will double the marinade. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Dee-light-ful! I made the recipe as stated with one exception: I didn't have dried rosemary, so I placed fresh rosemary sprigs under the breast skin and inside the cavity. I rubbed two chickens with olive oil, sprinkled on the rub, and threw a fresh lemon half into each cavity, along with the rosemary. Roasted the chickens for 2 hours at 375. The skin is crispy and richly colored, and the meat has a great flavor. There is easily enough left for two more chickens. Thanks for posting your idea, Semigourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Cauliflower Fried 'Rice'

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is a good way to prepare cauliflower, but I need to make a few changes next time. This recipe really needs a large wok to make successfully, I think. It nearly overwhelmed my 12 inch skillet. First of all, I think the meat needs to be seasoned. A classic way to prepare a Chinese dish is to heat the oil (usually peanut oil, because of the high smoke point) with a couple of slices of ginger, and some sliced garlic. When they brown, remove them from the oil, and then add the meat. The flavored oil, along with some soy sauce at this point, would help the meat to have some flavor. Also, instead of green onions, next time I will sub 1/2 to 1 onion, chopped, to saute with at least 3 cloves of garlic. My skillet wasn't really large enough to handle the eggs, so I need to cook them to soft scramble stage in a separate pan. Last, use the sesame oil as a seasoning, instead of a cooking oil, along with the chopped green onions. I used much more than the 6 tablespoons recommended in the recipe. Agree with another reviewer, this recipe is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Slow Cooker Chicken Gumbo with Shrimp

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Really great flavor, here! Though not a traditional gumbo (no roux), this is a very easy recipe to prepare. I followed the recipe exactly, and DH and DS had seconds. I reserved some for lunch, or they would have cleaned the pot. I like the taste of okra, and I will add some next time, with about half a package of andouille. There are so many veggies in this, the only side needed is some crusty bread, to catch every drop of the delicious broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Slow Cooker BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was a pretty good Sunday night supper! I used 1/2 c. water as the cooking liquid, and cooked for 5 hours on high. After adding the barbecue sauce and the other ingredients, I felt the liquid needed to be reduced, so I let it go without a lid until most of the sauce would stick to the pork. I felt the sauce was a bit sweet, so next time I will omit the honey in the sauce, as my brand of sauce is already sweet. I also wanted to pump up the flavor a bit, and I added 1 tsp. adobo seasoning and 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika to the sauce before I reduced it. I wasn't too sure about the slaw, but I have to say it grew on me. The combined flavors of the slaw and the meat complimented each other, with the tiny bit of heat and tang of the slaw offsetting a little of the sweetness of the barbecue sauce. I have to say that the BEST part of this recipe is using the Reynolds Slow Cooker Liner! I have a 6 qt. pot, and it's very heavy and hard to manage during cleaning. With these liners, it's a minor wipe up, and clean the lid. I do not want to run out of these little cook's helpers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Chicken Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I was interested in this recipe for the fact that it was pretty low in carbs, especially if the cornstarch is omitted, which is what I did. The combination of herbs really make this taste like a cool weather dish, which I like, but I felt it was a bit heavy on the marjoram. Probably 1/4 tsp would be enough for me. I added fresh rosemary in the last 20 minutes of cooking (this was my only other change), then salt and pepper to taste. I could also get by with a smaller pinch of cayenne, lol! Cooking times are pretty accurate. This should freeze well, too. Mashed potatoes or cauliflower and a crusty bread complete the meal. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Touchdown Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Good fall soup! I used Johnsonville Smoked Sausage, and I feel that using the Italian flavored sausage would be a better choice, flavor-wise. The smoked sausage has a meaty taste in the soup, but it doesn't add a flavor "kick" like a different selection would. I omitted the olive oil, because heating the sausage in the pan released more than enough drippings to saute the veggies, as I suspected it might. As a matter of fact, it was just a bit oily tasting, even, with no added oil. Other than that, I found the cooking times to be accurate, and it filled my 6 quart pot, so there are lefties for lunch! My only change was to use Italian style diced tomatoes. There is no need for any added salt, in my opinion, because the canned items have quite enough, and then some, for the veggies. This is a hearty soup that comes together quickly, once the prep is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Garlic Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I pressed the garlic, then combined it with all the other seasonings in the olive oil before tossing with the broccoli, so everything would be evenly distributed. The florets were turning brown at 10 minutes, so I removed from the oven and sampled. There was still some "tooth" to it, so I stopped cooking then. Though I did appreciate the sweetness of the caramelization, I really enjoy plain steamed broccoli. If you are looking for a change, this may do the trick for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States