Bowling Green, Kentucky - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is very good, Semigourmet! I doubled the recipe and let the thighs go on a bit longer, due to the number. I reserved about 1/2 the sauce, and it looked like a glaze over the cooked chicken, very attractive. We loved the flavor, and everyone in the family agreed that there should be a repeat. Thanks for sharing your creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Paleo Cauliflower Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Nice sub for rice, if you are counting calories or carbs. The sauce I used was full flavored, so it masked the cauliflower taste a bit. I added about 2 tablespoons of grated onion to the skillet as the oil heated, and I'm glad I did. I will make this again. Thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chef John's Raw Kale Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Doing a chiffonade with the kale is brilliant. It's an excellent way to bring this springy green under control. The dressing is delicious, and my only change was to use seasoned rice vinegar. It was light, citrusy, and perfect with the fruit. Pistachio nuts were a nice touch, too. I didn't have any persimmon, but the salad was very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was quite tasty. I would recommend cutting up the chicken into smaller pieces than fourths, though. That would make it easier to brown, and you wouldn't have to cut up the pieces before serving. I made the recipe with only 3 bell peppers, and that was enough for us. I also doubled the red pepper flakes, and that gave the recipe a nice little kick. I made no other changes to the recipe, and served it over noodles. I deboned the leftie chicken, cut into bite-size pieces, and added back to the veggies and liquid. This will make a delicious hearty soup for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Christie's Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Fantastic, especially to be so healthy! :) And ever better after it sits overnight. The dressing is wonderful and could be used on a variety of salads. Think I'll add an apple or two next time just to up the healthy quotient. P.S. I thought I couldn't stand kale no matter what, but am happy to know I was wrong. Thank you, Kristie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I love this banana bread. However, I did make one change. I put 1/3 c. sour cream instead of sour milk. And I added walnuts to mine. It is a big hit with my fiance'. I also had to cook it for about 20-25 minutes longer than stated. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Freeze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crusted Salmon with Honey-Mustard Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Bazinga! My new favorite. I prepared exactly as directed, except I heated the honey and mustard with the butter in order to make sure I wasn't pouring a cold glaze. Other than that, I would NOT change a thing. The bread crumbs and parmesan are important, I believe, as they soak up the yummy honey-mustard glaze. Thank you, Evan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Spicy Fish Tacos with Fresh Lime Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Delicious! I did use non-fat yogurt, and added a couple shakes of red-wine vinegar and a little extra sugar to the slaw. Some chopped tomatoes on top are great as well. I also cut the tilapia into chunks before cooking to ensure all surfaces were coated with the taco seasoning. Will try baking next time, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

The Best Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I really loved this salad dressing. I loved the lemony flavor and the fresh herbs. If I tweaked the dressing at all, it was to add more dill and basil, to my taste. My veggies included: baby cukes, grape tomatoes, a yellow bell pepper, scallions and Romaine. The dressing complemented everything, but especially the tomatoes! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I'm sure my technique will get better. Grilling the Romaine makes it seem a bit less like a salad, since I'm getting a bit tired of them. I like the vinaigrette drizzled on before serving, but I left off the cheese. DH loves Parmesan, so I'll be sure to add it when I make this for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Fantastic! I browned the onion along with the rice and upped the cumin by 1/4 tsp. Will probably use a can of diced tomatoes (drained) when tomatoes are out of season. Served with spicy fish tacos and black beans for a great Mexican dinner at home. Also great with the Slow Cooker Carnitas and refried beans. Thanks, AlanasMom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Stuffed Peppers with Quinoa

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is really a question instead of a review. Why does it indicate that peppers are to be sliced lengthwise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've been a bad girl....didn't even try this as written. So, not sure how to rate it since I'm positive I would not have cared for it had I used cinnamon. BUT...thanks to "naples34102" I doubled the rub and left out the cinnamon. So five stars for her review! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Bibi

Maple and Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, with only two exceptions: I used clarified butter instead of olive oil to brown the tenderloin (for its higher smoke point), and I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt. The marinade is very sweet, and only the sweetness and a hint of garlic came through. I was very surprised that the sesame oil and the horseradish were completely lost. That can be adjusted, because DH and DS really liked the flavor. The tenderloin was moist and juicy. I see the author describes this dish as "grilled", but it was pan-roasted. I followed the directions, and I was happy to try this method, since I have only done stovetop with medallions. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Paleo Coconut Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Nice texture, good flavor, but the recipe needs seasoning. I added about 1/2 tsp of ground sea salt and a few dashes of curry powder. I used ghee (clarified butter) instead of butter. The amount of coconut flavor is determined by the brand of coconut milk and by the type of coconut flakes. I used dried, unsweetened, and I believe grated fresh would have been much better. I will probably make this again. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Weeknight Slow Cooker Chuck Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This yields a very tender roast. Mine was done in 6 hours, and it fell apart when removing it from the cooker. I wished for a bit more flavor, and I believe that less liquid would help. I did brown the roast for better color before putting it in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Becel® Savoury Braised Green Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I like green beans anyway, but it's nice to see how someone else prepares them. I used the whole young beans and real butter, but eliminated the lemon juice. As always with green beans, it's important to let the liquid cook away, putting the flavor back on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This great side dish is made from pantry staples, and it is a nice change from potatoes. It certainly livened up our leftover chicken, and it was a snap to put together. I used half a box of spaghetti, but kept everything else the same, adding only a tablespoon of clarified butter after I threw it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Wavy Lasagna with Meat Sauce, Fresh Ricotta and Spinach

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Good recipe, though I like a little less pasta in the porportions. I actually used only half a box, and needed to open a second jar of sauce. this sauce is a bit sweet for me, but DH and DGD chowed down, having 2 or 3 servings! Loved this sneaky way to get a bit of spinach into DGD, lol! If you are hankering for some lasagna, but don't want to go through all the steps of a homemade sauce, the Barilla sauce is a nice one to keep in the pantry. It's also kind of a sneaky way to have the flavor of meat without much meat in it, if you have health concerns. I did use fresh mozzarella and fresh ricotta, and they lift the dish quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was good, and though it uses some prepared foods, it is not exactly convenience food. I followed the recipe closely, and I thought the finished product could have the flavor amped up by the addition of some additional herbs or some garlic. It was a nice Sunday lunch though, and I feel like a fussed a little bit. DH and DS enjoyed it, and they would be happy for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States